Credits: 140,970
The Trinis Gave The Bajans A Soca Cutass????
T&T give Bajans a soca licking
Michael Mondezie mmondezie@trinidadexpress.com Sunday, February 11th 2007 It was a whitewash for the home side when local soca acts clashed with their Bajan counterparts during the first leg of the T&T vs Barbados concert series at the Jean Pierre Complex, Mucurapo, on Friday night. A dozen home town performers, among them big guns Destra Garcia, Denise "Saucy Wow" Belfon and Sanelle Dempster steamrolled over a puerile three-act Bajan attack in the most one-sided battle since the US invaded Iraq. Bajan soca queen Alison Hinds and rising stars Biggie Irie and Peter Ram tried to rescue Barbadian pride, but the battle was too uneven as Hinds herself conceded. "Three Bajans and 15,000 Trinidadians this ain't no battle, is a slaughter. Where the 3,000 Bajans they say flying in for this clash?" Hinds asked. Promoters announced in their pre-concert advertising campaign that Barbados would be well represented since 3,000 Bajans were scheduled to fly into the country to witness the clash. On fight night, however, the Bajan contingent found themselves seriously outnumbered in enemy territory and it wasn't long before the white flags began to go up. Peter Ram was the first to signal surrender when he faced the 3,000-strong crowd following a lively opening set that featured local acts Michelle Sylvester, Terry Seales, Mista Vybe and 3rd Bass. The honey-voiced Bajan singer seemed set for war when he danced on stage in army fatigues and demanded a Trini "woman by his side". He voiced his discontentment over not making the Groovy Soca Monarch Finals and called on his Trini fans to cheer if they think he was cheated. However, he changed his song to one of unity when the patriotic audience didn't react to his chants. "St Lucia, Jamaica, Barbados and Trini, all of we is one culture, one people and one family. So there is no need to fight we all have to unite," he said before distributing copies of his album to the audience. Biggie Irie, however, had a bit more success with the local crowd who just couldn't get enough of his 2006 crop over hit "Nah Going Home". Biggie Irie, a Groovy Soca Monarch finalist, received the only encore of the night and milked the opportunity to chalk up some points for Barbados on the scoreboard. Grenadian singer Nika, another Groovy Soca Monarch finalist, joined the Bajan attack in a surprise move that left MC Sprangalang bewildered. "Since when Grenadian siding with Bajan? You know half the Trinis in here have Grenadian blood," Sprang said sending the audience into an uproar. Soca Queens Denise "Saucy Wow" Belfon and Destra Garcia brought the victory home with two standout performances despite problems with the sound system. Belfon was especially memorable as she restored the Trini/Grenadian connection with guest appearances from Spice Isle leading performers Spontaneous and Baby Killa. Spontaneous demonstrated the popular bicycle wine while Killa brought the house down with his animal wine. He got down on all fours and crawled across the stage before standing on his hands to execute the wine with Belfon. |
.......not ah shotta
Credits: 2,369
can somebody say SLAUGHTERED?
*waitin for somebody to say "if de show was in bim, de outcome woulda been different"....* |
Credits: 2,416
I like the fact that it had island representation from Bim and Greenz.
Sounds like it was a fun battle. Hard luck Ali yuh time come n gon. lol. Peter Ram sucks live and Bajans self will tell yuh dat. Biggie Irie was the best cadidate which is why his performance was well recieved. Glad to see Spontaneous and Killa there. |
Credits: 3,247
Baby Killa
Baby Killa is one of the most energitic and skillful entertainers in soca period.
He knows how to put on a a show! To see him do de hanstand wine with Belfon would have been priceless.
Credits: 153,677
damn.
Credits: 3,002
This is " WeTing."
Half Man - Half Beast
Credits: 27,547
Dam right, often duplicated but never mastered.
for any other island to venture into the jungles of warrior city is a slaughtering waiting to happen. I think this is a blasted shame those bajans didn't show up to represent their soca stars, they could show up for flying fish but not to support thier local artist, wunna bajans gine come pon we land for flying fish but nuh support yuh people dem wuloss. wah rasshole kinda ting is that. ![]()
Children will soon forget your presents. They will always remember your presence. The best inheritance parents can give their children is a few minutes of their time each day. Last edited by notorious saga; 02-11-2007 at 10:09 AM.. |
Credits: 18,407
we en mind dem beating we,just as long as they keep spending their money in we small island. TRINIDAD.
Credits: 133
wunna is de only ones thinkin bout competing and all dat kinda cunnt. bajans wanna wukkup and do bad. and wunna wanna run talk. bajans ain got nuffin better to do dese days? clearly they did. rudeboy. alison hard luck? you kidding me chef?
Half Man - Half Beast
Alison hinds wukup days is over, she need's to tender her resignation, talk done.
Credits: 133
so she should dun cause 3 bajans lose a battle in tnt? wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh you must be some special education student lost in the fray. the flying fish ting is old. and btw, no one mentioned that ali get booed. ps, just because dem advertize 3000 bajans to be there dont mean they showed up. enjoy your carnival though |
Credits: 435
this is all foolishness. DEV, HUSH YA RASS CAUSE U AINT KNOW SHITE.
VP, THIS COULD NOT FLY PAST DEM EYES OF URS. WHERE R VINCIES? CAN THEY EVER CLASH WID BAJANS? NO, DUN TALK TO YA HATIN RASS PERIOD. BAJAN REPRESENTATION IS ALISON HINDS, PETER RAM AND BIGGIE IRIE? WHO SENT DEM TO REPRESENT WE? WTF. WHERE RUPEE, EDWIN AND KROSFYAH, LIL RICK, KIMBERLY INNISS, BARRY AND JABAE, MIKEY, ETC. THAT WAS UNFAIR TO HAVE BIGGIE IRIE AND PETER RAM. AND BESIDES, I NEVER KNEW THERE WAS A CLASH CAUSE I WOULD SEND SOME MORE BIG GUNS. WAT DE HELL? I HEARIN. DENISE BELFON? LOL. WAT SHE DO, DID BELLY DANCE? I AM SHAME OF THIS TO SEE SUCH A REPRESENTATION. AND TRUE, IF TRINIS WERE HERE IT WOULD BE A DIFFERENT STORY. SO THE WHOLE THING WAS BIAS AS HELL. NO IMPARTIAL PEOPLE DOES LIVE IN TRINI. THAT AINT NO CLASH. MY LINE UP WOULD BE: BARRY AND BRUCE RUPEE EDWIN AND KROSFYAH BIGGE IRIE ALISON HINDS LIL RICK KIMBERLY INNISS PETER RAM (SUBSTITUTE IN CASE SOMEONE GET SICK) and send down some keanne, mikey, etc. and statement. BAJANS, HOLD YA HEAD UP HIGH WE GINE HOLD ONE AGAIN THIS SEASON. Last edited by analyst; 02-11-2007 at 12:02 PM.. |
T-dot I gine miss yuh!
Credits: 25,274
(and i'm objective b/c i prefer soca from Trini usually) so this clash was a big Page Ranking stunt, no way it could have turned out any other way, it sounds like it was fun though |
Half Man - Half Beast
Aye fish mouth, this battle coulda been in barbados and trinidad would of had a battalion of trini warriors to represent the sweet soca island TNT. Why advertize 3,000 bajans to represent your island if no one gonna show up? but i still gotta give props to alison she came out and said that it was a slaughter from jump and she was right, dem artist was the crowd for the bajan pride but to no avail they stand alone, again it's a damn shame. where did the pride go?To be fair they should have another session in bim just to see how we trini battalion does represent, yuh eh see how small trinidad is but in 2k6 germany and the world felt our warrior presents, even though we didn't make it far we left a lasting impression, that is trini pride. where is your bajan pride? ![]()
Credits: 15,612

the crowd for the bajan pride but to no avail they stand alone, again it's a damn shame. where did the pride go?