Credits: 30,970
Vintage Kaiso and lyrics
Who here appreiciate good old style calypso lyrics. I had the opportunity to listen to an album call Raw Kaiso recently with fellas like Brigo and Blakie doing their thing. I was in calypso bliss listening to this music on a sunday morning at a low volume sipping meh morning coffee. It was Black Prince though who really had meh going. Hear the lyrics to one of his songs.
Life as a calypsonian not eeeeeeasy ah mean in the way you'd think it would be is best ah did stay bachelor and carefree ah doh know who tell meh to get marry From de day yuh boy venture into married life one setta pressure ah getting from meh wife she make meh to know that she doh like calypso and she doh see why de hell ah fighting it so she tell meh.... well meh eh see calypso do nutn for you and in de night ah cya get ah good nightrest to always with a chune chune whole night and day and when the season come eh sure to get pay ca believe is calypso yuh love so yuh eh see calypso eh have luv for you and out ah de blue just so the woman explo(de) when the nighttime come bes(t) a hugup meh calypso Hear nah man it was pure musical bliss listening to these old bards sing. Ah coming back with the next line soon. Last edited by dedetriniking; 05-13-2008 at 04:37 PM.. |
the song continues:
ah dunno whey it is that calypso doooo she cya believe she born here in this country ah doh know if is some calypsonian fool she she really eh like calypso or me is to know the game playing i does encounter man cutting meh left right and in the center but when ah turn to joan for support at home is a fresh set ah ridicule to the bone well meh eh see calypso do nutn for you and in de night ah cya get ah good nightrest to always with a chune chune on yuh guitar and not for hell yuh cya reach de savannah who tell yuh that yuh could sing calypso yuh fooling yuhself in case yuh eh know and out ah de blue she tell me this eh no sports let calypso come and wash them jockey shorts |
the last verse is ah classic:
Ah tell yuh this wife ah mine she not eeeeezy trying she best tuh send meh crazy forever taking meh string off meh guiiiitarrr telling meh is i bust them and cya remember she does wait until she see ah start composing start throwing down wares hard hard there in the kitchen and whey ah sitting dong...come sweeping aroung .................................pong meh tongue well meh eh see calypso do nutn for you and in de night ah cya get ah good nightrest to always with a chune chune doh make meh cuss between you and rex west doh know who wuss telling me yuh love calypso but yuh lie is them women and them whey bunning yuh eye and out ah the blue ah get the shock of meh life yuh go use the hole in yuh guitar when yuh want wife |
Vintage kaiso music that tell wonderful...funny...stories. Ah coming back later with some more.
Story telling...great delivery...clear diction....straight up trini prose.. Vintage kaiso. Check out the lyrics of this one from the Black Prince once again. sing along
http://www.ecaroh.info/rawkaiso108.mp3 Well ah find mehself tieup just recently friending with ah gyul say she making baby fuss time in meh life ah hear meh name call yuh could imagine how ah walking tall but everytime ah go by tuh check de gyal say ah visiting ah see the neighbors and them watching and smiling is she sister tell meh that gyul eh breathing black prince she lie she cya make nutn not even sweet eye is fry ball oh lardo fry ball..is fry ball she belly does rise and fall is fry ball oh lard is fry ball...is fry ball that oman cya breathe at all ah did done buyup ah whole setta pamper and ah done contact both modda and fadda going to church every sunday morning cuz ah preparing for big big christening but all this time yuh know this gyul going tuh clinic and have meh spending ah setta money on tonic and all these months ah waiting patiently tuh see meh son is she sister tell me fryball doesn't born chorus even meh modda she start to shun me telling meh in meh face how ah tun chupidy boy she eh know how ah feeling happy is meh fuss offspring nearing meh half century and if yuh hear meh boasting about my child mother and ah done load ah whole bedroom with liquor is she sister tell me that gyul jennifer go blow yuh mind that gyul belly so since in eighty nine chorus duck does take 3 weeks to make their young one horse is a whole year before they put dong twentyone days it does take for chicken duck in a month they does give yuh duckling something really had to be wrong with jennifer over fourteen months and she cya deliver ah tell meh self maybe she sister eh lie at all all ah know ah get away from the ball Last edited by dedetriniking; 05-13-2008 at 07:51 PM.. |
Okay boys and girls play a clip from the song and follow along with the lyrics. Beautiful man!
http://www.ecaroh.info/rawkaiso1-05.mp3 Life as a calypsonian not eeeeeeasy ah mean in the way you'd think it would be is best ah did stay bachelor and carefree ah doh know who tell meh to get marry From de day yuh boy venture into married life one setta pressure ah getting from meh wife she make meh to know that she doh like calypso and she doh see why de hell ah fighting it so she tell meh.... well meh eh see calypso do nutn for you and in de night ah cya get ah good nightrest to always with a chune chune whole night and day and when the season come eh sure to get pay ca believe is calypso yuh love so yuh eh see calypso eh have luv for you and out ah de blue just so the woman explo(de) when the nighttime come bes(t) a hugup meh calypso ah dunno whey it is that calypso doooo she cya believe she born here in this country ah doh know if is some calypsonian fool she she really eh like calypso or me is to know the game playing i does encounter man cutting meh left right and in the center but when ah turn to joan for support at home is a fresh set ah ridicule to the bone well meh eh see calypso do nutn for you and in de night ah cya get ah good nightrest to always with a chune chune on yuh guitar and not for hell yuh cya reach de savannah who tell yuh that yuh could sing calypso yuh fooling yuhself in case yuh eh know and out ah de blue she tell me this eh no sports let calypso come and wash them jockey shorts Ah tell yuh this wife ah mine she not eeeeezy trying she best tuh send meh crazy forever taking meh string off meh guiiiitarrr telling meh is i bust them and cya remember she does wait until she see ah start composing start throwing down wares hard hard there in the kitchen and whey ah sitting dong...come sweeping aroung .................................pong meh tongue well meh eh see calypso do nutn for you and in de night ah cya get ah good nightrest to always with a chune chune doh make meh cuss between you and rex west doh know who wuss telling me yuh love calypso but yuh lie is them women and them whey bunning yuh eye and out ah the blue ah get the shock of meh life yuh go use the hole in yuh guitar when yuh want wife Last edited by dedetriniking; 05-13-2008 at 07:22 PM.. |
The clever use of the words, the story, the delivery...vintage kaiso....this one is one ah meh favourites:
http://www.ecaroh.info/rawkaiso1-09.mp3 Ah see de gyul o lard meh eye ketch a chie ah tell mehself me eh care whey getting she cost me ah see mehself one time with ah family ah even see she having we fuss baby so i decide to approach the young lady and express de feelings ah have for she buh when ah finish talk she eh answer no or yes ah whey she tell me nobody in here cya guess She tell meh tuh bring ah letter from meh last oman with she signature stating why we done bring two passport pictear of the oman too ah want tuh know how much children whey she have for you if she have a phone bring the number so that ah could confirm later and if ah get trip up in the letter she go still need a medical from a doctor i never hear more you coulda swear is a wuk ah was looking for De oman say she eh trusting no man again man does lie too much and have to much brain they never ha no wife so the story go is only when yuh foot get tie yuh does know and she eh want tuh hear bout house car or land whey she want is a sincere and loving man for she eh see whey use anything would be to she if she body infested with HIV She tell meh tuh bring ah letterfrom meh last oman with she signature stating why we done bring two passport pictear for she to see if the gyul marasme or strong and healthy if because of me she ha pressure state all that in the letter and if the oman say she cya go no way and if she say ah smart when ah get pay well needless to say that thing yuh ha dey right dey it go stay well if you see the smooth goodlooking darkie brigo is the perfect flipside tuh she thru she ah cya sleep when de nighttime come wondering who ah go get ah letter from so ah decide to ask two three gyal ah was with when dem see meh come in well them start tuh spit tis other one tell meh check she home she go gimme it buh when ah reach she start to bawl for rape and bandit ah still have to get ah letter from meh last oman with suitable information to give this next one she doh want no type written letter she say that won't do anyone ah yuh smart man pardna could write that for you also get a note of approval from meh modda for she for if thing get fatal is ma go hold she belly she say she telling me from up front she very dohtish and ignorant so if the woman say ah maccosush and jealous and very quick to lash she making she peace in case she turn beast and i turn decease Ah realize by then this woman rell smart she know very well that ah cyant get that no oman go write recommendation to gi no next oman tuh friend with no man is just she eh want meh is that she mean so she rest meh dong on ah dohtish scene but ah remember ah have a homo cousin name hue so ah leh he write it that is oman too ah make sure she get a letter whey she cya turn down and ah picture of hue in he evening gown urging she to go on saying ah kind-hearted and loving so doh dig ah nuting anything whey prince ask you feel free he in ah tell meh self when ah done rest the hurt on she ah buying mehself a trophy in memory of all the up and down ah do in getting the credentials to get tru well wha yuh tink happen yuh know the blasted gyul is ah homo too |
CQ83...Rasta P83...
Credits: 5,272
Sweet
More masterful calypso lyrics and music. This is the black prince again and check out the way he speaks about this relationship. Sing along with the clip
http://www.ecaroh.info/rawkaiso1.06.mp3 Many years ah going steady with you and yuh never ask for nutn is true yuh say yuh doh really want no money from me all whey yuh need is love and good company but meh conscience does hurt me gyul now and then ah never could give yuh nutn to spend ah want tuh give yuh somthing by the small although yuh does say that money eh all so friday evening try and come saturday morning not tuh come the money that ah working for does done by the paymaster door so friday evening try and come saturday morning not to come ah doh want yuh ah feel dat yuh chupid but de money that yuh boy wukking for eh big ah know yuh have yuh husband and kids to care but yuh does check meh regular through the year but whey go happen if yuh husband get tuh know and make up he mind that yuh go really have tuh go whenever parents go they separate ways children does pay in the later days ah what yuh tuh give thought to all ah dat so yuh wouldnt find yuhself in a snat so friday evening try and come saturday morning...(chorus) Up to now yuh moving jolly and kind but ah doh know whey yuh have in yuh mind you could be saying such pleasant tings to me and among yuh friend and them is ah next story cuz women so concosa towards men ah never could tell whey ah stand with them ah doh wah yuh tell people in de street black prince is ah man whey more hot than sweet so friday evening try and come ......(chorus) Last edited by dedetriniking; 05-14-2008 at 04:54 PM.. |
More from the Black Prince - can you tell i'm a fan of this guy. Here he relates the philosophical thinking of a loose woman. Ah love the man's syntax and semantics..his prose. Here is a clip of how the song goes followed by the lyrics.
http://www.ecaroh.info/rawkaiso107.mp3 Yes it is nice to get in conversation with women for you will hear somethings that you wouldn't hear from men like if they was man what they woulda do and who man they know more chupid than who how they woulda live bachelor they whole life long woman couldn't have them drinking and falling down but this jammette ah bounce up in la romaine she tune was the same, that same old refrain but lyrics of a different reign she say One lifetime eh nuff one lifetime eh nuff ah gotta have time for husband time for me children time for meh sweetman time for me time for i to reminisce time for me to done with this to be alive is nice but tuff one lifetime eh nuff |
Ah veritable classic in TnT. This next one by Brigo. This one talks about what really amounts to abuse that he faced at his mother's hands when he was growing up but his protector was always his grandmother. Brigo is not the most handsome of men and the lyrics suggest that he faced hard times from his mom because of his looks. Check the lyrics:
It is really sad to tell yuh bout the childhood that brigo had yuh go say ah mad when yuh hear bout the child days that brigo had meh mama have five children i'm the better looking one as you all could see she used to beat me just as if i wasn't she soon one day granny said to she doh beat mama popo doh beat mama popo granny tell she ah warn yuh awready like yuh want tuh spoil the child beauty yuh done make de pickney and now yuh beating it like yuh crazy betty ah love yuh ah lot but he is the prettiest grand popo that i got |
Road Call- Kerian Piper (2008 St. Lucia)(Road Call Riddim)***
Steelband Music Video of the Week