Old 10-23-2005, 12:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,303
Vincy Artists "Trespassing" On Trinidad Carnival 2006?

VP;
Forgive me if this thread is up already...bring it back up...very interesting...find me a link for the tune...here goes the article !

Written by Richard Weekes | 11 October 2005

Vincy Aiming BIG For Trini Carnival 2006
While some people believe in the garbage that Trini Carnival should be for Trini artists only, and Bajan Crop Over for Bajan artists only, etc. - Vincy has got different plans...

Last year - it was Jamesy P with Nookie stomping down his mark. Now this year - the stage has been set and shot for a new Vincy artist. From the same camp as Jamesy P's Nookie - comes a new star to the big stage. Reports say that they've just finished shooting a new music video for his new hit song, and it will be released for Trinidad Carnival 2006.

Who is this next Vincy star looking to take a piece? And what is his new hit song?

Skarpyon's got the hit song, debut album and new music video to release. What next?
Next up seems to be...Skarpyon with his new hit Lookin Fine.

And I must say - that Looking Fine song is really a nice tune. And I'm down for hearing it during Carnival or any other time.
Old 10-23-2005, 02:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
cyan.mis.d.festival.again

Credits: 416
is that so?

i like skarpyon's voice...most of the time...but i've heard some tunes on that album that i can't get down with.

i'm thinking that T&T will be chipping to Home for Carnival...if anything is gonna trepass from SVG. After that, I want to believe Bomani's got next with "Wet". I just love Bomani all around...so, I'm hoping he gets his.

None the less, that fact of the matter is Vincy has so many artists that could use some greater exposure and Trinidad is an important step in order to make that happen.
Old 10-23-2005, 02:16 AM   #3 (permalink)

Skarpyon -- looking fine
Old 10-23-2005, 04:14 AM   #4 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Originally Posted by t-daughta
Skarpyon -- looking fine

Thanks...mellow, I like it...
Old 10-23-2005, 04:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

is that so?

i like skarpyon's voice...most of the time...but i've heard some tunes on that album that i can't get down with.

i'm thinking that T&T will be chipping to Home for Carnival...if anything is gonna trepass from SVG. After that, I want to believe Bomani's got next with "Wet". I just love Bomani all around...so, I'm hoping he gets his.

None the less, that fact of the matter is Vincy has so many artists that could use some greater exposure and Trinidad is an important step in order to make that happen.

Well, I am all for unity.... I am all open to hear different soca Islands shine in the lime light.... yes.. St Vincent list of artistes are deep.
Old 10-23-2005, 09:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
trini1981

with that tune?

he gotta come betta.

that is not even gonna be as nookie was.

Last edited by trini1981; 10-23-2005 at 01:03 PM..
Old 10-23-2005, 12:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Get-On-er*

Credits: 2,738
nice song, dont get me wrong, but if this guy has a chance at becoming big in Trinidad w/ that song, Bomani should've became big long time ago with "Wet" and "Turn Round".
Old 10-23-2005, 12:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Get-On-er*

Also, what's with the rap in the middle of the song? Me nah like dat. It mess up de song man.
Old 10-23-2005, 01:00 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 24,368
the riddim oddly similiar to TMO, the dancehall syncopation is overdone
Old 10-23-2005, 01:27 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 6,458
I dont know any people from tnt that dont welcome good music from other islands not only the music but the artists also. As a matter of fact ive never seen a foreign artist get booed in tnt either.
We will boo we own but we do treat guest very well in my opinion
Old 10-23-2005, 03:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
ah like chupidness

Credits: 13,816
Originally Posted by saveoursoca
I dont know any people from tnt that dont welcome good music from other islands not only the music but the artists also. As a matter of fact ive never seen a foreign artist get booed in tnt either.
We will boo we own but we do treat guest very well in my opinion

agreed.....trini does treat all them artist wit nuff respeck....regardless of what rubbish ppl does talk otherwise..me self neva see nobody geh boo dong off di stage from no odda island....i see iwer geh boo doh! lol
Old 10-23-2005, 05:36 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by SxxyMadChild
nice song, dont get me wrong, but if this guy has a chance at becoming big in Trinidad w/ that song, Bomani should've became big long time ago with "Wet" and "Turn Round".

Well, Wet only dropped this year...so there wasn't a chance for Trinis to hear that one on the road yet. Last year Booty Call (Turn Round) was overshadowed by "I am Soca" which is the tune that won Bomani Soca Monarch in SVG. So, he is getting some recognition in TnT. We'll see if "Wet" makes a mark in 2006.

Just for interest though SxxyMad Child...Skarpyon, Jamesy P, and Bomani are all produced by the same producer in St. Vincent. So you never know...the ingredients are there. Also, Mark Cyrus at Master Room Studios produces Troots n' Ice...(Senorita, Mi Amor, Cuties, Closer, The One)
Old 10-23-2005, 05:50 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 2,891
Aside from what the article says...why refer to it as "trespassing?" It's not like other music has never been played during Trinidad's Carnival. I remember Tallpree's Old Woman Alone playing all throughout 2000...Square 1 & Krosfyah both had music playing for a good while (I presume Alison is doing well with her Roll tune) & as stated in the article, Vincy artistes are doing their thing. The only thing that's changed is the individual artiste...not the idea of another island's music being played during Carnival.
Old 10-23-2005, 08:39 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 140,796
Well, I know SKARPYON personally.

Good YUTE...very GROUNDED...highly TALENTED....GOING PLACES.

Well, I have made SEVERAL threads aboutu Skarpyon already, so you DONE know.

Skarpyon Video

Scarpyon

Soca/reggaeton - Vincy Style
Old 10-23-2005, 08:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Get-On-er*

Well, Wet only dropped this year...so there wasn't a chance for Trinis to hear that one on the road yet. Last year Booty Call (Turn Round) was overshadowed by "I am Soca" which is the tune that won Bomani Soca Monarch in SVG. So, he is getting some recognition in TnT. We'll see if "Wet" makes a mark in 2006.

Just for interest though SxxyMad Child...Skarpyon, Jamesy P, and Bomani are all produced by the same producer in St. Vincent. So you never know...the ingredients are there. Also, Mark Cyrus at Master Room Studios produces Troots n' Ice...(Senorita, Mi Amor, Cuties, Closer, The One)
oh, thats cool. I just hope "Wet" gets more recognition. I don't think it will so much in 2006 either, which is too bad.

Beautiful Beautiful song. I listened to it about 8 times today