Old 06-02-2006, 09:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

Credits: 4,008
VP Records Soca Gold 2006 (w/ Bonus DVD)

http://www.vprecords.com/onesheet.ph...umber=VP1760.2

10 years as the world’s leading Soca compilation is something to celebrate! Soca Gold 2006 hits a new high with a limited edition bonus DVD with artist interviews, music videos, Soca Gold cover girls, and live Carnival footage! The CD is packed with 18 of the hottest tracks in Soca. Including Bunji Garlin ‘Warrior’s Coming’ (his tribute to Trinidad’s World Cup worthy ‘Soca Boys’). Explainer ‘All Inclusive’ and Edwin Yearwood ‘Take You With Me’ featuring Lady Saw. - DVD contains; 30 minute presentation with live Carnival & Crop Over 2006 footage of Edwin Yearwood, Krosfyah, Iwer George, Bunji Garlin, Shurwayne Winchester and more! - Special features include music videos, interviews and loads of behind the scenes footage! - If you couldn’t make it to Carnival 2006 in person, here’s your chance to get inside and behind the scenes like never before. - Various 10th Anniversary events and promotions being coordinated to support the launch of Soca Gold 2006.

TRACK LISTING
1 TEMPO - CALYPSO ROSE & SHURWAYNE WINCHESTER
2 CARNIVAL FEELING - ROY CAPE FEAT. RITA JONES
3 WE REACH - IWER GEORGE
4 ALL INCLUSIVE - EXPLAINER FEAT. MAXIMUS DAN
5 LOOSING CONTROL - KEVIN LYTTLE FEAT. JAMESY P
6 TAKE YOU WITH ME FEAT. LADY SAW
7 ONE ISLAND - NADIA BATSON
8 DE HARDER DEAH COME - THE RED HOT FLAMES
9 WARRIORS COMING - BUNJI GARLIN
10 HE LIE - BLACKIE
11 PARK IT - EXPLAINER
12 SOUL ON FIRE - KMC
13 TIL MORNING - LIL RICK
14 OUTTA HAND - TONY PRESCOTT
15 THAT IS CARNIVAL - FAY - ANN LYONS
16 TING 4 D ROAD - MISTA VYBE
17 PARTY - MISS ALYSHA FEAT. FAY- ANN LYONS
18 UP IN DAT - DAWG-E-SLAUGHTER
19 MY DREAMZ
20 DEDICATED TO MAMA
Old 06-02-2006, 09:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,363
I like the girl.... How VP Records dissing our Boy Mr Vegas...so... one of the hottest tune Genie Wine !
Old 06-02-2006, 09:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Credits: 4,990
Originally Posted by Ackee
http://www.vprecords.com/onesheet.ph...umber=VP1760.2

10 years as the world’s leading Soca compilation is something to celebrate! Soca Gold 2006 hits a new high with a limited edition bonus DVD with artist interviews, music videos, Soca Gold cover girls, and live Carnival footage! The CD is packed with 18 of the hottest tracks in Soca. Including Bunji Garlin ‘Warrior’s Coming’ (his tribute to Trinidad’s World Cup worthy ‘Soca Boys’). Explainer ‘All Inclusive’ and Edwin Yearwood ‘Take You With Me’ featuring Lady Saw. - DVD contains; 30 minute presentation with live Carnival & Crop Over 2006 footage of Edwin Yearwood, Krosfyah, Iwer George, Bunji Garlin, Shurwayne Winchester and more! - Special features include music videos, interviews and loads of behind the scenes footage! - If you couldn’t make it to Carnival 2006 in person, here’s your chance to get inside and behind the scenes like never before. - Various 10th Anniversary events and promotions being coordinated to support the launch of Soca Gold 2006.

TRACK LISTING
1 TEMPO - CALYPSO ROSE & SHURWAYNE WINCHESTER
2 CARNIVAL FEELING - ROY CAPE FEAT. RITA JONES
3 WE REACH - IWER GEORGE
4 ALL INCLUSIVE - EXPLAINER FEAT. MAXIMUS DAN
5 LOOSING CONTROL - KEVIN LYTTLE FEAT. JAMESY P
6 TAKE YOU WITH ME FEAT. LADY SAW
7 ONE ISLAND - NADIA BATSON
8 DE HARDER DEAH COME - THE RED HOT FLAMES
9 WARRIORS COMING - BUNJI GARLIN
10 HE LIE - BLACKIE
11 PARK IT - EXPLAINER
12 SOUL ON FIRE - KMC
13 TIL MORNING - LIL RICK
14 OUTTA HAND - TONY PRESCOTT
15 THAT IS CARNIVAL - FAY - ANN LYONS
16 TING 4 D ROAD - MISTA VYBE
17 PARTY - MISS ALYSHA FEAT. FAY- ANN LYONS
18 UP IN DAT - DAWG-E-SLAUGHTER
19 MY DREAMZ
20 DEDICATED TO MAMA
She nice boy,anyway i like de football on,de cover dey thinkin man and most of all de tunes dem look like ah good compilation
Old 06-03-2006, 10:02 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 685
Nice to see Rita Jones Carnival Feelin included.

But no tracks from Destra

Looks like a nice compilation tho
Old 06-03-2006, 10:10 AM   #5 (permalink)
sexynorass

Credits: 5,988
Originally Posted by nine ball

same ting i sayin boy, wha bout Alison Hinds an meh dodo dahlin Machel . . . . steupppssssssssssssssss

Last edited by Troubleandensome; 06-03-2006 at 10:12 AM..
Old 06-03-2006, 03:21 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 42
I dont really like tahat line up I feel they could have done much better dan that.

They really should've put my husband Mr Vegas on dat
Old 06-03-2006, 04:53 PM   #7 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Nine Ball ;

Lets keep it real..... I am more than a big fan of Destra....but come on " Max It Up " was weak.....clearly, doesn't belong on " Soca Gold " I would have picked " Bomb Song " or " Don't Stop " over any of her '06 tunes.
Old 06-03-2006, 05:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 252

I guess Destra was smart and told VP Records to keep their $2000.00 and give it to someone else. Her tracks are worth more than that
Old 06-03-2006, 08:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Originally Posted by BajanSheriff
I guess Destra was smart and told VP Records to keep their $2000.00 and give it to someone else. Her tracks are worth more than that

Spare us....none of her 2006 tracks are worth putting on a " Soca Gold " for 2006.

The real BS was not putting "Band Of The Year " on there.
Old 06-04-2006, 06:54 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 20,805
Originally Posted by socapineman
Spare us....none of her 2006 tracks are worth putting on a " Soca Gold " for 2006.

The real BS was not putting "Band Of The Year " on there.
True but if u look back at VP's lineup on Soca Gold, they never put road march winners on their compilations as most ppls have got the tunes and i think they try to be a bit more diverse in chosing tunes?

PS: i have also released that they aint gonna have no mixes as this year they have gone wid tha dvd feature on tha bonus cd instead of a guest Dj mix they have been doing since Soca Gold 2002 !! Well cant wait to kop di cd to see xtra features

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow

Last edited by Digga D; 06-04-2006 at 06:58 AM..
Old 06-04-2006, 11:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 252
Originally Posted by vincy16
True but if u look back at VP's lineup on Soca Gold, they never put road march winners on their compilations as most ppls have got the tunes and i think they try to be a bit more diverse in chosing tunes?

PS: i have also released that they aint gonna have no mixes as this year they have gone wid tha dvd feature on tha bonus cd instead of a guest Dj mix they have been doing since Soca Gold 2002 !! Well cant wait to kop di cd to see xtra features

You all dont understand VP wants to have al the popular songs on their cd. If i want to market a good product why would i not want the road march.?? The problem is what I stated earlier. The money aint right.. As for Socapineman's comment about Destra that's your opinion and i'm fine with that..
Old 06-04-2006, 01:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

Credits: 4,008
Originally Posted by vincy16
Although the Mix was nice, the DVD is a much better idea.
Especially for the ones who purchase the CD, and are not hardcore Soca Lovers, or n00bs to Soca....to get a look at the actions and emotions that these songs evoke.

As for the song selection, it's not bad, sure it could be better, but I dont think its terrible. I'm glad they didn't use all the road songs....I mean who wants to hear B.O.D.Y driving in your car in June? Think people really care bout crossing the stage at that point? Better to put the slower -- mid tempo songs, as well as party songs.....and just a sprinkle of the Road chunes.
Old 06-04-2006, 02:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Credits: 4,990
Originally Posted by Ackee
Although the Mix was nice, the DVD is a much better idea.
Especially for the ones who purchase the CD, and are not hardcore Soca Lovers, or n00bs to Soca....to get a look at the actions and emotions that these songs evoke.

As for the song selection, it's not bad, sure it could be better, but I dont think its terrible. I'm glad they didn't use all the road songs....I mean who wants to hear B.O.D.Y driving in your car in June? Think people really care bout crossing the stage at that point? Better to put the slower -- mid tempo songs, as well as party songs.....and just a sprinkle of the Road chunes.
I'LL listen B.O.D.Y in june at a wedding it may be a trini thing though especially if yuh does play mas.
Old 06-04-2006, 06:08 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 140,975
Bajan Sheriff, Yuh ma BOYand TING eh, but DESTRA songs, especially, "MAX IT UP" is not WORTHY of SOCA GOLD.

I think the SELECTIONS are PRETTY GOOD....there are a FEW SONGS that I thought should have been on this COMPILATION, but I guess you cannot have everything your way.
Old 06-04-2006, 09:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
el n00ño

Credits: 14,990
Not a bad selection. I like the DVD idea over the mix. I rarely listen to those anyway. Which tune from Explainer made it? The tracklist says Park It, but the description says All Inclusive.
What's 19 and 20? I'm not recognizing the track titles.