Old 04-12-2004, 02:06 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 179
What can we do!

Alot of members in here are trying to get in the soca industry and some are already there. I just wanted to know what can we artist do thats no illegal. If you covering a tune what is the procedure? Who must you get permission from to do so? For example did Destra need permission to release "Its carnival"? When you release a tune how do you get it copyright? Can you have a tune with an artist already established...lets say Beckett-in the tune with you even though hes not? All you do was use his voice for the background of a riddum, is dat illegal?
Old 04-12-2004, 02:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
领导失

Credits: 1,979
Re: What can we do!

Originally posted by harizon
Alot of members in here are trying to get in the soca industry and some are already there. I just wanted to know what can we artist do thats no illegal. If you covering a tune what is the procedure? Who must you get permission from to do so? For example did Destra need permission to release "Its carnival"? When you release a tune how do you get it copyright? Can you have a tune with an artist already established...lets say Beckett-in the tune with you even though hes not? All you do was use his voice for the background of a riddum, is dat illegal?
mr. man... u real asking 21 questions there.... brb..
Old 04-12-2004, 05:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Born Again

Credits: 707
Re: What can we do!

Originally posted by harizon
To be safe it's best you get permission for everyting! Dat way yuh cover yuh Arse if anyting comes up in de future!
http://www.copyright.gov/
I copy right just my lyrics as a set first (like 12 songs) and then when i finish my chunes i will copy right the absolute final mixes like 2 or 3 at a time. That way saves money and pushes me to want to finish more than one chune at a time. There's alot to learn but jus make sure yuh ask lots ah questions and talk to de entertainer who's voice yuh want to sample... maybe they would like to help you out and lend some vocals fuh yuh track!
You and i in de same boat but good luck Harizon!