Old 08-31-2005, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,868
A Touch Of Trini In Antigua's Carnival

Antigua Carnival 2005 -- and TnT song cops Panorama victory
TnT Mirror/Sunday Punch 29.08.2005

ANTIGUA celebrated its 2005 Carnival towards the end of July into the first
week of August. The three high points of Antigua Carnival, Panorama, Party
Monarch and Calypso Monarch all attracted record crowds. This reflected a
strong effort by the organising committee to market the Carnival events
more aggressively. In particular with the pan, there were complaints by
the public, as in Trinidad, that many of the tunes composed with pan in
mind were not well-known.
Discussions were held among interested parties and a plan was put in
place. This led to specific tunes being selected by the panmen. These
tunes were then afforded substantial airplay giving the public a better
appreciation of the arrangers' development of the basic tunes. Six bands
played in the Panorama Finals. Three bands: Cable & Wireless Hell's Gate
Steel Orchestra, WIOC Gemonites Steel Orchestra and Mahico Stars Steel
Orchestra chose Outta Control composed by Len "Boogsie" Sharpe and Alvin
Daniell and sung by "Kia Panman".

Defending champions Caribseas Harmonites Steel Orchestra went for Sweet Pan
sung by Kantu. Popular band AMP Halcyon's Steel Orchestra led by Victor
"Babu" Samuel elected to play Jam de Pan Again composed by Smarty Jr. Road
Rage, the 2004 Road March by the Burning Flames was the interesting choice
of Ebonites Steel Orchestra.
The Panorama featured a strong "Trini" involvement beginning with the trio
of adjudicators from TnT There were many pan players, the largest
contingent coming from Exodus offering their services to Harmonites. The
front line of Halcyon resembled a Phase II line-up and the presence of
"Killer" Samaroo on the drums for Gemonites has become a familiar site in
Antigua.

Added to that, Bertram "Butch" Kellman and Patrick Worrel tuned pans for
some of the bands. The Panorama Finals though affected by incessant rain,
proved to be very exciting. The crowd was also entertained by three "Iron
Bands" that played between the competing bands. At the end, Gemonites
emerged champions with a spirited performance that reflected the theme of
the chosen piece, Outta Control. Last year's champion, Harmonites placed
second and Hell's Gate came in third. The Party Monarch competition has
improved tremendously from former years. The crowd was the largest for the
season and the presence of rags and flags showed that the crowd had come to
participate in this popular event.

There were many fine performances but the pre-favourites did not
disappoint. Defending monarch Mervyn "Sleepy" Edwards showed why he has
copped the title more than any other artiste. He sang Start De Carnival.
He, however, could only muster the second runner-up slot. It was a
ding-dong tossle between Junior "Naycha Kid" Edwards and Claudette "CP"
Peters for the first place. Naycha Kid has one of the most infectious tunes
called Another Man. It is a tune that should do well in Trinidad and is
one to listen out for as our Carnival approaches. He was a strong crowd
favourite but was edged into second place. Claudette "CP" Peters singing a
song composed by Kernel Roberts called All I Know really mashed up the place.

Complete with fireworks and confetti she delivered a grand performance that
had the audience calling for more. Her vocals were clear and strong
reminiscent of TnT's Destra. In fact the casual listener might have thought
it was Destra on stage. CP should do well in TnT for Carnival 2006.The
Calypso Monarch competition was keenly contested.
Defending Monarch Lady Ivena had already topped the females earlier in the
week and was the people's choice.
She was in ripping form especially with her song about the prime minister
visiting Cuba. She asked the question, What did Castro Say? The females
dominated with Lady Falcon coming in at the runner-up position. De Bear, a
regular finalist placed third. Interestingly Eddimelo, who placed fourth,
won the prize for the best social commentary. The tune he sang, Seven Days
of Glory, was composed by Gregory "GB" Ballantyne and that made it three
years straight that this combination has secured that special award. The
Carnival in general was of a high standard with Burning Flames winning the
road march for yet another year. Their big song this year was The Harder
They Come but expect TnT to latch on to Frolic which was dedicated to the
late Onika Bostic.
Old 08-31-2005, 10:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
DJ HOLLYWOOD

Credits: 611
Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA

ANTIGUA celebrated its 2005 Carnival towards the end of July into the first
week of August. The three high points of Antigua Carnival, Panorama, Party
Monarch and Calypso Monarch all attracted record crowds. This reflected a
strong effort by the organising committee to market the Carnival events
more aggressively. In particular with the pan, there were complaints by
the public, as in Trinidad, that many of the tunes composed with pan in
mind were not well-known.
Discussions were held among interested parties and a plan was put in
place. This led to specific tunes being selected by the panmen. These
tunes were then afforded substantial airplay giving the public a better
appreciation of the arrangers' development of the basic tunes. Six bands
played in the Panorama Finals. Three bands: Cable & Wireless Hell's Gate
Steel Orchestra, WIOC Gemonites Steel Orchestra and Mahico Stars Steel
Orchestra chose Outta Control composed by Len "Boogsie" Sharpe and Alvin
Daniell and sung by "Kia Panman".

Defending champions Caribseas Harmonites Steel Orchestra went for Sweet Pan
sung by Kantu. Popular band AMP Halcyon's Steel Orchestra led by Victor
"Babu" Samuel elected to play Jam de Pan Again composed by Smarty Jr. Road
Rage, the 2004 Road March by the Burning Flames was the interesting choice
of Ebonites Steel Orchestra.
Antigua.

Added to that, Bertram "Butch" Kellman and Patrick Worrel tuned pans for
some of the bands. The Panorama Finals though affected by incessant rain,
proved to be very exciting. The crowd was also entertained by three "Iron
Bands" that played between the competing bands. At the end, Gemonites
emerged champions with a spirited performance that reflected the theme of
the chosen piece, Outta Control. Last year's champion, Harmonites placed
second and Hell's Gate came in third. The Party Monarch competition has
improved tremendously from former years. The crowd was the largest for the
season and the presence of rags and flags showed that the crowd had come to
participate in this popular event.

There were many fine performances but the pre-favourites did not
disappoint. Defending monarch Mervyn "Sleepy" Edwards showed why he has
copped the title more than any other artiste. He sang Start De Carnival.
He, however, could only muster the second runner-up slot. It was a

it was Destra on stage. CP should do well in TnT for Carnival 2006.The
Calypso Monarch competition was keenly contested.
Defending Monarch Lady Ivena had already topped the females earlier in the
week and was the people's choice.
She was in ripping form especially with her song about the prime minister
visiting Cuba. She asked the question, What did Castro Say? The females
dominated with Lady Falcon coming in at the runner-up position. De Bear, a
regular finalist placed third. Interestingly Eddimelo, who placed fourth,
won the prize for the best social commentary. The tune he sang, Seven Days
of Glory, was composed by Gregory "GB" Ballantyne and that made it three
years straight that this combination has secured that special award. The
Carnival in general was of a high standard with Burning Flames winning the
road march for yet another year. Their big song this year was The Harder
They Come but expect TnT to latch on to Frolic which was dedicated to the
late Onika Bostic.
I wont be surprised if she do well in trinidad. That song is there style of music. "Another Man" could do well out there, and "Frolic" could do some things but actually a friend of mine told me "Harder Deh Come" was getting some heavy spins in a trini party the other day. Just the hook from that song alone is sick. I wouldnt sleep on that tune.
Old 08-31-2005, 10:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Spitfire

Credits: 244

Antigua.
There was also "Trini" involvement in mas...with Xplosions Mas Troupe to be more specific. I would prefer that Wadadli's carnival be completely cultivated by their own however, it won't always be feasable. For example, there was extensive discussion of having reps from the other neighboring islands, to be adjudicators some of the other carnival competitions. This is to hopefully elevate much of the controversy and discrepancy surrounding the results in the competions i.e. This years Party & Calypso Monarch shows. I don't really have a problem with non Antiguans having involvement in our Carnival to an extent. I think it gives others first hand exposure to what our festival has to offer.

The Party Monarch competition has
improved tremendously from former years. It was a

it was Destra on stage. CP should do well in TnT for Carnival 2006.
The
Carnival in general was of a high standard with Burning Flames winning the road march for yet another year. Their big song this year was The Harder
They Come but expect TnT to latch on to Frolic which was dedicated to the late Onika Bostic

Well...I don't know how CP's vocals could be mistaken for Destra's. Now upon my first listen, I mentioned I found the tune to be "Destra rip-offish"/Trini in terms of the arrangement/production. Although, Destra sings clearly...I don't believe her voice is anywhere near the strength of CP's. As a matter of fact CP's hardcore vibrato is all over the song making it clear (to me)...it aint Destra. Anyway..based on the tune resembling material Destra does..I agree, in that CP's song should cross over well in TNT for thier carnival. Now..as for "Frolic"... very nice tune. However, it seems the reporter is suggesting that it is the only BF tune that will get recognized in TNT...I am not, and will not be suprised by this come carnival 2K6.

Vincy thanks fuh de article
Old 09-01-2005, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,084
Originally Posted by LolaMs

Well...I don't know how CP's vocals could be mistaken for Destra's. Now upon my first listen, I mentioned I found the tune to be "Destra rip-offish"/Trini in terms of the arrangement/production. Although, Destra sings clearly...I don't believe her voice is anywhere near the strength of CP's. As a matter of fact CP's hardcore vibrato is all over the song making it clear (to me)...it aint Destra.

wheeew.... finally.
Old 09-01-2005, 09:29 AM   #5 (permalink)
Home

Credits: 2,021
There was also "Trini" involvement in mas...with Xplosions Mas Troupe to be more specific. I would prefer that Wadadli's carnival be completely cultivated by their own however, it won't always be feasable. For example, there was extensive discussion of having reps from the other neighboring islands, to be adjudicators some of the other carnival competitions. This is to hopefully elevate much of the controversy and discrepancy surrounding the results in the competions i.e. This years Party & Calypso Monarch shows. I don't really have a problem with non Antiguans having involvement in our Carnival to an extent. I think it gives others first hand exposure to what our festival has to offer.

Well...I don't know how CP's vocals could be mistaken for Destra's. Now upon my first listen, I mentioned I found the tune to be "Destra rip-offish"/Trini in terms of the arrangement/production. Although, Destra sings clearly...I don't believe her voice is anywhere near the strength of CP's. As a matter of fact CP's hardcore vibrato is all over the song making it clear (to me)...it aint Destra. Anyway..based on the tune resembling material Destra does..I agree, in that CP's song should cross over well in TNT for thier carnival. Now..as for "Frolic"... very nice tune. However, it seems the reporter is suggesting that it is the only BF tune that will get recognized in TNT...I am not, and will not be suprised by this come carnival 2K6.
co-signs....
as for rest of vincy article,..................
dem always say garrat nuff and edge up
Old 09-01-2005, 10:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Spitfire

Originally Posted by yanktiguan
wheeew.... finally.

me nah evin badda
Old 09-01-2005, 10:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lucy-furrr

Credits: 1,084

me nah evin badda

good.

me tell u lang time: de oman is a diva, unlike de comparison.
Old 09-01-2005, 10:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
Spitfire

Originally Posted by yanktiguan
good.

me tell u lang time: de oman is a diva, unlike de comparison.

Yuh eva see kweschan shi singin' an prehfarmance...meh dun knoh?? Plus..."live" tell de whole story...CP wicked