JA Soca Ambassador
Credits: 7,363
Top 3 Soca Songs For 2004
Now that the majority of Soca songs are out...
Which songs are the top three : Hands down...I have to go with these... 1 Machel Montano - Craziness 2 Destra Garcia - In De Air 3 Destra Garcia - Celebrate |
soca revolutionary
Credits: 2,708
Thats A Very Sujective Question And Should Be Asked Differently...
Thats The Top 3 Trinidad Soca Songs Of 2004.... Im Sure The People From Barbados, Antigua, St, Vincent The V.i.and Grenada Will Have A Much Different Opinion??? "debble Music" From The Burning Flames Is Deffintly On My Top 3 List...so Is "soldier" From Jam Band!!!
Credits: 140,978
Nookie - Jamesy P. The wickedest and heaviest riddim for 2004.
I Am Soca HS Phaktor feat Bomani. This will be a classic in due time. Cutey. As Ice said, wickedddddddddddddddddddd Booty Call - HS Phaktor feat. Bomani. Cutey and Booty Call are tied for third. Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 08-11-2004 at 09:03 PM.. |
JA Soca Ambassador
Credits: 7,363
Get It Straight Stargate !
Stargate;
That is one of , if the the most foolish response First, I am not from Trini or any of the other Islands you mention. Next, if you are so bias to pick a song,,,base solely on the fact you you are from that Island.,..then that person is a fool also. Clearly, this thread is about " your " Top Three, Prior to last year, Barbados and most of the other small Island were crushing the Trinis... but, they re-group. Hands down...I want you to be honest with yourself... give me three songs that are better than those that I mention. Folks this is nothing about which Island is better...it all about the music....get it straight....you can wave your colors or your county flag on Labor Day ! |
30 Never looked this good
Credits: 17,435
1. Destra - Bonnie & Clyde (Celebrate) 2. Bunji & Lil Bits - Carnival Country |
Bunji garlin warrior cry
Benjai-Babylon Burn 3suns possibility |
soca revolutionary
Credits: 2,708
FOOLISH??? LOOK..YOUNG PERSON....I'M NOT INTO THE WHOLE PATRIOTIC THING AS FAR AS REPRESENTING MY COUNTRY WID A SPECIFIC FLAG WAVING...I JUST CARE ABOUT GOOD SOCA MUSIC...A COULD CARE LESS ABOUT WHAT AND WHAT NOT FLAG IS BEING WAVED BY ANYONE.... THE FACT REMAINS THAT ALL 3 TUNES YOU MENTIONED WERE TRINIDAD SONGS!!! THATS A FACT ITS RIGHT THERE IN BLACK AND WHITE...TO SAY OUT OF THE THOUSANDS OAND THOUSANDS OF SONGS THAT HAVE BEEN RELEASED THIS YEAR FROM ALL THE VARIOUS ISLANDS THAT THE BEST 3 ARE ALL TRINIDAD TUNES IS UNREALISTIC AND MOST ILLOGICAL...IT IS ONLY LOGICAL IF YOUR QUESTION IS SPECIFICLY REFERING TO TRINIDAD..WHICH IT ISNT. SO FOR YOU TO SAY THAT MY RESPONSE IS AND I QUOTE "ONE OF THE MOST FOOLISH RESPONSES" IS QUITE IGNORANT ON YOUR PART. AGAIN I SAY YOUR QUESTION IS SUBJECTIVE...UNLESS YOU ARE SPECIFICALLY REFERING TO TRINIDAD..YES THOSE TUNES ARE THE BEST FOR 2004. BUT IF YOU REFERING TO THE WHOLE CARIBBEAN...PLEASE BE REALISTIC NOW!!!!
Credits: 18,408
The first two songs are so ordinary,but I might need to hear them though better speakers and not my computer. You say I AM SOCA will be a classic one day..hmmmm? I know Shadow did A song with a similar theme and that was 100% better. I love the last two songs though esp. cutey. Good luck with your promotions |
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)
Credits: 60,870
1. I m soca HS Phaktor
2. Celebrate 3. i haven't heard anything else from otehr islands as yet for me to cry about so for now if i hear those two in a fete ah happy. :) |
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)
Credits: 60,870
Dev i love the songs you chose, but i honestly don't feel I M soca is ordinary, the song is very hypnotizing I would love to see it as a classic but only time will tell. |
Credits: 688
Top three...hhhhmmmm, that's tough.
DAMN, it really is. U know what though, 2004 ain't over yet and there are still more carnivals and more music to come out, I still haven't heard what Grenada has this year, or St. Kitts carnival. As for right now, I would say 1) Debblilish by the Flames (DAMN, what a hype song) 2) Craziness by Machel (One of Machel best songs as far as I concerned) 3) Tie between "Breakaway" by the Flames (Onika holding it down and the beat is madness) and "Who am I" by Bomani (Lyrics, beat, everything about this song says classic) U sure I can only name 3 ??? Last edited by small_island_descent; 08-11-2004 at 11:56 PM.. |
straight to de point !!!
Credits: 126
let me get my 2 cents into this very touchy subject.
Crazyness ( nah I dont think so - Sometimes I does wonder if some of these songs that we hear, if they weren't done by popular artist such as machel if we would even listen to them. i'bet if an unknown artist did crazyness, it would not have gotten that much air play. Look de band coming is by far a much better song. Melody, Harmonies, total arrangement. listen to the changes in the drum patterns. It seem as though some ah wanna does only hear bup bup bup and dah good fah wanna. Celebrate yes I would say so. Destra is simply incredible. the concept of the song and the arrangements are great. That definitely get my vote. some songs does get stuff down yah troat so much that yah aint got no choice but to Rashole like dem. In all fairness to the other islands I'm still listening to music from Bim,Grenada,St Lucia,St Vincent,Antigua, Hey de year aint done yet for me to make a full accessment. Labor Day yah gine hear music. Den I gine to Miami. Maybe I'll hear music from other islands cause to me it seem as though de market flooded wid Trini Dj's and a lot ah dem Bias as rashole!!! Talking bout them spreading de music. That is Bare shite dem spreading wah de Fack dem want to spread. Some ah dem is bandwagon dj's. If a Dj in N.Y. playing a song Dey does jump on to dat song wid out even exploring de entire album.. Dah got some ah dem station Go@# Blind Ma dat does play de same songs 100 times within a hour. Any how before I get More Vex, Go BLind Ma , I done Talk!!!! I gine fah ah drink ![]() |
Credits: 2,915
Too much islands to determine a top 3. I just know if I chose a top 10, it certainly wouldn't be from one place.
SVG/BIM
Credits: 46
My Top 3
Bowmani - I Am Soca
Lil' Rick - It Can't Dun So Destra Garcia - celebrate |