Old 01-26-2005, 01:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

Steups...Quick Discussion on Mistah Shak tune

You know I soon stop postin on this site all together eh...

Aight, I won't even say my group has been supporting Mistah Shak's new tune "We Doh Like Dem" ........I will say me.

For those who dont know, he has a song on the Pot Of Gold Riddim in which the chorus goes

We Doh Like Dem Hoes....

Now, some females on this site have been contacting me sayin how can I support a tune that is derogatory to women.....If you bothered to listen to the lyrics of the tune, you would realize that he is only dissing a certain kind of woman....The lyrics explain exactly which kinda woman the song title is dedicated too.
The very first line of the chorus supports this argument when he says "It's not woman I dissing"

COme on guys....later I will post a link to the song and the fill lyrics of the song....

Only way you can be offended is if it falls in your garden....Or didn't listen to the lyrics..Until then, please stop complainin and support the song...The man is a very gifted artist.

Last edited by DJ Trixx; 01-26-2005 at 01:16 PM..
Old 01-26-2005, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,092
well dey should complain when yuh supportin de Ludacris's...de Jay-Z's and all de other b!tches and hos "millionaires"
Old 01-26-2005, 02:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

Originally Posted by Val3nie2debone
well dey should complain when yuh supportin de Ludacris's...de Jay-Z's and all de other b!tches and hos "millionaires"
Old 01-26-2005, 03:26 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 1,539
That song is just to real , and you know not everyone can handle the truth.

I found these lyrics on another site!

Here are some lyrics:
Chorus
Dem hoes, cause we ain't like dem hoes, DEM HOES, Cause we ain't love dem hoes...we doh need dem hoes dem, we will run dem hoes dem
Cause dem hoes mad, dem hoes bad, dem hoes dem do have no regard
Dem hoes mad, dem hoes bad, dem hoes dem does have to get disgard
2X
Verse 1
Listen to meh vibes and doh get me wrong
I am not dissing women in this song
But you know it have some young ladies
Who conduct themselves very shady
Well everyday you see them with a new man
Some of them does juggle with two man
I have seen some of them handle a few man
Dem gyal cah be human
So if yuh know yuh is a clean woman jump out and shout out (yeah yeah yeah meh boi)
Skettel Queen woman who running the route (No bligh for you)2x

Verse 2
If these lyrics fall in yuh garden
You might find them harsh or harden
But I am not begging for no pardon
Just open your ears good and listen
Woman, you are the mother of the earth
To the younger generation you give birth
But if everyman get under yuh skirt
Tell me what you worth
So if yuh know yuh is a clean woman jump out and shout out (yeah yeah yeah meh boi)

Chorus
Old 01-26-2005, 03:27 PM   #5 (permalink)

You make a very good point sistren!
Old 01-26-2005, 03:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

Originally Posted by forgetit
That song is just to real , and you know not everyone can handle the truth.

I found these lyrics on another site!

Here are some lyrics:
Chorus
Dem hoes, cause we ain't like dem hoes, DEM HOES, Cause we ain't love dem hoes...we doh need dem hoes dem, we will run dem hoes dem
Cause dem hoes mad, dem hoes bad, dem hoes dem do have no regard
Dem hoes mad, dem hoes bad, dem hoes dem does have to get disgard
2X
Verse 1
Listen to meh vibes and doh get me wrong
I am not dissing women in this song
But you know it have some young ladies
Who conduct themselves very shady
Well everyday you see them with a new man
Some of them does juggle with two man
I have seen some of them handle a few man
Dem gyal cah be human

Verse 2
If these lyrics fall in yuh garden
You might find them harsh or harden

But I am not begging for no pardon
Just open your ears good and listen
Woman, you are the mother of the earth
To the younger generation you give birth
But if everyman get under yuh skirt
Tell me what you worth

Chorus
my point exaclty.
Old 01-26-2005, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,262
Well my beef is why do these artists always choose to call out women. Why not write a song criticizing men for the same behaviour??? If Denise or Fayann wrote that song I'd have no problem but when men wanna call out females for sh*t they themselves do (i.e juggling more than one person etc.) I wanna say Shut up and call out your own. Thats my opinion.
Old 01-26-2005, 03:47 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rinababy
Well my beef is why do these artists always choose to call out women. Why not write a song criticizing men for the same behaviour??? If Denise or Fayann wrote that song I'd have no problem but when men wanna call out females for sh*t they themselves do (i.e juggling more than one person etc.) I wanna say Shut up and call out your own. Thats my opinion.
While i respect your opinion , don't you think that it is an artist's right to write about the issues that cross his part?
If fayanne or Destra or Denise want to write about bad men, thats there right, this artist addressed a very real issue, You or anyone else can't deny that there are some very loose women out there, if you are not a loose woman then he wasn't speaking to you in the first place.
Old 01-26-2005, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

hmmm Michelle Sylvester.....Sanell Dempster ring any bells?
Old 01-26-2005, 03:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

I will simply say this...

Listen to just about Michelle Slyvester tune....

Or "Nothing" by Sanelle....

Or TC's "Kim"...and it goes on and on and on
Old 01-26-2005, 03:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Originally Posted by DJ Trixx
I will simply say this...

Listen to just about Michelle Slyvester tune....

Or "Nothing" by Sanelle....

Or TC's "Kim"...and it goes on and on and on

we on de same level padna...who vex suck salt
Old 01-26-2005, 03:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
DJ Trixx

we on de same level padna...who vex suck salt

....I neva hear u talk so harsh....u turnin a new leaf for 2k5 or wha.....
Old 01-26-2005, 04:00 PM   #13 (permalink)

hmmm Michelle Sylvester.....Sanell Dempster ring any bells?
I guess they needed to come out of there face and say ,
Men are dogs or Men or hoes and then what , i guess they would have complained about that too, at the end of the day you can't please everyone, and when cro and chalkdust been referring to the Prime ministers in Trinidad and Tobago for years as jackazz and a number of other names, sure they try to Gag them , but why cause they were telling the truth , so i wish some of these people that have a problem with the song, use all that extra time and energy and go fight for a real cause. cruelty to animals or something. and stop trying to dress up the truth.
Old 01-26-2005, 04:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

I guess they needed to come out of there face and say ,
Men are dogs or Men or hoes and then what , i guess they would have complained about that too, at the end of the day you can't please everyone, and when cro and chalkdust been referring to the Prime ministers in Trinidad and Tobago for years as jackazz and a number of other names, sure they try to Gag them , but why cause they were telling the truth , so i wish some of these people that have a problem with the song, use all that extra time and energy and go fight for a real cause. cruelty to animals or something. and stop trying to dress up the truth.
but de ting is women been singing dem songs for years...yeah de men ketch feelings...but none ah dem aint cryin over it...schupesssssss what do they do dey make ah REPLY for dey rass...if you feel so strongly about it why dont u REPLY to the song?
Old 01-26-2005, 04:22 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 1,718
you can't please everyone, and when cro and chalkdust been referring to the Prime ministers in Trinidad and Tobago for years as jackazz and a number of other names, sure they try to Gag them , but why cause they were telling the truth
i was hesitant to respond to this thread but since yuh bought dat up....

i would look like a fool in soca chat 2 say i am not a lover of controversial lyrics, especially as i hold cro and chalkie w/ high regards. the 2 verses to me r not bad. just a harsh criticism and at same time gives praises 2 respectul women.

in my opinion, i would of probably liked it better hearing a caribbean slang for "hoes" like jagabat, sket, etc. instead. not sure how 2 xplain it, but i don't like the use of concrete jungle street slang in we music. not saying "hoes" originated in the US or care for it, but its saturated in another music genre (hip-hop). a silly reasoning, but thatz my only dislike of it.

i didn't actually hear the song and going by lyrics on paper, so to me they ok.

on a side note, what i do not care for too much are slack lyrics w/ no creativity behind them (i.e. Preacher - D'31st and Billy D'Kid's remake of Penguin's "Soft Man").

salt

salty

You Rated this Thread: