Old 11-05-2007, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 56,874
VP..c'mere

Please explain the differences in these types of garifuna music and tell me which ones are the most contemporary and popular and don't forget to include samples so I can recognize the different sounds. and how is the punta I like the most (the kind that sound like soca) differentiated from the more groovy and latin sounding punta?

I was searching online for some kinda top 10 and see they have all these kinda music and I wanna act like I know ting when I go We doh have no belizeans on imix?

punta
punta rock
paranda
chumba
hunguhungu
matamuerte
gunchei
charikawi
sambai
Old 11-05-2007, 01:06 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 20,801
if n e one can com up wid info then yeh ..

..awaits for responses...

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 11-05-2007, 01:16 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 140,873
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Please explain the differences in these types of garifuna music and tell me which ones are the most contemporary and popular and don't forget to include samples so I can recognize the different sounds. and how is the punta I like the most (the kind that sound like soca) differentiated from the more groovy and latin sounding punta?

I was searching online for some kinda top 10 and see they have all these kinda music and I wanna act like I know ting when I go We doh have no belizeans on imix?

punta
punta rock
paranda
chumba
hunguhungu
matamuerte
gunchei
charikawi
sambai
The most contemporary is PUNTA ROCK. PUNTA ROCK is like their the fast pace version of SOCA. It is a DERIVATIVE of PUNTA, just like SOCA is a DERIVATIVE of CALYPSO.

GUDEMEI by Andy Palacio.

PUNTA is more like the medium pace tempo of SOCA and merengue and it is mostly composed by Garifuna women. It is also a DANCE.

PARANDA is like a FOLK SONG GENRE...more like CALYPSO....mainly played with a GUITAR, drums, turtle percussions, shakers...and of course the call and response vocals are paramount...uhm....it is like being in an ACOUSTIC session.

The LIVING LEGEND, PAUL NABOR is the GREATEST of the PARANDA artists.

You can check him out doing his FAMOUS track called "NAGUYA NEI" which means "I AM MOVING ON."

AURELIO MARTINEZ'S "AFRICA" is another CLASSIC PARANDA song. Aurelio is also one of the TOP PARANDEROS.

YouTube - AFRICA

CHUMBA is a DANCE done by the WOMEN....it is very SEXUAL.

The HUNGUHUNGU is another dance done at an extremely fast pace to PUNTA rhythms.

The MATAMEURTE is another dance that....uhm.....lets see...how can I put this....uhm...ok, its like PORTRAYING a CHARACTER dance that describes a person feeling, touching chooking a corpse to see if it is dead or alive.

All the others are also DIFFERENT STYLES of DANCING.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 11-05-2007 at 01:19 PM..
Old 11-05-2007, 01:24 PM   #4 (permalink)

The most contemporary is PUNTA ROCK. PUNTA ROCK is like their the fast pace version of SOCA. It is a DERIVATIVE of PUNTA, just like SOCA is a DERIVATIVE of CALYPSO.

GUDEMEI by Andy Palacio.

PUNTA is more like the medium pace tempo of SOCA and merengue and it is mostly composed by Garifuna women. It is also a DANCE.

PARANDA is like a FOLK SONG GENRE...more like CALYPSO....mainly played with a GUITAR, drums, turtle percussions, shakers...and of course the call and response vocals are paramount...uhm....it is like being in an ACOUSTIC session.

The LIVING LEGEND, PAUL NABOR is the GREATEST of the PARANDA artists.

You can check him out doing his FAMOUS track called "NAGUYA NEI" which means "I AM MOVING ON."

AURELIO MARTINEZ'S "AFRICA" is another CLASSIC PARANDA song. Aurelio is also one of the TOP PARANDEROS.

YouTube - AFRICA

CHUMBA is a DANCE done by the WOMEN....it is very SEXUAL.

The HUNGUHUNGU is another dance done at an extremely fast pace to PUNTA rhythms.

The MATAMEURTE is another dance that....uhm.....lets see...how can I put this....uhm...ok, its like PORTRAYING a CHARACTER dance that describes a person feeling, touching chooking a corpse to see if it is dead or alive.

All the others are also DIFFERENT STYLES of DANCING.
THANK YOU! Now if you have any top 10 links I'll be your best friend forever
Old 11-05-2007, 01:27 PM   #5 (permalink)

BTW, the link for GUDEMEI doesn't work but I think that's one of the tunes I downloaded last week, I'll check.
Old 11-05-2007, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)

BTW, the link for GUDEMEI doesn't work but I think that's one of the tunes I downloaded last week, I'll check.
Oh ok.

Yes, I BELIEVE it is one of the TRACKS u DOWNLOADED.

If not, I will POST it when I get HOME.
Old 11-05-2007, 02:00 PM   #7 (permalink)

Oh ok.

Yes, I BELIEVE it is one of the TRACKS u DOWNLOADED.

If not, I will POST it when I get HOME.

so where my top 10 source?
Old 11-05-2007, 04:38 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 20,801
he probably na reach home yet...

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 11-06-2007, 10:17 AM   #9 (permalink)

Ooops.

I will make a LIST for U when I GET home.
Old 11-06-2007, 10:41 AM   #10 (permalink)

Ooops.

I will make a LIST for U when I GET home.

see, yuh was too busy following manning last nite
Old 11-06-2007, 11:23 AM   #11 (permalink)

see, yuh was too busy following manning last nite

TRUE.
Old 11-06-2007, 12:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
LargeRadio.Com

Credits: 3,904
aye VP u sure punta originally comin from vincy?????
i mean allyu caribbeans had a big influence in central america buttt i doh think that u have punta in that way in vincy?? correct me if i wrong..!!
i always thought its a central american (honduras,belize) thing created thru puttin together the caribbean culture and latin...

jus like "plena"..its no "jamaican" thing..

www.largeradio.com

www.SoundsBestWithSoca.Com/DeMatrixShow
Old 11-06-2007, 01:17 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by wineywiney View Post
The ENTIRE GARIFUNA CULTURE has it s ORIGIN in ST. VINCENT. St. VINCENT is the BIRTHPLACE of the GARIFUNA people. Most were EXILED to ROATAN ISLAND off HONDURAS, thus they TOOK their CULTURE to that PART of the AMERICAS.

Quite NATURALLY, the further DEVELOPMENT of the CULTURE, as it relates to that part of the REGION, took SHAPE, simply because of the NEW ENVIRONMENT.

Nevertheless, it was SIMPLY the CONTINUATION of their CULTURE that they took from their ANCESTRAL LAND, St. Vincent.

For EXAMPLE, the BELURIA is a CELEBRATION that is REMINISCENT of the INDIGENOUS CELEBRATION in St. Vincent called "NINE MORNINGS." This CELEBRATION STARTS like 2AM in the morning until SUN RISES.

BELURIA basically means "NINTH NIGHT"

So you see, the GARIFUNA CULTURE was already there in its ORIGINAL FORM in St. Vincent.

It was SPREAD to HONDURAS, BELIZE, NICARAGUA and GUATAMALA and other nations of that REGION only because of they being EXILED to ROATAN island after losing the SECOND so-called "CARIB WARS" to the BRITISH.

Then once they came ashore in HONDURAS, through MIGRATION, they then SPREAD to those other NATIONS.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 11-06-2007 at 01:31 PM..
Old 11-06-2007, 01:21 PM   #14 (permalink)

The ENTIRE GARIFUNA CULTURE has it s ORIGIN in ST. VINCENT. St. VINCENT is the BIRTHPLACE of the GARIFUNA people. Most were EXILED to ROATAN ISLAND off HONDURAS, thus they TOOK their CULTURE to that PART of the AMERICAS.

Quite NATURALLY, the further DEVELOPMENT of the CULTURE, as it relates to that part of the REGION, took SHAPE, simply because of the NEW ENVIRONMENT.

Nevertheless, it was SIMPLY a CONTINUATION of their But they CONTINUED to PRACTICE their CULTURE that they took from their ANCESTRAL LAND, St. Vincent.

For EXAMPLE, the BELURIA is a CELEBRATION that is REMINISCENT of the INDIGENOUS CELEBRATION in St. Vincent called "NINE MORNINGS." This CELEBRATION STARTS like 2AM in the morning until SUN RISES.

BELURIA basically means "NINTH NIGHT"

So you see, the GARIFUNA CULTURE was already there in its ORIGINAL FORM in St. Vincent.

It was SPREAD to HONDURAS, BELIZE, NICARAGUA and GUATAMALA and other nations of that REGION only because of they being EXILED to ROATAN island after losing the SECOND so-called "CARIB WARS" to the BRITISH.

Then once they came ashore in HONDURAS...through MIGRATION, they then SPREAD to those other NATIONS.
Does that have to do with wakes?
Old 11-06-2007, 01:28 PM   #15 (permalink)

Does that have to do with wakes?
Basically.