Old 06-04-2009, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 11,860
Statement - It's Carnival

3 grade point deductions.

1st deduction, it is not Carnival, it is Crop Over
2nd deduction, Bajans don't talk about "playing mas" we talk about "jumping"
3rd deduction you really can't expect to start a song with it is carnival and we playing mas then reason it is Crop Over

I ain't listen to the full song cause I just got this felling he going talk about Chipping and that would just mean a 4th deduction.

Last edited by warrior; 06-04-2009 at 05:05 PM..
Old 06-04-2009, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
a wham 2 dem?

Credits: 75,917
sweet chune

BK's chune of de week- http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vJa2ikkyiTs

alliancefilife.com
Old 06-04-2009, 06:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,252
i like it
Old 06-04-2009, 07:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
o.O

Credits: 10,563
Originally Posted by warrior View Post

3 grade point deductions.

1st deduction, it is not Carnival, it is Crop Over
2nd deduction, Bajans don't talk about "playing mas" we talk about "jumping"
3rd deduction you really can't expect to start a song with it is carnival and we playing mas then reason it is Crop Over

I ain't listen to the full song cause I just got this felling he going talk about Chipping and that would just mean a 4th deduction.
Do you want the song to be played for bajans only,juss you or a larger market?

anyways nice song

"Your woman, who love me so much, how can she mek a next man touch" - PC
Old 06-05-2009, 11:42 AM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by S.A.T.O.R.E-S.A.N View Post
Do you want the song to be played for bajans only,juss you or a larger market?

anyways nice song
I get where you are coming from but it is not true. KMC's 1st Experience was very Trini Carnival specific in lyrics but did very well in Bim (can't say about the other islands/places). Patrice's Wuking Up was very Barbados specific with lines like "pass Combermere" (the greatest school on Earth and other places btw), but that did well outside of Barbados.
Old 06-05-2009, 11:52 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 17,058
I get where you are coming from but it is not true. KMC's 1st Experience was very Trini Carnival specific in lyrics but did very well in Bim (can't say about the other islands/places). Patrice's Wuking Up was very Barbados specific with lines like "pass Combermere" (the greatest school on Earth and other places btw), but that did well outside of Barbados.
Then going by your own argument above what de phuck does it matter that "carnival" and "playing mass" are mentioned in the song. Just enjoy the song if yuh like it. Yuh think trinis cared when rupee had all the bajan references in his music...hell no...we were vibing with the music regardless.
Old 06-05-2009, 12:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
a wham 2 dem?

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
Then going by your own argument above what de phuck does it matter that "carnival" and "playing mass" are mentioned in the song. Just enjoy the song if yuh like it. Yuh think trinis cared when rupee had all the bajan references in his music...hell no...we were vibing with the music regardless.
gud point, i think dis could be said about all music in general

alliancefilife.com
Old 06-05-2009, 12:10 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
Um, no. My arguement is artist can put out a song that references their own culture and others will still love it if it is a good song. If the song move my I will jam but I am honestly getting tired of Bajans not having enough confidence in our own to sing it in a song. As you said Rupee had nuff Bajan references in his music and he was big in Trinidad and get signed.

Actually, the most popular artist in the Anglophone C'bean are out of J'ca and they don't play. Them confident in their culture and going sing to it.
Old 06-05-2009, 12:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Possunt Quia Posse Vident

Credits: 6,898
Um, no. My arguement is artist can put out a song that references their own culture and others will still love it if it is a good song. If the song move my I will jam but I am honestly getting tired of Bajans not having enough confidence in our own to sing it in a song. As you said Rupee had nuff Bajan references in his music and he was big in Trinidad and get signed.

Actually, the most popular artist in the Anglophone C'bean are out of J'ca and they don't play. Them confident in their culture and going sing to it.
I get what you are saying.

Maya Angelou
Old 06-05-2009, 10:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
o.O

Credits: 10,563
Why did I bother.

"Your woman, who love me so much, how can she mek a next man touch" - PC
Old 06-06-2009, 03:25 AM   #11 (permalink)
a wham 2 dem?

how much more bajan cud he have made it? das what i wanna know, if he changed around a couple words?

alliancefilife.com