Credits: 6,555
is it time to change our "soca DJS"?
Is it just me or is there a problem with our DJS? Now I know a dj can not please all the people all the time but at least after carnival in a big fete I would like to have heard some carnival tunes. Why is it after a big band finish performing on stage and its time for music we hearing reggae or older calypso/soca? I mean there were so many tunes from Trinidad that I did not hear up here this past Saturday, Yet I am hearing dub. Not even so much the older calypso and soca but DUB come on let us get the play and music we deserve.What happen to Super blue tunes, Crazy, Impulse, Shal macel, Blaxx,derrick seals, ANDRE TANKER( I mean the man dead and we still aint hearing he tunes up here, Fayanne, not one of traffic tunes except maybe front yet I hearing dub. the older tunes I feel we can play alittle later in the year like after miami and ting but right after carnival dub and old soca nah something aint right and maybe a change is needed . It is called a Fete for a reason and I feel our artists should be getting the proper promotion from guys that call themselves soca djs I know soca is not all they can dj but in a soca fete give us our just do.
SAVEOURSOCA |
Credits: 2,908
Change our dj's? Maybe. Now, I went out on Saturday to this all-inclusive...Now, why oh why did I hear these freakin songs so much?
1. Take Dat & Cool It...twice! 2. Turn Me On...4 times! 3. Trini to d Bone...3 times in a row(Islands United? Come now, the song sweet, but must we hear it 3 times straight in addition to the times it was played earlier in the night.) OK...now, I got to hear Desperado riddim twice. Yep the riddim, not just one song. The dj's seemed to play the same set. Now stuff like that pisses me off. Especially because this was an all-inclusive. This is not a club where people leave and new people come in. These folks pay their money to fete & drink all night. They are not going to leave til the bar emptied. SO, why must the same songs be played ALL night. I don't care about the big carnival tunes being played early then late. But all the soca songs that are out there. I heard the same ones all night! And it's not like the fete was 12 hours. I got there at 12:45...by 3 I'd heard the tunes twice already(if not more!) |
Credits: 91
hum!
i agree wit allyuh, big fete like that should have soca, soca, more soca, wit all d soca that come out this year them djs and them should have no problems. I was diapointed cause i see a couple djs down in trini that know d scene, yet them come back here an ent playing tunes. stueps and when they do deciede to play oldies them play d same thing ova ova. wha happen allyuh fraid, brooklyn people know soca yu know.
oh yeah i wear meh blue superman jersey for nutting, i ent hear untick(i want to see rag and flags and powder) and allyuh know that tune mash up in trinidad... socainmehbelly!!! |
ThE pOsT JaCkInG aSsAsSiN
Credits: 1,106
I fine Ah ha di right solution for Allyuh.... Stop Posting .....Team up ...... and Brush up on allyuh CD mixing abilities!!!!
Credits: 2,722
We not getting paid to post, but them getting paid to spin... so i agree.... I don't need to hear Jump 4 times (last month all inclusive) in two hours. |
Miss Good Reputation..
Credits: 264
Actually I agree with you about the songs getting played three four times...but is the dj's you need to talk to... they all trying to compete to see who has the latest , GREATEST songs, nobody seems to think that maybe I should com play something else, someother song that will move people like the new ones did...the only dj i know who des that all the time is Back to basics...and funky fat boy....but think about it...a dj gets booked based on the way a crowd respond to their music...some of them just dont take the chance to play songs other than the ones they guaranteed to get a response too...and the truth is....you cyah tell them what to play....unless you can play yourself....that's why they're the dj's and we are the people complainin...
Credits: 9,311
Okay I know I will get cuss for this opinion but I am sorry I have to post it:
Now I love my soca music as much as you all do and do understand what you all are saying, there are alot of songs from Trini carnival that is not getting any play. However you all need to realize that a fete in The Ark (or any other club in NY ) is not like a fete in Trinidad. Their are people from many different countries/islands that attend parties in NY. And while the performers are soca artist the crowd is not only soca audiences. Of course, I doh want to hear reggae when I am in Insomina, Pier 1 or any other Trini fete...but I doh mind hearing it in NY. I know that someone would counteract this opinion with "well they don't play soca is reggae parties, so why should we play reggae in soca parties" and that is what makes soca parties unique. You could come and hear a large variety of music and each person could have a good time. |
Miss Good Reputation..
Credits: 264
you ent getting cuss
you right too...
Re: you ent getting cuss
Credits: 2,722
Re: Re: you ent getting cuss
you want cuss?I don't mind the reggae.. but here in Miami a lot of people adverstise soca and its a 2 songs.. jump and hot hot hot.. (not islandsunited of course.. they play soca and destroy your liver too) But.. i do have a problem with the rotation of the songs...There is one DJ on 96.1 (ducks bottles from tallest, who by the way is about 7 feet tall :p ) who really plays soca... i mean this man spins shit from every single island.. now for a TRUE soca lova like myself.. he is the best...:) see me whining up to small axe... ![]() |
Credits: 5,428
Trini Prinzez I doh agree wid u at all.
When i go to a fete I ONLY lookin' to hear SOCA. Not reggae, hip hop, or anything else. The majority of the people I know feel the same way. Yes these soca fetes have people from different islands but so what? The reggae fetes have people from other islands too. These "soca" fetes advertise soca artistes and soca dj's...so where does the reggae come in? Dat is not what I payin' my money for. When I go to a reggae fete (which i don't) I wouldn't expect to hear soca. So when i go to a soca fete I dont expect (or want) to hear reggae. Personally, when i in a fete and havin a time to some sweet soca music and then reggae comes on.....de vibes get kill.
Credits: 91
??????
come on, soca doh get that much play as it is, so the little chance we get shouldnt have to make room for nutting else. a soca fete with bands shouldnt have dub, or hiphop, oh gosh we only have the ark for soca.
if i see a flyer for a soca party i going because i want to hear soca and nuting else. socainmehbelly! |
Nah I am sorry but I still disagree. Of course I love to hear soca in soca parties but I also have no problem when I hear some Sean Paul or Bounti. Infact, I enjoy when DJ's like GB (
) & Natural Mystik go back in time with some ole school reggae I have many Jamaican friends who come to the Ark because they enjoy the variety of music they get to hear. I think the DJs in the Ark and other clubs are doing a great job and I will always support them instead of complaining ( and I am not just being bias ) |