Old 09-19-2009, 11:02 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 14,966
Lightbulb Trinidad and Tobago 2K10 Soca Season Expectations

1) Im still rooting for Maximus Dan and Mr Slaughter

2) Females need to step up

3) Rooting for Blaxx to get with the program

4) Hoping HD and Family find their balance

5) Hope Shurwaine and YOU give us some hits

6) Asylum should continue with their program just more maturity

7) Kerwin DuBoise to write and produce more.......sing less

more to come
Old 09-19-2009, 11:42 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 17,058
Mannn if they come anywhere close to last year i'll be happy. Great great songs last year. I'm closely watching Kerwin Dubois....this guy has the potential to be a powerhouse in the industry. For my money this guy has put out the best soca music in the last two years...whether he is singing or he is producing others. Looking for consistency from KES. I'm also looking out for what Zan does this year after the great music he had last year. In the end i'm looking for good music and it doh matter who the artist is.
Old 09-19-2009, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 3,174
heard patrice has her own show now wid d HD band. lookin fwd to that.
bunji and crew
new artist, need new faces
also some new styles in d soca. love the direction machel is tryin to take it. always lookin to do different stuff. i can appreciate that.
Old 09-19-2009, 01:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Get-On-er*

Credits: 2,737

3suns have potential but haven't been showing it the past couple of years.....

Asylum (especially Faye-Ann) needs to keep doing what they do.....

I don't think I'll ever stop rooting for Maximus.....

Poor Blaxx, decent artist, just keeps getting overshadowed by Faye Ann, lolol.....

HD could use some improvement, w/ the exception of Zan.....

Old 09-19-2009, 01:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,251
once HD finds the balance between innovation and giving the T&T people what they "want" then HD go sell off again for sure
agree with Asylum and maturity
I loved Shurwayne & Y.O.U.'s tunes last year especially "Wanna Make Love" and "You (Energy)" so I think they will have a great year in 2010
hoping Rita Jones has a good year if she is still with Roy Cape cause the gyal can really sing
Tracy D came with two nice tunes over the past two years- Island Jam & Sail Away and I expect nothing less from him this year in terms of groovy- I just hope these tunes get some traction
Kes The Band stays consistent...I want to see them continue with the real hard rock, soulful approach that they excel at, but it would be nice for them to come with something for the road in the vein of Destra hard-rock style tunes that has the power to take a road march title
if Benjai comes with his own band that will be cool but I doubt he will come with another "Drunk Again"
Old 09-19-2009, 01:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
READY FOR SPICEMAS 2kWINE

Credits: 10,104
Originally Posted by soca control View Post
once HD finds the balance between innovation and giving the T&T people what they "want" then HD go sell off again for sure
agree with Asylum and maturity
I loved Shurwayne & Y.O.U.'s tunes last year especially "Wanna Make Love" and "You (Energy)" so I think they will have a great year in 2010
hoping Rita Jones has a good year if she is still with Roy Cape cause the gyal can really sing
Tracy D came with two nice tunes over the past two years- Island Jam & Sail Away and I expect nothing less from him this year in terms of groovy- I just hope these tunes get some traction
Kes The Band stays consistent...I want to see them continue with the real hard rock, soulful approach that they excel at, but it would be nice for them to come with something for the road in the vein of Destra hard-rock style tunes that has the power to take a road march title
if Benjai comes with his own band that will be cool but I doubt he will come with another "Drunk Again"
Old 09-19-2009, 01:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Get-On-er*

Credits: 2,737

Oh yeah, KES is on the right track too, been there for years. Hopefully they continue.....
Old 09-19-2009, 02:07 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 140,589
1. I am EXPECTING another SEASON of SHITTY MUSIC from the so-called MECCA of SOCA

2. I am HOPING FAYANN pull off the TRIPLE (third straight Road march)

3. I am EXPECTING WINER BOY to CONTINUE his DOWNWARD SLIDE in TRINIDAD

4. I HOPE ZOELAH BRINGS OUT some BIG CHUNES for TRINIDAD CARNIVAL

5. I HOPE the so-called INTERNATIONAL SOCA MONARCH COMPETITION doesn't TURN OUT to be ANOTHER BIAS EXERCISE in FAVOR of the TRINI ARTISTS as DISPLAYED last year.

6. I HOPE IWER GEORGE STAYS on the SIDELINES.

YUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH SEEEEEEEEEEEE MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEeee
Old 09-19-2009, 02:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 57,132
i expect Shurwayne, Machel, and Destra to be the top runners for Road March.
That's right, i said it!
Old 09-19-2009, 02:19 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mr. Bean View Post
i expect Shurwayne, Machel, and Destra to be the top runners for Road March.
That's right, i said it!
Old 09-19-2009, 02:24 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 20,466
to answer everyone:
Maximus is content ...... doubt you would be hearing any carnival music from him

Slaughter makes decent songs, but has to be one of the worst perfomers in the country

3suns does come across like they dont give a fcuk, just make a lil carnival money and they good, been pushing for them for the longest, but dem fellas come across as wasted talent

Benjai aint never coming out with his own band
Old 09-19-2009, 02:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Originally Posted by TriniJustice View Post
we bringin back the glory days baby
no more Fay Ann force feeding
Old 09-19-2009, 02:32 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 20,466
I think this year might be the best musically

Since montano is on this him wanting to leave the band ish ,i figure he would come correct this year, i have a funny feeling he will do a song with serani for2010

i expect a lot from Kes and nadia, i think kes could be a major player in soca, but politics( b-mobile//digicel shite) and favoritism leading to that not being the case, nadia also should have a stronger year than last

im rooting for zoelah but i have a funny feeling she might get overlooked this year

Y.o.u should be much improved after the first year, see the band doing good

Fayanne will repeat in one or 2 of her titles, not all 3

Garlin will be Garlin
iwer will be iwer
Kmc will be kmc
blaxx will be blaxx

Destra is a wildcard, dont know what to expect from her, she should have a roadmarch contender

i dont see patrice and zan breaking out under montano,
hope olatunji does something big
Old 09-19-2009, 02:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Originally Posted by Drake View Post

im rooting for zoelah but i have a funny feeling she might get overlooked this year
me too, mainly because even SVG overlooked her. She needs to record a new hit tune. "More Water" cant stretch like "Wine Up on me" did.
Old 09-19-2009, 02:39 PM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Drake View Post
to answer everyone:
Maximus is content ...... doubt you would be hearing any carnival music from him

Slaughter makes decent songs, but has to be one of the worst perfomers in the country

3suns does come across like they dont give a fcuk, just make a lil carnival money and they good, been pushing for them for the longest, but dem fellas come across as wasted talent

Benjai aint never coming out with his own band