Old 01-18-2004, 07:01 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 180
Stuck up fans!

You guys must understand what RAGGASOCA is. Its a combination of Soca and Reggae. And some cases a little hip hop! These artist who claim this artform : Bunji, Wanski, Promise, Maddzart, Peter Ram, Maximus, etc. Soca artist are bands/artist like B.Flames, K.Fyah, and Militant.-They are not ragga artist. KNow the difference people. Cause alot of you boneheads talking about Bunji especially dont sing soca. Alot of yall dont want change. Yall rather hear Raggasoca artist sing Jean and Dinah and Worky worky! This is a new breed of soca material so deal with it. Cause when Soca first came out, Calypsonians looked down at it and ended up using that craft latter on in their careers.
Old 01-18-2004, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
mr. wadadli

These artist who claim this artform : Bunji, Wanski, Promise, Maddzart, Peter Ram, Maximus, etc.
:) :) :)...I like how you throw in promise in wid dem big stars deh...you should be his publicst LOL!!! No offence!!!
unnu can't put him in wid dem big boys star!!! trus me...but I agree wid your post still!!!
Old 01-18-2004, 08:12 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 180
Originally posted by mr. wadadli
:) :) :)...I like how you throw in promise in wid dem big stars deh...you should be his publicst LOL!!! No offence!!!
unnu can't put him in wid dem big boys star!!! trus me...but I agree wid your post still!!!
HAHAAHH! but honestly Ive been told he is more talented than Wanski. Especially lyricaly! I herd he wrote "More Gyal".
Old 01-18-2004, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
mr. wadadli

Originally posted by harizon
HAHAAHH! but honestly Ive been told he is more talented than Wanski. Especially lyricaly! I herd he wrote "More Gyal".
yep,,he did write it!!!

he's a talented songwriter..no doubt!!! thats all i'll say about him for now.
Old 01-18-2004, 11:41 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 6,458
nice try

Trying to compare the transformation of calypso to soca with soca to ragga is way off. There was no creation with Reggae soca. Reggae is another country artform that was already there not created by any of the soca music countries. So there is nothing creative about it. Soca was a whole new creation. Created by one of we own not taken from another country and sounding like another country. Soca is we own we creativity nobody elses. Thats what change is.
Old 01-18-2004, 11:45 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 140

I agree with you saveoursoca.

Old 01-18-2004, 11:52 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,473
Re: nice try

Originally posted by saveoursoca
Trying to compare the transformation of calypso to soca with soca to ragga is way off. There was no creation with Reggae soca. Reggae is another country artform that was already there not created by any of the soca music countries. So there is nothing creative about it. Soca was a whole new creation. Created by one of we own not taken from another country and sounding like another country. Soca is we own we creativity nobody elses. Thats what change is.
SOS, I THINK I UNDERSTAND WHERE YOU COMING FROM BOTH I MUST TAKE YOU BACK TO THE MEANING AND ORIGIN OF THE WORD "SOCA"

ISN'T SOCA A FUSION OF SOUL AND CALYPSO AND SOUL IS ANOTHER COUNTRY'S, NAMELY AMERICAN...THAT IS BLACK AMERICAN ARTFORM? YES, I WAS SHORTY I WHO DID IT , PUT HE SAID HE WAS FUSING AMERICAN SO-UL WIT WE CA-LYPSO WASN'T HE?

NOW RAGGA SOCA IS A FUSION OF THE FUSED SO-UL AND CA-LYPSO AND DANCEHALL (IS DANCEHALL A FUSION OF REGGAE AND SOMETHING...I DON'T WANT TO SAY RAP CAUSE I AM NOT SURE WHICH ONE CAME FIRST.) SO IN IN THE SPACE OF 3 DECADES WE HAVE ONE FUSION MIXING WITH ANOTHER FUSION THUS CREATING MORE FUSION OR CONFUSION.

YOU KNOW AS TIME MOVES ON THE INNOVATIVE TENDENCIES OF OUR ARTISTS WILL EVENTUALLY LEAD DEM TO TRY AND/OR EXPERIMENT ON NEW THINGS. BUT IF THAT BECOMES THEIR PRIMARY FOCUS THEY WILL LOSE ATLEAST SOME OF US LEADING SOME THUS CREATING FUSTRATION WITH THE ARTISTS. THE MORE SUCCESFUL ARTISTS ARE THE ONE WHO CAN BALANCE BOTH THAT IS MAINTAIN WHAT WE ARE FAMILIAR AND EXPLORING NEW AVENUES BY FUSING OUR CULTURE WITH OTHERS...ITS WORTH A TRY.

Last edited by BFFan; 01-19-2004 at 12:11 AM..
Old 01-19-2004, 12:14 AM   #8 (permalink)

Thats a first

I have never heard this before. When did he say this. Because u listen to soca and It has noone elses vibe on it. U cant play Soca for anyone and they say it sounds like american soul music. Aretha Franklyn and them if I am not mistaken that is american soul music. Shorty sounded nothing like that. Now we take Ragga and fuse it as is being said. and U play it its called Dub not fusion. Not Ragga soca but dub. No comparason.
Old 01-19-2004, 12:17 AM   #9 (permalink)

Oh yeah

Now u can say he got an Idea from the american soul. (If he really did?) But It has its on spirit, vibe, identification, on it not like Ragga.
Old 01-19-2004, 01:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Musician/Superhero

Credits: 1,085
Re: Thats a first

I have never heard this before. When did he say this. Because u listen to soca and It has noone elses vibe on it. U cant play Soca for anyone and they say it sounds like american soul music. Aretha Franklyn and them if I am not mistaken that is american soul music. Shorty sounded nothing like that. Now we take Ragga and fuse it as is being said. and U play it its called Dub not fusion. Not Ragga soca but dub. No comparason.
Dancehall music is the more party-oriented sub-genre of Ragge music. Dub is a forefather of dancehall. Back in thedays of Rockers music (another gnre of Reggae), alot of the big sound system leaders (King Jammys being a pirme example of this) would be the ones who owned the rcord labels and studios and produced tunes for artists. As selectors (DJs), these label owners like Kimg Jammy's and Tubby began to try to outdo each other by going back into the studio after a tune on their labels became a hit and over-DUBbing (re-recording) new vocals by "deejays" (chanters) on the tapes of people's riddims (instrumentals)...

That is what a DUB is. A tune with the original vocals edited out and new vocals ovverdubbed - sometimes even additional instruments.

Dub is not neccassrily dancehall. If you researched at all you would know that.

Ragga Soca has many elements that are unique to itself and many elements that come strictly from SOCA. Any Jamaican will tell you that Ragga Soca and Dancehall are as diferent as night and day... especially nowadays with artists like Bunji, Treason, Maximus and countless other making big strides and experimenting more every year.

Also let me deal with your point referring to the late ras Shorty I.

You said: "Aretha Franklyn and them if I am not mistaken that is american soul music. Shorty sounded nothing like that."

Actually if you were to listen to the soul music that was being done in the 70's by Marvin Gaye, Curtis Mayfield, Aretha Franklin andc countless others you will see alot of similarity in those grooves and the stuff Shorty was doing at the time...

Last edited by MuzikkMan; 01-19-2004 at 01:07 AM..
Old 01-19-2004, 02:29 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,473
Re: Thats a first

OH HELL NO! NO I DON'T BELIEVE YOU SOS. YOU DIDN'T KNOW THIS? WOW! SORRY FOR BEING DRAMATIC BUT I IN SHOCK. MAYBE I DIDN'T READ WHAT YOU STATED RIGHT. BUT I KNEW DAT FROM THE MID 80'S AND HAD A LITTLE MORE INSIGHT FROM THE TREVOR WILKINS SHOW RECENTLY. BUT YOU DID HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD IN TERMS OF VIBES AND FEELINGS FROM SOUL.

IN THE WORD SOCA , SO COMES FROM SOUL AND CA FROM CALYPSO AND DITTO EVERYTHING MUZIKKMAN STATED.

Last edited by BFFan; 01-19-2004 at 02:33 AM..
Old 01-19-2004, 11:57 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 91
ah

i understand that every music took vibes from other music,

i like a couple ragga soca for example secound imij "single" the reason is that is soca with a little twist of dub still hearing majority soca. but my point is that the raggae soca today is majority raggae if it isnt raggae, to me these so-called ragga-soca artist might as well called them self raggae artist because the last remaining element of soca is the beat.

not saying bunji maximuus treason kmc should not sing soca, they could but is that where there heart is NO they all at some point stated that raggae is their first love. when and if they do make it in the raggae areana yu think they would business with soca?

they treat my soca secound class doing it becuase its somthing to do so i will continue to reguard them as secound third class soca artist and non-soca artist.
Old 01-19-2004, 03:13 PM   #13 (permalink)

ras shorty

alot of people does get tie up wit the soul reference. When Shorty was talking of the soul music from america he was saying the same way the american music has soul its the same way calypso has soul he wasnt saying that he was taking american soul music and combining it with calypso.
Old 01-19-2004, 03:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
xtremeintl.com

Credits: 11,422
From various sources, you will see it written:

SOCA
"Soca" is calypso with rhythmic enhancements. It is characterized by the basic cut time of Calypso but features a syncopated intricate bass line as opposed to the "walking" bass, which is normally associated with traditional Calypso. The rhythmic enhancements provided by the percussion also add to the "Soca" feel. There is also some variation in the playing of the kick drum, especially in the use of double beats, which has have introduced in recent years.

When first initiated by calypsonian Ras Shorty I, he experimented with the marriage of Indian and African Rhythms. The composition "Endless Vibrations" by Ras Shorty I is typical of what was accepted as Soca in its early years. Over the years Soca has been interpreted to be "the Soul of Calypso".

Today most arrangers agree that Soca is inherent in almost all party songs created, and that it is incorporated in both the slow jam and up-tempo calypso.
However, the likely fact still remains, that lovers of calypso were likely not very fond of this changing or tampering with the sound or cadence of the music being done at the time by Ras Shorty, the exact same way Soca lovers are now up in arms over the creation of ragga soca.

Something to think about:
Isn't it funny in general though, the same ppl who as children felt disrespected by their elders' criticism of the music they loved, turn into adults who criticize their children for the music they love. People never learn.
Old 01-19-2004, 04:10 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 4,273
Re: Re: Thats a first

Originally posted by BFFan
OH HELL NO! NO I DON'T BELIEVE YOU SOS. YOU DIDN'T KNOW THIS? WOW! SORRY FOR BEING DRAMATIC BUT I IN SHOCK. MAYBE I DIDN'T READ WHAT YOU STATED RIGHT. BUT I KNEW DAT FROM THE MID 80'S AND HAD A LITTLE MORE INSIGHT FROM THE TREVOR WILKINS SHOW RECENTLY. BUT YOU DID HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD IN TERMS OF VIBES AND FEELINGS FROM SOUL.

IN THE WORD SOCA , SO COMES FROM SOUL AND CA FROM CALYPSO AND DITTO EVERYTHING MUZIKKMAN STATED.
can't believe I'm doing this but here goes.......

I have to agree with you BFFAN, the soca that Shorty sang was a fusion of soul music and calypso.