Credits: 140,800
Tidbits In Trinidad
Garlin at his freestylin’ best on Black single
T'dad Guardian, Fri.. Dec. 11, 2007 Singles by Crazy and Shadow again in this space as they are definitely hits that shall remain in great demand on the airwaves and in the fetes. Again, Iwer George has a monster party hit on his hands in the form of Fete after Fete. It was amazing to watch the party crowd’s reaction each time this song was played on the weekend. Also on hit street, again, is Shurwayne, with Open the Gate. Speaking of which, I began my feting last weekend and must say I am impressed by the quality of music and performance produced by super band Traffik, fronted by Shurwayne Winchester, Candi Hoyte and young, talented Olatunji Yearwood. The son of multi-talented Eddie Yearwood and award-winning actress Mairoon Ali, “Ola” is the perfect augmentation to Shurwayne’s workload, a fact Atlantik’s management is well advised to consider, in terms of easing the workload of Destra. Ola’s treatment of Peter Ram’s Down the Road and Open the Gate is a joy to watch and listen to. With the advent of new stars like Fireball, I am impressed by the increasing number of young songwriters and recording artistes emerging this year, some with good work, including Khalifar Manning, Kinny Fabulous, Nun Vibes, Rhyno Julius, Larmx Merit, Bombay Vikings, Shynelle Morris, Skarpyon, Ward One and Zeek. Some of the new tracks that caught my ear this week are: Oh Yeah (Michelle Sylvester & Larmx Merit); Light it up (Machel & Patrice Roberts); Musical High (Trini Jacob); Super Star (Bombay Vikings); Leave Me Alone (Skarpyon & Jamsey P); and Children Dutty Wine (Wayne P & Black). With Bajan Peter Ram, the man behind the infectious Down the Road, in town last weekend, I can’t wait for Biggie Irie to land, to partner Maximus Dan in performing the other soca hit out of Bim, Not going home ‘til morning. |