Old 02-12-2007, 12:08 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 47
Tired of Most Soca Artist performance Especialy Machel!

Why is that Soca is the only Genre that feels they have to change their performances, and music to suit americans? Im tired of this shTT! Everytime I see Xtatik performe they singing lean back,camillion,Bob Marley,and other reggea hits?You ever see a Reggae artist singin soca? Or a rap artist singing country? Keep it real! Its like they just screwing themselves over. Imagin a soca artist on stage singing and adding a rap song in his/hers performance at the grammys?
Old 02-12-2007, 12:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,305
So when you see Machel you should let him know how you feel why you telling us!
Old 02-12-2007, 12:32 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 24,371
Originally Posted by frontline View Post
Why is that Soca is the only Genre that feels they have to change their performances, and music to suit americans? Im tired of this shTT! Everytime I see Xtatik performe they singing lean back,camillion,Bob Marley,and other reggea hits?You ever see a Reggae artist singin soca? Or a rap artist singing country? Keep it real! Its like they just screwing themselves over. Imagin a soca artist on stage singing and adding a rap song in his/hers performance at the grammys?
hip hop samples reggae, reggae samples hip hop also
Old 02-12-2007, 12:36 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
Im telling you and others to see if its just me. If anyone agrees or disagrees.If I feel theres something is killing the music Why cant i speak of it on this forum. Whats your beef?
Old 02-12-2007, 12:44 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Oneshot View Post
hip hop samples reggae, reggae samples hip hop also
Theres a difference between collaborating with another artist from a differnt genre and singing a song from another genre on stage so you wont seem too caribbean!
Old 02-12-2007, 12:49 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 140,834
It is PERFECTLY SIMPLE, WINER BOY doesn't possess the KIND of SONGS that have LONGEVITY or SUBSTANCE because his so-called BIG HITS are for the CARNIVAL season.

In other words, his songs are basically for FETES, therefore he has no CHOICE but to add reggae, hip hop and whatever else to his STAGE show.

One of the BIGGEST MISTAKES or GLARING MISTAKES that WINER BOY has made over the YEARS is these so-called NEW CONCEPTS he comes up with every year.

SHORT TERM, it might be a GOOD IDEA, but LONG TURN it HAMPERS his DEVELOPMENT as a TRUE ARTIST.

These CONCEPTS are just COSMETIC DRESSING to make it LQQK like he has some how DEVELOPED as an ARTIST, but he has not.

His CONCEPTS are basically to ENHANCE him and his BAND'S SHOWMANSHIP on STAGE....nothing less or nothing more.

When you look at his CATALOG of MUSIC, WINER BOY probably has about a HANDFUL of songs that the WIDER WORLD would even take time out to LISTEN to....and I am being GRACIOUS here.

And I am sure that he knows this....this is why you're now SEEING him going in a DIFFERENT DIRECTION with his MUSIC.

Yes, the CARNIVAL chunes are still there....but you can see that he has MADE the EFFORT to IMPROVE on his ABILITY to EXPAND his MUSIC to a WIDER audience.

So yes, RIGHT about now, WINER BOY needs to play the REGGAE n the HIP HOP chunes to BALANCE out his CARNIVAL/FETE chunes.

Ohhhhhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhhh

PS: DOH CONCENTRATE on the MESSENGER....DEAL with the MESSAGE instead.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 02-12-2007 at 01:23 AM..
Old 02-12-2007, 01:00 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 142
Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
This same very comment is gonna come back an bite nuff ah wunna...
Old 02-12-2007, 01:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

Credits: 2,634
u should go to MSG so this time u could see him perform them live in HD
Old 02-12-2007, 01:16 AM   #9 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Im telling you and others to see if its just me. If anyone agrees or disagrees.If I feel theres something is killing the music Why cant i speak of it on this forum. Whats your beef?

No beef here.... you can rant all you want !

But, don't you think Machel and other artistes are the best person to ask your question to ?

VP assessment was right on point, if you don't have the material in a non-carnival setting and you lack the big non-carnivals tunes, how do you make it interesting ....you incorporate other genres of music !

Again, if you don't like that he's incorporating reggae or rap, etc into his act, why are you going or supporting him ?

Again you and others, all due respect, feel that you need to keep this " We Ting " in the family, that is cool, but until I see the Bajan artist, Vincy artistes, etc. beefing about this issue, then I think you need to reassess who you are gearing these baseless questions to, again, i feel you should direct these questions to Marchel and other artistes .
Old 02-12-2007, 01:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Originally Posted by G.W.E.K View Post
This same very comment is gonna come back an bite nuff ah wunna...
Come again...what ?
Old 02-12-2007, 01:36 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,900
For as long as I've been seeing Machel perform, he's always added something that was hip hop or reggae to parts of his routine. While I don't think it's necessary, I think it's a part of what he enjoys doing & I can't fault him for it. What I don't like is that those moments have increased over the years. A small addition of a dance is one thing, or adding a small bit & making a medley is ok, but increasing the length and practically performing more of those songs when your set is limited is annoying. He has a lot of material where it isn't needed.

There are places where you want some type of familiarity if your crowd isn't a soca crowd. That is understood. I've seen Rupee & Alison sing a slower set for what was supposed to be a very mixed crowd (and not really west indian). If Machel is doing his AC concert & his performance is for say a couple hours, people are probably expecting to have some diversity shown. But if he's on a card with 4 other bands and has 1 hr to perform, I'd be pissed if he singing stuff that isn't his.
Old 02-12-2007, 01:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة

Credits: 1,958
i agree with Rummy.....i personally like the diversity of Machel's performances, not to say that i wouldnt prefer all soca, but u have to realize that Machel has to cater to the fans that would like to hear those other things as well.......and i've been to enuff reggae shows where they have done hip hop songs fuh dayz....when he does his hip hop segments, that gives me a chance to relax a lil and catch my breath

"I imagine that one of the reasons that people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with the pain."
Baldwin, James Writer and Activist (1924-1987)

"Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman."
Anderson, Marian Singer (1897-1993)
Old 02-12-2007, 01:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Babash connoisseur

Credits: 245
for the most i agree with the last two posts.. as his renditions tend to seem forced.. it adds a different vibes ask byron lee and sanchez who have both made careers out of singing other ppl tune from other genres mostly.

..if we 'support' our artists a little more it may lessen the need to reach out so much to those across genres..
Old 02-12-2007, 01:48 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 3,300
It is PERFECTLY SIMPLE, WINER BOY doesn't possess the KIND of SONGS that have LONGEVITY or SUBSTANCE because his so-called BIG HITS are for the CARNIVAL season.

In other words, his songs are basically for FETES, therefore he has no CHOICE but to add reggae, hip hop and whatever else to his STAGE show.

One of the BIGGEST MISTAKES or GLARING MISTAKES that WINER BOY has made over the YEARS is these so-called NEW CONCEPTS he comes up with every year.

SHORT TERM, it might be a GOOD IDEA, but LONG TURN it HAMPERS his DEVELOPMENT as a TRUE ARTIST.

These CONCEPTS are just COSMETIC DRESSING to make it LQQK like he has some how DEVELOPED as an ARTIST, but he has not.

His CONCEPTS are basically to ENHANCE him and his BAND'S SHOWMANSHIP on STAGE....nothing less or nothing more.

When you look at his CATALOG of MUSIC, WINER BOY probably has about a HANDFUL of songs that the WIDER WORLD would even take time out to LISTEN to....and I am being GRACIOUS here.

And I am sure that he knows this....this is why you're now SEEING him going in a DIFFERENT DIRECTION with his MUSIC.

Yes, the CARNIVAL chunes are still there....but you can see that he has MADE the EFFORT to IMPROVE on his ABILITY to EXPAND his MUSIC to a WIDER audience.

So yes, RIGHT about now, WINER BOY needs to play the REGGAE n the HIP HOP chunes to BALANCE out his CARNIVAL/FETE chunes.

Ohhhhhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhhh

PS: DOH CONCENTRATE on the MESSENGER....DEAL with the MESSAGE instead.
i made a similiar argument about machel and dutty and bake and shark lambasted me. he does too much reggae music in his shows. if he is serious about taking soca to wider audience, he should focus on making cutting edge soca like rupee, kl, skarpyon, and multi-symptom. he still a signature song like the aforementioned artist - excluding multi who does have one but whose music is cutting edge.
Old 02-12-2007, 01:58 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 3,300
Originally Posted by Rummy View Post
For as long as I've been seeing Machel perform, he's always added something that was hip hop or reggae to parts of his routine. While I don't think it's necessary, I think it's a part of what he enjoys doing & I can't fault him for it. What I don't like is that those moments have increased over the years. A small addition of a dance is one thing, or adding a small bit & making a medley is ok, but increasing the length and practically performing more of those songs when your set is limited is annoying. He has a lot of material where it isn't needed.

There are places where you want some type of familiarity if your crowd isn't a soca crowd. That is understood. I've seen Rupee & Alison sing a slower set for what was supposed to be a very mixed crowd (and not really west indian). If Machel is doing his AC concert & his performance is for say a couple hours, people are probably expecting to have some diversity shown. But if he's on a card with 4 other bands and has 1 hr to perform, I'd be pissed if he singing stuff that isn't his.
rummy, if you go to nba game, do you expect to see nfl football. if you go to a reggae show, do you expect to hear soca. fan who attend soca show know that they are attending a soca show. why they go expecting to hear somedthing other than soca?because so many soca artists do other types of music at soca show, they have conditioned soca fans to expect and tolerate such nonsense. trust me, when i go to soca in miami in October, the billboard outside promotes soca, not a diverse music show.