Old 03-01-2006, 01:04 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 184,192
A SUMMARY OF THE MUSIC OUT OF T&T FOR 2006

Well???
Old 03-01-2006, 01:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
look meh!

Credits: 1,699
In my opinion it's the best season musically since the 90s. Overall an outstanding effort put forth by the artists, endless hits this year, almost unbelievable.
Old 03-01-2006, 01:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Baby Luv

Credits: 1,702
maybe old age is catching up to me, but the only song i instantly fell in love with was Shurwaynes don't stop, everything else had to grow on me. Not a good sign at all.
Old 03-01-2006, 07:51 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,193
Originally Posted by Socaboy
In my opinion it's the best season musically since the 90s. Overall an outstanding effort put forth by the artists, endless hits this year, almost unbelievable.
I couldn't agree with you more. They had so much great music that some sleepers are still to get their airplay.

There was a song, "Make your bam bam talk to me" that will start to mash up soon.

Overall. OUTSTANDING!!!!!
Old 03-01-2006, 08:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
ah like chupidness

Credits: 15,376
Originally Posted by Sencia
maybe old age is catching up to me, but the only song i instantly fell in love with was Shurwaynes don't stop, everything else had to grow on me. Not a good sign at all.

lawd sencia...of all d song..don't stop ....ah go confirm it fuh yuh..yuh rite maybe ole age catchin up in trute..but u kno dat doh mean nuttin..a sure u cud still wine up d waist good as eva
Old 03-01-2006, 12:46 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 5,633
I totally agree. It's amazing how much good music is out for this year already. Some of which are already big hits and some that that still haven't really gotten much play yet but I'm sure they will.
Old 03-01-2006, 01:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
RasGunta

Credits: 1,973
Every year is a good year I wouldn't put this year above any other year. I'm never disappointed cause the vibes are always there.
Old 03-01-2006, 02:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
مرحبا

Credits: 86,450
ditto. this year was pure fiyah.
Old 03-01-2006, 03:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Daddy Cease in deh area

Credits: 5,083
Originally Posted by RasKefentse
Every year is a good year I wouldn't put this year above any other year. I'm never disappointed cause the vibes are always there.
I agree wid u...I think this year was a solid year, wasn't any better or any less than previous years....I was dissappointed by the efforts of some of the veterans, but the newcomers made up for that
Old 03-01-2006, 06:06 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 3,408
I think I have to agree too... Every year Trinidad carnival always have hits. But I think I wasn't feeling them as much for some reason or the other...maybe it was a matter of personal taste. But to me this year there were several tunes I really like fight off the bat, plenty of dem grew on me and still many others are growing on me, especially the groovy tunes.

With the uptempo tunes I am hearing different beats more prevalently this year and I hope that continues to grow and it will...I am beginning to sense the vast dept of creativity that Trinidad has in terms of making music in this present era of soca.

Maybe next year in the uptempo tunes there might be tunes that will program steeldrums and more iron in their beats (maybe they have but I haven't them)....I know they have some slower tempo tunes that did use steeldrums in their beats.( I think that tune by Xtatik...February may have been one of them).

Another thing I hope to hear soon are uptempo tunes with wicked thumping basslines.
Old 03-01-2006, 07:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
30 Never looked this good

Credits: 18,630
I love the fact that they had a little bit of everything this year...last year dey had too much pop-ish sounding sounds...I like wildness...dey had plenty of dat, and plenty slower ones too!
Old 03-01-2006, 09:08 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 125
Overall the music was boring. There were only a few songs that moved the crowds. At most fetes people were just standing bored out of their minds. This is the first Carnival I play mas and for most of the day the DJs were playing one set of old soca. Usually they kill you with the same three songs until you fed up. Everyone I spoke to felt the same about the music. My faves were Band of the Year, Scandalous and Shurwayne's Can't Wait, which if he had brought it out earlier, would have given band of the year competition for road march.
Old 03-01-2006, 09:21 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 17,005
1) We reach
2) Band of the Year
3) Bomb Song
4) God Army
5) Can't Wait
6) Jumpin (And I'm not a Destra fan, but I like this one)
7) Warriors Goal
8) Scandalous (It had to grow on me)
9) No Surrender
10) Heart of a man
11) Ting 4 de Road
12) Tro it Back
13) Commander (I'm still not completely sure about this one but it's growing on me)
14) Move with us (still iffy but I think it will grow on me too)
15) In Your timing
16) Max It up
17) 3 Mile
18) ALWAYS BE!!!!!!!
19) Always on my mind
20) Colours Again
21) Sweat Rice
22) Park It
23) Doi Festival
24) Jourveeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrt
25) Fireman
26) Face Me
27) That is Carnival
28) Jumping Again ( Naya George )
29) Run Dat ( 3 Suns )
30) Big Bottom Gyal

And to Add some more
31) One Island - Nadia Baston
32) Carnival Feeling ( or if it's called This Feeling )
33) Amnesty ( Benjai and Machel )
34) This Party up in here..Maximus
35) He Lie - Blackie
36) Leff Meh - Blackie
37) Toting Feelings
38) Bun ah Fire - Bunji + Prophet Benjamin
39) Go Down - Miss Alysha
40) Augusta - We Nah Leavin
41) Vibes It Up - 3 Canal
42) Audreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy
43) Wuk Up - Cany Hoyte
44) Chucky - See you ( WICKED TUNE!)
45) Fire Water - D' Hitman
46) Sean Caruth - Bacchanal
47) Shadow - Hypnosis
48) Up In Dat - Dawg E Slaughter
49) Feelin Nice - Dawg E Slaughter
50) Goodies - Denise Belfon ( wow, took me this long to remember this big tune!)
51) Leh We Do that - Denise Belfon
52) Genie - Tony Prescott
53) One Day - FayAnn
54) Look Excuse - Gailann
55) Tempo 2005 - Shurwayne and Calypso Rose
56) Stay With Me - Kess the Band
57) Don't Stop - Shurwayne
58) Booty Talk - Zan!!!! BIG TUNE!
59) Somebody - Blazer Cure
60) Whirlwind - Maximus
61) Outta Hand - Tony Prescott
62) Sucker - Sanell Dempster
63) Sexy Lady - Mini Priest

and that's not all....
Old 03-01-2006, 09:23 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 184,192
Originally Posted by socawriter
Overall the music was boring. There were only a few songs that moved the crowds. At most fetes people were just standing bored out of their minds. This is the first Carnival I play mas and for most of the day the DJs were playing one set of old soca. Usually they kill you with the same three songs until you fed up. Everyone I spoke to felt the same about the music. My faves were Band of the Year, Scandalous and Shurwayne's Can't Wait, which if he had brought it out earlier, would have given band of the year competition for road march.
Well Imix, this is COMING from SOMEONE on the GROUND.
Old 03-01-2006, 09:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
ah like chupidness

Credits: 15,376
Originally Posted by socawriter

everyone is entitled to their own opinion trini or no trini VP...so them bein in Trinidad makes no difference....cuz for his one...u have 50 opposing what he say...of course u would look for the only negative to comment bout from Trinidad