Old 09-26-2005, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,972
UNKNOW TO U and THEM, but KNOWN TO U and THEM SOCA ARTIST

Can you name some ARTISTS from your country or from another country that is KNOWN by U, and who is KNOWN within that COUNTRY, but who you SENSE may not be KNOWN to the IMIX crowd, simply because they do not know of the artist's/band's music, they were too young to know the artist or they simply were not BORN in the Caribbean, therefore their KNOWLEDGE of artists/bands, within the REGION, apart from what they hear on PIRATE STATIONS, FETES, or on IMIX, and other site of its kind, are quite LIMITED.

These artists/bands can be PAST and/or PRESENT.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 09-26-2005 at 11:27 PM..
Old 09-27-2005, 12:31 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 6,568
One of my favorite tunes of all time
By Attaklan
the tune name was flambo
Old 09-27-2005, 08:08 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 16,239
Originally Posted by saveoursoca
By Attaklan
the tune name was flambo

Tune!!!!!!!!!
Old 09-27-2005, 09:21 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,263
Question

Originally Posted by saveoursoca
By Attaklan
the tune name was flambo
Luv dat tune man... respect
Old 09-27-2005, 09:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Credits: 4,737
papa jerry - had one tune that broke out but not too much "more fyah"

black wizard - a veteran in the business. he did a popular song in the 80's "soca feelings"

tangler - probably the only chutney soca artist from grenada. did songs like "tunca jana" and "no food for you tonight"

japs - very talanted young artist who's been out for a while. first popular tune was "mass".

got some more to come
Old 09-27-2005, 10:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA

Credits: 3,017
I don't know of an artist but a band out of Guyana named The Ninja Band. I never heard of them myself until I went to Miami carnival 2003 where they performed at the Convention centre. They aren't bad really. I haven't heard of them playing anywhere else other than for Miami Carnival. Last year at Miami carnival they said for the first time they would be performing in Trinidad for carnival 2005 at Glow, or Insomnia, not sure if they actually made it.
Old 09-27-2005, 11:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 128,041
Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
Can you name some ARTISTS from your country or from another country that is KNOWN by U, and who is KNOWN within that COUNTRY, but who you SENSE may not be KNOWN to the IMIX crowd, simply because they do not know of the artist's/band's music, they were too young to know the artist or they simply were not BORN in the Caribbean, therefore their KNOWLEDGE of artists/bands, within the REGION, apart from what they hear on PIRATE STATIONS, FETES, or on IMIX, and other site of its kind, are quite LIMITED.

These artists/bands can be PAST and/or PRESENT.
Yes.....Imix peeps didn't know about Val and Seramix til I signed on last December right VP
Old 09-27-2005, 11:26 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 5,169
Originally Posted by Pretty Preya
I don't know of an artist but a band out of Guyana named The Ninja Band. I never heard of them myself until I went to Miami carnival 2003 where they performed at the Convention centre. They aren't bad really. I haven't heard of them playing anywhere else other than for Miami Carnival. Last year at Miami carnival they said for the first time they would be performing in Trinidad for carnival 2005 at Glow, or Insomnia, not sure if they actually made it.
They have a song in da a/v room that I doan care for dat much.
Old 09-27-2005, 11:32 AM   #9 (permalink)
STEADY WUK

Credits: 2,062
Mandingo Brass - St. Thomas
Milo and the Kings - St. Thomas
Jamesy and the Happy Seven - St. Croix
17+ Plus - St. Thomas
Dread Ones - St. Thomas
and the list goes on and on

Last edited by VI PUM PUM; 09-27-2005 at 02:26 PM..
Old 09-27-2005, 11:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,086
Originally Posted by VI PUM PUM
Mandingo Brass
Milo and the Kings
Jamesy and the Happy Seven
17+ Plus
Dread Ones
mary mary jumpin up.......
Old 09-27-2005, 11:55 AM   #11 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Credits: 4,737
Originally Posted by VI PUM PUM
Mandingo Brass
Milo and the Kings
Jamesy and the Happy Seven
17+ Plus
Dread Ones

i thought 17+ plus was a dj?
Old 09-27-2005, 11:59 AM   #12 (permalink)
STEADY WUK

Credits: 2,062
Originally Posted by spicexperience
No.....17+ Plus was a popular soca band from the virgin islands that made it international and also had a movie soundtrack (Weekend at Bernies)
Old 09-27-2005, 12:01 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,086

Seventeen again
just like acid rain
burnin thru yur brain....

Old 09-27-2005, 12:27 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 6,568
papa jerry - had one tune that broke out but not too much "more fyah"

black wizard - a veteran in the business. he did a popular song in the 80's "soca feelings"

tangler - probably the only chutney soca artist from grenada. did songs like "tunca jana" and "no food for you tonight"

japs - very talanted young artist who's been out for a while. first popular tune was "mass".

got some more to come

big big artist
Old 09-27-2005, 01:26 PM   #15 (permalink)
soca revolutionary

Credits: 2,708
please some people ropund here so clueless they didint even know that burning flames exisited until onika joined the band...if they only knew about real burning flames.