Old 07-13-2005, 10:05 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,400
Trinidad Soca Monarch Misconceptions

I would like to take the time to respond to some of the negative comments I read about Trinidad's International Soca Monarch.
After watching the tape in its entirety, I will retract certain statements I once made about Jamesy P's performance. Jamesy P did have a good crowd response, and his performance was catchy, however I still stand by my opinion in the fact that he cannot sing very well "live," and that he talked too much on stage.
2nd, people made accusations on how the Trinidadian audience displayed minimal response to Baby Killa, and other foreign acts, which is false. I just reviewed his peformance, and noticed that when he started to wine on the girl in front, while on a handstand, the crowd went wild. From that point, to the end of his performance, the crowd was in a frenzy.
3rd, Blackie, wherever he originates from, I still believe he is a Trinidadian, and I believe he considers himself one as well. To the person who said the crowd stood still, you lied. Blackie had a very good crowd response, and during his interview backstage with Maxine Richards, the two of them commented on how well he was recieved at soca monarch. His song was one of the most played songs for the season, and one of the most popular, and he had a great performance, and it was evident the crowd believed so too, seeing how everyone was waving their flags or balloons.
4th, Timmy. Yes the comments about Timmy were true. The song wasn't played a lot in Trinidad, and for that reason I believe that is why he placed low in the competition.

Many foreign acts who come to Trinidad, and perform at soca monarch, for the most part recieve a positive response from the crowd. People like: Rupee, Tallpree, RPB, Alison Hinds, Wanskie and Timmy have all placed in the top ten at the competition, outbeating many of the "popular" Trinidadian acts. This misconception of where people believe foreign acts are discriminated against in Trinidad is false.
Everyone here intensifies everything, and blows everything out of proportion. To set the record straight, Trinidadian and Tobagonnian people living in T&T are not bias. During carnival, on the radio, in the fetes, and on the road, songs from nearly every island are played. This is not a trend from a few years back, this is something we have always done. We do not discriminate an artist based on their birthplace. We have always included other islands in our festivities, which can not be said for many other islands. Over the years we have opened our doors, and stages to: Bajans, Grenadians, Antiguans, Lucians, Vincentians, Jamaicans...etc.
And I will be honest, as a Trinidadian reading the comments based on the misconceptions of my people in Trinidad, it bothers me strongly, because I know all the accusations people pelt at us are false. I cannot speak for the Trini dj's living in Brooklyn or Toronto, but when it comes to the love and unity for other islands, Trinidad always opens their arms during carnival.

In regards to soca monarch peformances, whoever feels that I am lying, I will gladly forward you the "truth."
Old 07-13-2005, 10:21 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 19,789

I know you tellin de truth dahlin...but yuh could send it fuh me anyway

IMIX is very over exaggerated...and to boot...I doh see none ah dem other island having any Trini artists in dey soca monarchs...ah watch de vincy own de other night and didn't see one Trini artist
Old 07-14-2005, 12:14 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 140,809
Originally Posted by 1trini-gyal

IMIX is very over exaggerated...and to boot...I doh see none ah dem other island having any Trini artists in dey soca monarchs...ah watch de vincy own de other night and didn't see one Trini artist
Well, ROY CAPE performed at Victoria Park, uhm, for like 45 minutes, while the crowd was waiting for the results of the Soca Monarch Competition.

If my hearing is CORRECT, I believe one of the TRIO of singers on that night, in that band, was someone that goes by the name of BLAXX.

I
Old 07-14-2005, 12:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,304
Originally Posted by deoriginalrudeboy
I would like to take the time to respond to some of the negative comments I read about Trinidad's International Soca Monarch.
After watching the tape in its entirety, I will retract certain statements I once made about Jamesy P's performance. Jamesy P did have a good crowd response, and his performance was catchy, however I still stand by my opinion in the fact that he cannot sing very well "live," and that he talked too much on stage.
2nd, people made accusations on how the Trinidadian audience displayed minimal response to Baby Killa, and other foreign acts, which is false. I just reviewed his peformance, and noticed that when he started to wine on the girl in front, while on a handstand, the crowd went wild. From that point, to the end of his performance, the crowd was in a frenzy.
3rd, Blackie, wherever he originates from, I still believe he is a Trinidadian, and I believe he considers himself one as well. To the person who said the crowd stood still, you lied. Blackie had a very good crowd response, and during his interview backstage with Maxine Richards, the two of them commented on how well he was recieved at soca monarch. His song was one of the most played songs for the season, and one of the most popular, and he had a great performance, and it was evident the crowd believed so too, seeing how everyone was waving their flags or balloons.
4th, Timmy. Yes the comments about Timmy were true. The song wasn't played a lot in Trinidad, and for that reason I believe that is why he placed low in the competition.

Many foreign acts who come to Trinidad, and perform at soca monarch, for the most part recieve a positive response from the crowd. People like: Rupee, Tallpree, RPB, Alison Hinds, Wanskie and Timmy have all placed in the top ten at the competition, outbeating many of the "popular" Trinidadian acts. This misconception of where people believe foreign acts are discriminated against in Trinidad is false.
Everyone here intensifies everything, and blows everything out of proportion. To set the record straight, Trinidadian and Tobagonnian people living in T&T are not bias. During carnival, on the radio, in the fetes, and on the road, songs from nearly every island are played. This is not a trend from a few years back, this is something we have always done. We do not discriminate an artist based on their birthplace. We have always included other islands in our festivities, which can not be said for many other islands. Over the years we have opened our doors, and stages to: Bajans, Grenadians, Antiguans, Lucians, Vincentians, Jamaicans...etc.
And I will be honest, as a Trinidadian reading the comments based on the misconceptions of my people in Trinidad, it bothers me strongly, because I know all the accusations people pelt at us are false. I cannot speak for the Trini dj's living in Brooklyn or Toronto, but when it comes to the love and unity for other islands, Trinidad always opens their arms during carnival.

In regards to soca monarch peformances, whoever feels that I am lying, I will gladly forward you the "truth."

Correct...but where did they place him...that is the point !

Should have been in the top 4 spot !
Old 07-14-2005, 12:38 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 686
Originally Posted by 1trini-gyal

U are so right about that and I HATE THAT. I hate it with a passion. That's why soca can always be used as a dividing tool as much as it is a uniting tool. Cuz people put nationality before the music and it's JACKED up. The way I see it, all bands should be able to play in all carnivals.

Personally, I think the biggest thing to blame for that is soca being so seasonal . So then, when carnival season comes around, naturally, u are gonna wanna push ur own artists in that time because there is such a limited time to do it in. If soca was a year round thing, all that would matter is who came out with the best hits because all artists would have as much time as they want to produce hits.
Old 07-14-2005, 01:10 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,895
I think it's the places that people placed in the past being the reason for lack of strong competitors from say Antigua, Bim, etc...I think from the places that they were placed before, that was reason for them to feel they aren't judged fairly. I think if you are to have an int'l competition, don't hold it at the same time as your country's carnival. Obviously the Trini tunes will be "fresh" and the crowd will respond better.
Old 07-14-2005, 01:18 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,700
St. Lucia soca monarch is open to all.. I am not sure of others.. so that blanket statement that no other island does it is wrong.
Old 07-14-2005, 03:15 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socapineman
Correct...but where did they place him...that is the point !

Should have been in the top 4 spot !

A comment was made, unsure if it was you or another imixer, but the person who made the comment fabricated the truth. The comment made was how Trinidadians showed little, or no response to Baby killa and Blackie, due to their birthplace. That statement is 100% false, and I will gladly figure out a way to burn the vhs onto a cd, then transmit it over onto my laptop, to show as proof.
Foreign acts for the most part have always been well recieved. Many of the foreign artists people mentioned have placed higher in the competition then popular local entertainers.
(i.e.) 2004 soca monarch, where Timmy placed higher than both FayAnn and Iwer.
No, I am not saying the competition is flawless, often local artists out of T&T get the short hand of the stick, and are misplaced. But to embellish the situation, and over dramatize what happened to islandmix, for what reason would a person do that, other then to rile people up.
This matter goes beyond soca monarch. Trinidad's carnival for the longest time, attempts to diversify itself by incorporating foreign acts into the fete line up.
Trinidad atleast makes an effort to bridge the cultural gap among each island, and I think it is about time people stop pointing out the negatives, and realize that this is what moves us together as one people.
I love Trinidad carnival, because I know I can hear a plethora of music, ranging from: Krosfyah, Timmy, Sq-1, Burning Flames, Tallpree, Super P, Baby Killa, El al Kru, Da Bhann, Poorsah, Touch, Maddzart, Jamesy P, Beckett, Gabby, TC, Rupee...etc.
I can see them perform in a fete as well as on the road.

If everything I were saying was a lie, then at Soca Monarch, Uwi Splah, and Insomnia, I wouldn't see Grenadian, Lucian, Antiguan, Bajan, Dominican, Vincy, Guyanase, VI, and Jamaican big flags waving in front of the stage, often blocking your view.

Again I will reiterate that this matter is beyond Soca Monarch, it is about the misconceptions people have about the treatment of foreign artists in Trinidad, as well as the airplay of foreign music.

Last edited by deoriginalrudeboy; 07-14-2005 at 03:19 AM..
Old 07-14-2005, 09:51 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 140,809
A comment was made, unsure if it was you or another imixer, but the person who made the comment fabricated the truth. The comment made was how Trinidadians showed little, or no response to Baby killa and Blackie, due to their birthplace. That statement is 100% false, and I will gladly figure out a way to burn the vhs onto a cd, then transmit it over onto my laptop, to show as proof.
Foreign acts for the most part have always been well recieved. Many of the foreign artists people mentioned have placed higher in the competition then popular local entertainers.
No, I am not saying the competition is flawless, often local artists out of T&T get the short hand of the stick, and are misplaced. But to embellish the situation, and over dramatize what happened to islandmix, for what reason would a person do that, other then to rile people up.
This matter goes beyond soca monarch. Trinidad's carnival for the longest time, attempts to diversify itself by incorporating foreign acts into the fete line up.
Trinidad atleast makes an effort to bridge the cultural gap among each island, and I think it is about time people stop pointing out the negatives, and realize that this is what moves us together as one people.
I love Trinidad carnival, because I know I can hear a plethora of music, ranging from: Krosfyah, Timmy, Sq-1, Burning Flames, Tallpree, Super P, Baby Killa, El al Kru, Da Bhann, Poorsah, Touch, Maddzart, Jamesy P, Beckett, Gabby, TC, Rupee...etc.

If everything I were saying was a lie, then at Soca Monarch, Uwi Splah, and Insomnia, I wouldn't see Grenadian, Lucian, Antiguan, Bajan, Dominican, Vincy, Guyanase, VI, and Jamaican big flags waving in front of the stage, often blocking your view.

Again I will reiterate that this matter is beyond Soca Monarch, it is about the misconceptions people have about the treatment of foreign artists in Trinidad, as well as the airplay of foreign music.
Do you think the fact that many CARIBBEAN NATIONALS attend St. Augustine Campus of the Univeristy of the West Indies has something to do with it???
Old 07-14-2005, 10:02 AM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
Do you think the fact that many CARIBBEAN NATIONALS attend St. Augustine Campus of the Univeristy of the West Indies has something to do with it???
It could be, but there is also an influx of flights coming in from our sister islands to the north. I know for a fact, that during carnival time, interisland flights are increased: Liat, Caribbean Star, Bwee, Air Jamaica...etc.
Old 07-14-2005, 10:23 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 34,875

Well I was standing at the front of the stage near right below that Big Antiguan flag . Now Baby Killa & Blackie(Grenadian) didn't not get us much foward as they deserved. The foward you saw was near the front of the stage but not the majority of the stadium.
As far as Jamaica goes a lot of the Trini artist went on stage in UWI,Soca Monarch & Insomnia and never mention JA when they starting calling out Island names. Now Machel,Iwer & Destra(love the pic by the way) did! Rupee did also but I was standing in front of him with my JA flag in his face by the stage at Insomnia (I was also underneath the Big Antiguan flag there as well).
Old 07-14-2005, 10:29 AM   #12 (permalink)
De Cocoyea kid!

Credits: 1,333
I just want to add that Blackie is as Trinidadian as Bake and Shark. People get fooled by his twang in "Ah hook". His "small island accent" in the song was a deliberate attempt to get wider regional appeal. Arguably that was the biggest tune in Trinidad for the season.

Last edited by cuunoos; 07-14-2005 at 10:32 AM..
Old 07-14-2005, 10:32 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 34,875
Originally Posted by cuunoomoonoo
I just want to add that Blackie is as Trinidadian as Bake and Shark. People get fooled by his twang in "Ah hook". His accent in the song was a deliberate attempt to sound "small islandish".
He live's in Trinidad but he is from Greneda . Listen to the sound "I put $5000 in she purse"
Old 07-14-2005, 10:51 AM   #14 (permalink)
De Cocoyea kid!

Credits: 1,333
Originally Posted by Jahpikne
He live's in Trinidad but he is from Greneda . Listen to the sound "I put $5000 in she purse"
You might be right. I was just going by this link
http://www.tntmirror.com/punch/2005/jan23/story06.htm
Old 07-14-2005, 11:03 AM   #15 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Jahpikne
Well I was standing at the front of the stage near right below that Big Antiguan flag . Now Baby Killa & Blackie(Grenadian) didn't not get us much foward as they deserved. The foward you saw was near the front of the stage but not the majority of the stadium.
As far as Jamaica goes a lot of the Trini artist went on stage in UWI,Soca Monarch & Insomnia and never mention JA when they starting calling out Island names. Now Machel,Iwer & Destra(love the pic by the way) did! Rupee did also but I was standing in front of him with my JA flag in his face by the stage at Insomnia (I was also underneath the Big Antiguan flag there as well).
No, the camera spotlighted the whole crowd, from east to west, north to south, and I will gladly show you what I am talking about. If what you were saying was true, I would not have made the effort to dispute what you are saying.
For the most part Jamaica has always got a shout out in Trinidadian fetes. Announcers and artists respond at impulse, and often an island or two will be forgotten, so to nitpick at every time a person can't hear their island's name is small.
Also, only a few select artists in Trinidad have the capability of captivating a venues entirety. Often, I have went to fetes in Trinidad and have seen the popular Trini artists get no feedback from the back, and the fact of the matter is, the majority of response comes from the front and the center.
As for Blackie, not many Trinidadians are/were aware of the fact that he is a born Grenadian, so the excuse of saying he is a Grenadian is illegitimate, that would be like Sparrow crying because he got no response in a fete. His song was one of the top three requested songs for the season. I still can't find any information that says Blackie is a Grenadian btw, all references of his name are drawn back to Trinidad, I am not denying the fact that he is, I am just trying to figure out if it is in fact true, b/c from the time he opened his mouth, I heard a pure Trini accent.
Now as for Baby Killa, yes the crowd displayed little response in the beginning of his set, but by the time he started to wine, while on a handstand, the crowd went wild. I was shocked, b/c people on here neglected to comment on that, but focused mainly towards to beginning of his performance.

We atleast attempt to bridge the gap, and it is not until recently other islands have invited foreignors into their festival. Trinidad for the longest time, was the only nation in the Caribbean that invited other island musicians to have their own trucks carnival Monday and Tuesday.

If people are going to talk about the patriotism of Trinidad, do not neglect to tell the story both sides. What other island had:
Burning Flames, Sq-1, South South West, Krosfyah, Rupee, TC, Tallpree, Xtatik, Atlantik, Traffik, Wanskie, Super P. etc. on the road?

Jahpikne, I am not picking on you if you get that impression, I just want to dispel the misconceptions about Trinidad, and the way how people percieve us.