Old 08-13-2004, 01:51 PM   #76 (permalink)

Credits: 1,274
Originally Posted by Pebbles362436
Does that feel better now Now you need to return the favor. :p
aaaaaaaahhh.

K...where shall I start?
Old 08-13-2004, 01:54 PM   #77 (permalink)

Credits: 1,274
Originally Posted by Solidarity
uummm... :devil
man take ah small break and get bump from he chair oui...

Pineman, please don't muck up a perfectly dysfunctional thread with your logical rantings...thanks.
Old 08-13-2004, 02:16 PM   #78 (permalink)
Solidarity

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
Old 08-13-2004, 02:54 PM   #79 (permalink)

Credits: 7,920
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
Hey you missed a spot. :devil Yep Solid been sleeping on his job and not cracking the whip around here. So it looks like we have a new king in the making.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 08-13-2004 at 07:41 PM..
Old 08-13-2004, 07:10 PM   #80 (permalink)
Solidarity

Originally Posted by Pebbles362436
...Yep Solid been sleeping on his job and not cracking the whip around here. So it looks like we have a new king in the making.
de i ungle like whips when consentual sex is involved and since de monarchy ting nuh mek it fih mih, ah could nevah be de king of anyting.
Old 08-13-2004, 07:49 PM   #81 (permalink)

Credits: 7,920
Originally Posted by Solidarity
de i ungle like whips when consentual sex is involved and since de monarchy ting nuh mek it fih mih, ah could nevah be de king of anyting.
You and I already had this discussion about this passive role that you like take on sometimes. It's all good however some women like to have men they can control with a whip.
Old 08-14-2004, 02:20 AM   #82 (permalink)

Credits: 1,571
Originally Posted by socapineman
Small Island Descent:

You Win...

You have some issues...I have no idea what it is.

BTW, no I do not wish to hear about how Great Antigua is...If it is Great or the music is Great....it will speak for itself !

Enough of the b.s.

On a musical note...like I stated I don't look where the music is coming from...so I am going to give you a chance to Big-up your country men...I might be missing out on something,

please direct me to A/V room where I can hear a big tune from Antigua...where I can say..".Mr..You got it !" this is up there with the Topof Top for 2004, if its not there, then direct me to link, or give song name and artist...I will go and buy it .

Socapineman

The Jamaican ambassador of Soca Music

Okay, now I am insecure, LOL. U know what man. I respect u as a person, I respect the fact that u came up with this topic cuz it is a good topic and I respect ur taste in soca because the songs u called out are very good songs. What I do not respect are ur personal attacks on me. We are discussing a topic. I disagree about something u said about the topic, not something about u. Why must u insult me personally in a discussion u started ? I have yet to say anything disrespectful like that about u or ur taste

Originally Posted by small_island_descent
U like trini songs, cool , maybe u prefer the trini style more than the styles of other islands, that's cool too.
Regardless, nuff respect for the topic, I haven't had to make this hard of a decision in a while.
I have no problem with ur favorite songs, regardless of where they are from
Socapineman, u know what, I don't think u have something against Antiguans or any other island for that matter, I honestly don't.
I respect ur topic, I have nothing against anything else u said but that.

I don't see the problem with u having 3 top trini songs as ur favorite, personally, I don't care. I have Trini songs in my top favorite too. There is nothing wrong with that.

Anyway, I see u saying u meant it more as a question, not as a statement against Antigua bands so I done with this, no harm done. Back to our favorite soca songs.
If anything, I keep telling ur I respect ur taste and all but I don't agree with the statement u said. Nothing to do with ur person, just ur statement. At least, I should get the same respect back to not have u insult my character in a discussion where I have not insulted urs, it's just common decency.

As far as finding good Antigua songs:

Burning Flames : Devilish, Road Rage, Kindergarden, Breakaway, Lemme See Yuh, Jam Session, Weah de Water, Tattoo, Dance with Me, All is Yours and Octane Boost

Onyan : Dance as u like, Vini Dance avec moi, With or Without u, and Do it Me

El A Kru: Go and Bay Blade and the One

Waskie Baton: Some people like "Burn Dat" I don't like it that much, I like "Wa Mek" better but listen to both if u want.

There are many more tunes out there from Antigua but these the only tunes in the A/V room so check them out. If u still don't like them, that is cool too. Just ur taste, no problem with that at all.

Lastly, let's call an end to this, we hear to talk about soca, so let's get on with it cuz this personal nonsense can go on till kingdom come. I am free to disagree with u as u are with me but no personal comments. TRUCE
Old 08-14-2004, 02:34 AM   #83 (permalink)

Credits: 1,571
Originally Posted by socapineman
[SIZE=3]But in order for Soca music to ascend to higher highs...the soca industry needs to " let go " of the "seasonal mentality," What do I mean ! well, you see the pinnacle of Soca music is T&T carnival( some might want to debate that), then on to other Islands carnival us a Antigua, Jamaica, Aruba, Barbados...etc...therefore the local artists of each of these countries usually release their new stuffs prior to their carnival...So, after the Peak...comes the lows...then Soca is place on the back burner in each of these countries...You see unlike Soca, reggae don't have that build-up...the Jamaicans drop nuff songs weekly. So, in order for the Soca Industry to step up, they need to address that issue of seasonally.
Okay, here's something I agree with u on. Soca is WAY too seasonal. I guess it's cuz of Carnival culture and people thinking that soca music is strictly for Carnival time. Kind of like how they look at Christmas carols as only for Christmas. I can understand that to a point but at the same time, music is an art form. Art has no season. Art is based on the work and creativity put in by the artist so soca being an art can be produced at any time depending on how much work the artists put into it. I mean sure, Carnival is gonna be there biggest time for them, true. But it's the same way as Reggae Sunfest (I think that's what it's called, if not, correct me) in Jamaica being the best time for reggae artists in Jamaica to show off their songs does not stop reggae artists from making music all year round. It shouldn't stop us either.
Old 08-14-2004, 03:40 PM   #84 (permalink)

Credits: 220
It should be all the music,but some of you guys are making it too personal. .

Originally Posted by Nah Lot AH Long Talk
let me get my 2 cents into this very touchy subject.

Crazyness ( nah I dont think so - Sometimes I does wonder if some of these songs that we hear, if they weren't done by popular artist such as machel if we would even listen to them. i'bet if an unknown artist did crazyness, it would not have gotten that much air play. Look de band coming is by far a much better song. Melody, Harmonies, total arrangement. listen to the changes in the drum patterns. It seem as though some ah wanna does only hear bup bup bup and dah good fah wanna.

Celebrate yes I would say so. Destra is simply incredible. the concept of the song and the arrangements are great. That definitely get my vote. some songs does get stuff down yah troat so much that yah aint got no choice but to Rashole like dem.

In all fairness to the other islands I'm still listening to music from Bim,Grenada,St Lucia,St Vincent,Antigua, Hey de year aint done yet for me to make a full accessment.

Labor Day yah gine hear music. Den I gine to Miami. Maybe I'll hear music from other islands cause to me it seem as though de market flooded wid Trini Dj's and a lot ah dem Bias as rashole!!!
Talking bout them spreading de music. That is Bare shite dem spreading wah de Fack dem want to spread. Some ah dem is bandwagon dj's. If a Dj in N.Y. playing a song Dey does jump on to dat song wid out even exploring de entire album.. Dah got some ah dem station Go@# Blind Ma dat does play de same songs 100 times within a hour. Any how before I get More Vex, Go BLind Ma , I done Talk!!!! I gine fah ah drink

You seem to be a very angry person, and you are directing that anger against Trinidadians. But let me have you know that if was not for Trinidad, all of the soca music from all of the different Islands would not be where they are at today. We are the leaders in the soca industry like it or not. I have alot of respect for all of the caribbean Islands and their different styles of soca music. But remember while we are alot alike in our culture,we are still very different in our style of music.I love music, all types of music, especially soca music, and still sometimes I hear music from Trinidad, or any of the other Islands and I may not really like the song, the music,or the lyrics.But, that has nothing to do with the artist,or the Island where they are from. So let's stop attacking each other,and support each other's music and culture, because it really does not really matter which Island we are from. Let us repect each other's opinion don't what the topic we are discussing. Peace, love and respect every time. One Caribbean, One Love. Socatee

Last edited by socatee; 08-14-2004 at 04:29 PM..
Old 08-14-2004, 04:35 PM   #85 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Originally Posted by socatee
You seem to be a very angry person, and you are directing that anger against Trinidadians. But let me have you know that if was not for Trinidad, all of the soca music from all of the different Islands would not be where they are at today. We are the leaders in the soca industry like it or not. I have alot of respect for all of the caribbean Islands and their different styles of soca music. But remember while we are alot alike in our culture,we are still very different in our style of music.I love music, all types of music, especially soca music, and still sometimes I hear music from Trinidad, or any of the other Islands and I may not really like the song, the music,or the lyrics.But, that has nothing to do with the artist,or the Island where they are from. So let's stop attacking each other,and support each other's music and culture, because it really does not really matter which Island we are from. Let us repect each other's opinion don't what the topic we are discussing. Peace, love and respect every time. One Caribbean, One Love. Socatee
wow. you contradicted yourself.... fix that up a lil bit.. de fella dat invent de light bulb didnt die in vain saying.. "I HOPE NO ONE ELSE USES THIS.... CAUSE IF IT WASNT FOR ME WE'D WOULDNT HAVE THIS "
Old 08-14-2004, 05:17 PM   #86 (permalink)

There would be no light without the light bulb

Even though we may have power from the electricity, we still would not actually have electrical lighting without the bulb. So what is your point? Here is my point, we introduced the calypso to the world, and even made it better with the creation of the sweet soca music. Then the rest of the caribbean Islands took it and made their own brand of soca music. I am only telling it like it is. Within the last five to ten years, some of the other Islands have really made their mark in the calypso,and soca industry. Trinidadians have been doing calypso and soca music since our forefathers came off the boat from Africa okay. So what's your point?
Old 08-14-2004, 05:51 PM   #87 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

Even though we may have power from the electricity, we still would not actually have electrical lighting without the bulb. So what is your point? Here is my point, we introduced the calypso to the world, and even made it better with the creation of the sweet soca music. Then the rest of the caribbean Islands took it and made their own brand of soca music. I am only telling it like it is. Within the last five to ten years, some of the other Islands have really made their mark in the calypso,and soca industry. Trinidadians have been doing calypso and soca music since our forefathers came off the boat from Africa okay. So what's your point?
i dont get it.. you want a cookie? and oreo? you like a sugar cone with that? so every artist that make a soca or calypso song should suck off a trini for introducing calypso to the world? i got some rasshole news for you.. ANY MUSIC COMING FROM THE REGION WOULD FALL INTO THAT CATEGORY,, guilty by affiliation thats how the genre varied. a bajan coulda play he singing pop and dem still woulda called it calypso
Old 08-14-2004, 06:16 PM   #88 (permalink)

Yeah,I know you don't get it, and you never will

You did'nt get it, and you will never get it, its a Trini ting you will never understand. Jealousy will get you nowhere, but humility will get you everywhere. Peace be with you. Socatee
Old 08-14-2004, 07:06 PM   #89 (permalink)
MrBlackRock

You did'nt get it, and you will never get it, its a Trini ting you will never understand. Jealousy will get you nowhere, but humility will get you everywhere. Peace be with you. Socatee
now i am jealous?
bawwwwwwwwwwwwwhahahaahhahahahha
bawhahahahhaahhaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

wuhlordddddddddddddddddddddddddddd

bawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

i'm jealous because i can't be rocking the red black and white? look i gine and play a machel song now, do i have your permission to listen to it, oh great trini ambassador, OVERLORD ALMIGHTY OF SOCA AND CALYPSO? you could be sandwich meat between halle berry and that chick with the fat ass from the outkast video and i still wouldn't trade the blue yellow and black.... you insecure perpetrator of ignorance,, if i was a trini i would ashamed of buh-cuunts like you.. you jus proving a point that as west indians "ALL AH WE, "ISNT" ALL AH WE" i talking to an idiot ,i'd rather wipe my ass with toilet paper filled with staples first.