islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree5Likes

Old 02-21-2012, 12:50 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 41,209
Too many regional carnivals harming Port of Spain

whats the need for carnival in Arima, Chaguanas and all ova.

basically they should have only P.O.S, Scarborough and Sando and then P.OS would have bigger number of peeps.
Old 02-21-2012, 12:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered Member

Credits: 576,025
Dude, this is a Soca forum.

The CARNIVAL FORUM is DOWN the ROAD.
tikreyol likes this.
Old 02-21-2012, 12:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
Originally Posted by SWAGGERIFIC View Post

basically they should have only P.O.S, Scarborough and Sando and then P.OS would have bigger number of peeps.
That will be too much people in P.O.S. sah!!

I say it’s great as it currently is! In fact any other region who wish to have their own Carnival celebrations should be allowed to provided they can get the support and funding to have it!

Nothing wrong with that!!

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-21-2012, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Socapro View Post
That will be too much people in P.O.S. sah!!

I say it’s great as it currently is! In fact any other region who wish to have their own Carnival celebrations should be allowed to provided they can get the support and funding to have it!

Nothing wrong with that!!
I say P.O.S use to be more crowded and hype
Old 02-21-2012, 12:59 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 555,287
I guess they should only have memorial day events and remembrances in washington dc not any other state EVER.

Its for the nation to celebrate some ppl wanna stay whe dey deh and have no desire for POS. and even if they implement dat will not go to POS
TriniTrini likes this.

Old 02-21-2012, 01:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Unique woman

Credits: 126,440

What do you mean what is the need for Carnival in Arima, Chaguanas and all over?

Why should it just have mas in POS, Scarborough, and Sando only?

And why did you create the thread in Soca Chat?

When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou)

Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.

Old 02-21-2012, 01:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Credits: 1,012,907
I see no issue with having regional carnivals. Isn't that the tradition anyway?

I got the sweetest love...can't nothing beat it...there ain't nothing sweeter...

Old 02-21-2012, 01:38 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mrs. Vega View Post
I see no issue with having regional carnivals. Isn't that the tradition anyway?
it got too decentralized
Old 02-21-2012, 01:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Unique woman

Ah hem? Did you see my questions?
I would love to see where you are coming from

Old 02-21-2012, 01:44 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
What do you mean what is the need for Carnival in Arima, Chaguanas and all over?

Why should it just have mas in POS, Scarborough, and Sando only?

And why did you create the thread in Soca Chat?
meaning Trinidad too small to be having carnival all ova so

it should be in the three main city centres

cuz I feel to put it in Soca chat..

Carnival now in the savannah is a shadow of its former self...Carnival in the savannah in the 90's was people upon people

check this vid at 0.06
Old 02-21-2012, 01:50 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 399,777
Dude, this is a Soca forum.

The CARNIVAL FORUM is DOWN the ROAD.
THE GREATEST SHOW ON EARTH, BRAZIL'S CARNiVAL
Mrs. Vega and TriniTrini like this.
Old 02-21-2012, 02:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
Unique woman

meaning Trinidad too small to be having carnival all ova so

it should be in the three main city centres
For various reasons your idea currently won't work for the natives of Trinidad and Tobago. Many years ago it did not work too.

1) Residents of some regions will never go to Port of Spain or San Fernando because for one or more of the below reasons:
a) Too far
b) They want to enjoy themselves local
c) Current crime situation is a deterrent
d) They like to stick to their area

2) Most band leaders who design in their region do not wish to travel all the way to Port of Spain or Sando. This due to travel time and it will very hard to compete with the Mas Powerhouses

3) Region Carnival Season often cater to the culture of the region and patrons enjoy their local artists, mas, etc.

4) Couva mas leaders have a chance to present in Couva, Carapichaima, and Chaguanas. Monday and Tuesday everyone is in full costume.

cuz I feel to put it in Soca chat..
Respect lol

Carnival now in the savannah is a shadow of its former self...Carnival in the savannah in the 90's was people upon people

check this vid at 0.06
It is a shadow of it's former self due to multiple reasons.

Nice video and where you pointed out

My parents used to take us to Port of Spain a lot growing up. That is partially why I love mas in POS a lot but I don't mind liming in the other regions sometimes.

Old 02-22-2012, 06:46 AM   #13 (permalink)
Unique woman

Check this article out:

Spectators scarce in San Fernando
By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Feb 21, 2012 at 11:51 PM ECT

Story Updated: Feb 21, 2012 at 11:51 PM ECT

THOUSANDS of south masqueraders feted on the streets of San Fernando, yesterday but there were only a small number of spectators to see the spectacle of bikini and beads.

In what was the 93rd celebration of Carnival in San Fernando, vendors complained that they were not getting the amount of sales they anticipated.

Some said the audience may have gone to Port of Spain.

Even the judges complained of showing up at their various judging points at 9 a.m. but having to wait several hours before the bands arrived.

And when they finally did, the flow was not constant.

Shortly before 11 a.m., the first band and five-time winner of the large band of the year South title Ivan Kalicharan jumped on the "stage" at High Street.

The 1,000-plus masqueraders portrayed We Going Carnival from the seven sections of the band—Spain, Italy, England, New Orleans, Brazil, France and Trinidad and Tobago.

Led by reigning Carnival Queen in San Fernando Gloria Dallsingh, they raised their flags and danced to Machel Montano's winning Soca Monarch tune "Pump Yuh Flag".

It took some time before medium band The Nation's People graced the stage. And it took a long while before the next band passed by.

At Independence Avenue, another large band Lionel Jagessar and Associates was getting ready to face the judges with its portrayal of Festival of the Nations. where San Fernando Mayor Marlene Coudray was taking in the festivities.

One of the large bands last year, the Owen C Hinds Foundation opted to participate in the medium band category this year because only 400 persons paid to play in that band as compared to last year's 2,500.

Band member Wilson Cadet said this band launched late but still was able to get masqueraders to play in the eight sections of the band with its main portrayal entitled " Hats off to Owen C. Hinds"—a tribute to the band's founder who died in November 2010.

Cadet who has been playing mas for 36 years, said he was disappointed with the quality of mas over the years, and it appeared many were not interested.

There were 15 bands scheduled to participate including the House of White Cloud, Southern Mas Associates, House of Gray Eagle Ltd, D Jammerz International, Pan Mas Traditions, Sports for Life, Tribal Fantasy of the Red Pass, Northern Worshippers and Mas in yuh Mas Production.

And Indians of all sorts were a main attraction. Minister of Arts and Multiculturalism Winston "Gypsy" Peters and Police Commissioner Dwayne Gibbs were expected to attend the celebrations.

Old 02-22-2012, 09:05 AM   #14 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,127
That's not a good sign! :-(

Next year if I go home for Carnival I'm going to San Fernando Carnival on either Monday or Tuesday or both days to support Mas in my home town!
TriniTrini likes this.

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-22-2012, 09:13 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 41,245
This is something I have seen happen in Grenada people was vex but when they check the crime rate around that time went down drunk driving went down. When I was small and would go in town for jouvert you know how hard it was to get ride to go back in country

Greenz till I die ( Pantonic panorama 2011 for me )