Old 03-15-2007, 06:44 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 445
Question Vintage Calypso - favourites

What are your favourite Old-Time Calypso-Songs ? (lets say before 1970)
Old 03-15-2007, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
dev

Credits: 18,383
steel donkey..
Old 03-15-2007, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,262
De Grand Master aka Kitch - "My Pussin"

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 03-16-2007, 10:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
cassette_craig

Lord Nello - Spoil Milk, King Liar, Dove and Pigeon

Sparrow - Man in mi bedroom, Saltfish (definitely), Lying Excuse 1 and 2, the list nah gun dun fuh Sparrow.

I got a calypso CD dat i dont know the names of nuff a dem ppl, i gun try upload it and yall can try name dem fuh me. Will do it one song at a time.
Old 03-16-2007, 10:57 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 1,710
Originally Posted by cassette_craig View Post
Lord Nello - Spoil Milk, King Liar, Dove and Pigeon

Sparrow - Man in mi bedroom, Saltfish (definitely), Lying Excuse 1 and 2, the list nah gun dun fuh Sparrow.

I got a calypso CD dat i dont know the names of nuff a dem ppl, i gun try upload it and yall can try name dem fuh me. Will do it one song at a time.
nice tune, but I believe it's titled "Phillip My Dear". howeva, i didnt know there were 2 parts to lying excuses? i always thought there was one. the version i heard is when birdy talks about making love on the beach, holdin a woman for the police and giving a woman 2g's for a sandwhich and coffee. let me know where i can find part 2 (or part 1). thx!

salty
Old 03-16-2007, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
cassette_craig

Originally Posted by lordsalt View Post
nice tune, but I believe it's titled "Phillip My Dear". howeva, i didnt know there were 2 parts to lying excuses? i always thought there was one. the version i heard is when birdy talks about making love on the beach, holdin a woman for the police and giving a woman 2g's for a sandwhich and coffee. let me know where i can find part 2 (or part 1). thx!

salty
Yes that is the part 1, the part 2 is when the woman is lying about the man he come home and meet in the house name frank is her cousin and he dont have to worry by time he go to work and come back the man gun be long gone. I was told it name lying excuses 2, dont know if you have another name for it.

Yes true is phillip my dear the song name, i never got to download the whole song, i had to end up buying a sparrow CD for that. I saw Sparrow perform that song, slatfish and the 3 medleys live and i never laughed so much in my life.

A give she aready OI!!! She mus rememba me OI!!! Tell she missa Benwood cummmmmmmm. Anyway lemme get to uploading. Yall keep checking this space
Old 03-16-2007, 01:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,262

Yes that is the part 1, the part 2 is when the woman is lying about the man he come home and meet in the house name frank is her cousin and he dont have to worry by time he go to work and come back the man gun be long gone. I was told it name lying excuses 2, dont know if you have another name for it.

Yes true is phillip my dear the song name, i never got to download the whole song, i had to end up buying a sparrow CD for that. I saw Sparrow perform that song, slatfish and the 3 medleys live and i never laughed so much in my life.

A give she aready OI!!! She mus rememba me OI!!! Tell she missa Benwood cummmmmmmm. Anyway lemme get to uploading. Yall keep checking this space
My grand mother did love "Ten to one is Murder", and I have grown to love it as well.

I hear putow pow and de crowd start tuh scatter
Ten to one is murder
Dey say how I push dey gyal from Grenada
Ten to one is murder
Well de leader of de gang was a very good pelter...

Those were the days of lyrics.

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 03-16-2007, 01:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
cassette_craig

Originally Posted by chinky eyes View Post
My grand mother did love "Ten to one is Murder", and I have grown to love it as well.

I hear putow pow and de crowd start tuh scatter
Ten to one is murder
Dey say how I push dey gyal from Grenada
Ten to one is murder
Well de leader of de gang was a very good pelter...

Those were the days of lyrics.
Yea i have a CD wid Ten to One dat is a nice song, as im uploading the songs one by one im listening to them. Kitchener's My pussin is playing now but yall download and listen to this

Mighty Duke - Woman Bacchanal

Mighty Kaiteur - Drunk Man

Last edited by cassette_craig; 03-16-2007 at 01:57 PM..
Old 03-16-2007, 01:55 PM   #9 (permalink)
cassette_craig

This is the track list
Lord Nelson - King Liar
Lord Nelson - Spoil Milk
Mighty Kaiteur - Drunk Man (heard he was guyanese not sure)
Indian Cricketers - Lord Relator
Suriname - King Fighter (guyanese R.I.P)
Queen Singing Calypso - Lord Bryner
Stella - Lord Nelson
Bang Bang Lulu - Mighty Sparrow
The Devil - Fats Green Orchestra
You Wasting Your Time - The Mighty Power
The Itch - Lord Nelson (another favourite)
Jestina - Fats Green Orchestra
Mambo - Fits Vaughn Bryan
Crazy Love - Lord Melody (not sure of this name)
Cuff Dem Down - Mighty Sparrow (a very funny sparrow)
Garrot Bounce - Lord Nelson
Archie Bruck Dem Up - Wesley Simon Combo
The Smart Bajan - The Mighty Power
The Wedding - Prince Galloway
Well Spoken Moppers - Mighty Sparrow
Pum Pum Pum - King Fighter
Doctor Kitch - Lord Kitchener
Congo Man - Do i need to type the name for this one?

SUH WHICH ONE YALL WANT I UPLOAD NEXT I GOING AND EAT WHEN I COME BACK I GUN TEK DEM REQUESTS
Old 11-23-2008, 09:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
kar

Credits: 128
Unhappy Cuff Dem Down by Mighty Sparrow

Does anyone know where I might be able to get the song Cuff Dem Down?
Been looking for a long time and can't find it.
Old 11-24-2008, 06:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
cassette_craig

i can upload it fuh you, all it gun cost yuh is 2 guiness dats like 3US dollars
Old 11-25-2008, 12:25 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 2,290
This is the track list
Lord Nelson - King Liar
Lord Nelson - Spoil Milk
Mighty Kaiteur - Drunk Man (heard he was guyanese not sure)
Indian Cricketers - Lord Relator
Suriname - King Fighter (guyanese R.I.P)
Queen Singing Calypso - Lord Bryner
Stella - Lord Nelson
Bang Bang Lulu - Mighty Sparrow
The Devil - Fats Green Orchestra
You Wasting Your Time - The Mighty Power
The Itch - Lord Nelson (another favourite)
Jestina - Fats Green Orchestra
Mambo - Fits Vaughn Bryan
Crazy Love - Lord Melody (not sure of this name)
Cuff Dem Down - Mighty Sparrow (a very funny sparrow)
Garrot Bounce - Lord Nelson
Archie Bruck Dem Up - Wesley Simon Combo
The Smart Bajan - The Mighty Power
The Wedding - Prince Galloway
Well Spoken Moppers - Mighty Sparrow
Pum Pum Pum - King Fighter
Doctor Kitch - Lord Kitchener
Congo Man - Do i need to type the name for this one?

SUH WHICH ONE YALL WANT I UPLOAD NEXT I GOING AND EAT WHEN I COME BACK I GUN TEK DEM REQUESTS
I have this CD too. Also have some calypsoes that were recorded in GT back in the 1950's.

Kitch's "trouble" would probably top my oldies list.
Old 11-25-2008, 01:48 AM   #13 (permalink)
cassette_craig

Originally Posted by ken_yatta View Post
I have this CD too. Also have some calypsoes that were recorded in GT back in the 1950's.

Kitch's "trouble" would probably top my oldies list.
You got any king fighter?
Old 11-25-2008, 09:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
kar

Credits: 128
Smile

I'm only looing for Cuff Dem Down by Mighty Sparrow. If someone could upload that would be great.
Old 11-25-2008, 07:50 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 2,472
Sparrow's Governor's Ball