Old 03-16-2007, 07:16 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,943
St. VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES RAGGA SOCA SCENE

The GENRE that is RAGGA SOCA basically TOOK SHAPE in the mid 70's.

The SOUND and FEEL of RAGGA SOCA out of VINCYLAND can be HEARD in SEVERAL VARIATIONS.

First, you have one SOUND that is DRIVEN by an R&B feel....and where the BASS GUITAR and the SYNTHESIZER are also PROMINENT.

Second, you have another SOUND that is DRIVEN by the DRUM and BASS, but not at the expense of the PATTERN heard in the VINCY SOCA.

And third, you have the STRAIGHT VINCY SOCA sound layered with vocals that are of a CHANTING variety....in many instances, it will be combination of SINGING and CHANTING on the same track.

I will now DEMONSTRATE these VARIETIES heard in the VINCY RAGGA SOCA sound.

TRUE RICHNESS at its BEST.

Oh yeah, this is not UP for DEBATE.....it is only for INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES only.

Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Old 03-16-2007, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
GWEH

Credits: 2,845
Question: Where does the "Ragga" term come from?
Old 03-16-2007, 07:24 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Fiyah View Post
NO QUESTIONS will be ANSWERED in this THREAD.
Old 03-16-2007, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
GWEH

Can questions be asked?
Old 03-16-2007, 07:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
.......not ah shotta

Credits: 2,369
from looking at this statment alone gives me the impression that yuh don't stand by your "information"
Old 03-16-2007, 07:36 PM   #6 (permalink)

Can questions be asked?
I am the NARRATOR/HOST, the PANEL, the MEDIATOR, the OVERSEER, etc.

Therefore, if QUESTIONS are ASKED, I will be the one to ASK the QUESTIONS and GIVE the ANSWERS.
Old 03-16-2007, 07:51 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 10,000
The GENRE that is RAGGA SOCA basically TOOK SHAPE in the mid 70's.

The SOUND and FEEL of RAGGA SOCA out of VINCYLAND can be HEARD in SEVERAL VARIATIONS.

First, you have one SOUND that is DRIVEN by an R&B feel....and where the BASS GUITAR and the SYNTHESIZER are also PROMINENT.

Second, you have another SOUND that is DRIVEN by the DRUM and BASS, but not at the expense of the PATTERN heard in the VINCY SOCA.

And third, you have the STRAIGHT VINCY SOCA sound layered with vocals that are of a CHANTING variety....in many instances, it will be combination of SINGING and CHANTING on the same track.

I will now DEMONSTRATE these VARIETIES heard in the VINCY RAGGA SOCA sound.

TRUE RICHNESS at its BEST.

Oh yeah, this is not UP for DEBATE.....it is only for INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES only.

Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhh
ADDENDUM: And without Marvin Scandrick, of 112, the American, the R&B sensation that wrote Turn Me On, SVG would have never made it to the mainstream and had their 1 mainstream hit.

Ohhhhhhhhhhh yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhh
Old 03-16-2007, 08:52 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
ADDENDUM: And without Marvin Scandrick, of 112, the American, the R&B sensation that wrote Turn Me On, SVG would have never made it to the mainstream and had their 1 mainstream hit.

Ohhhhhhhhhhh yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhh
TOTAL GARBAGE.

Doh come in here TRYING to SIDETRACK this THREAD with FALSEHOOD.

Stay by the SIDELINES so I can CONTINUE my WORK in this THREAD, as it relates to the TITLE and the opening POST.

Buoyyyyy, dese TRINIS and their ILKS CANNOT get de KING of MAINSTREAM SOCA, Kevin Lyttle, out of their HEADS at all.

WOW....TRULY AMAZING.
Old 03-16-2007, 08:57 PM   #9 (permalink)

TOTAL GARBAGE.

Doh come in here TRYING to SIDETRACK this THREAD with FALSEHOOD.

Stay by the SIDELINES so I can CONTINUE my WORK in this THREAD, as it relates to the TITLE and the opening POST.

Buoyyyyy, dese TRINIS and their ILKS CANNOT get de KING of MAINSTREAM SOCA, Kevin Lyttle, out of their HEADS at all.

WOW....TRULY AMAZING.
Has 112 been writing Kevin Lyttles album, or will he have to resort to tiefing one of their songs ?
Old 03-16-2007, 09:02 PM   #10 (permalink)

"Ragga Soca from St. Vincent & the Grenadines.

Michael Peters, Vincentian music aficionado credits Alston 'Becket' Cyrus for developing the Ragga Soca genre, with his experimentation of Rhythm & Blues flavors in his calypso compositions of the late 1970's. Peters states that Becket's "Coming High" (circa 1977) was the Caribbean's first Ragga Soca or as Trinidad and Tobago now calls the genre, Groove Soca (7)."
I put that up to DEMONSTRATE that when I MENTIONED the 70's in my OPENING POST, it was not done without a STRONG SENSE of KNOWING its (RAGGA SOCA) BACKGROUND in VINCYLAND during that PERIOD in TIME.

Always remember that MUSIC is ever EVOLVING....PEOPLE are always EXPERIMENTING....and when a PEOPLE or a NATION UNDERSTAND and ACCEPT this as being the CASE, it is those FORWARD THINKING PEOPLE and NATION who should be GIVEN the ACCOLADES.

Moreover, CONSISTENCY is PARAMOUNT in this EQUATION and the ARRANGERS/PRODUCERS and ARTISTS/BANDS of this NATION have DEMONSTRATED a TRUE UNDERSTANDING and DEDICATION to the VINCY RAGGA SOCA STYLINGS, irregardless of the EXPERIMENTATION, over the years, heard within the SOUND/GENRE, thus they should be SHOWERED as the TRUE TRAILBLAZERS and INNOVATORS of RAGGA SOCA.

That being SAID, I will start out with the SONG that is GIVEN most of the CREDIT for the CREATION of the RAGGA SOCA trend in St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

This song was a MONSTER hit all over the Caribbean....and I MEAN all over the CARIBBEAN.

It is the FIRST SONG of its KIND in the SOCA/CALYPSO INDUSTRY that so ADEPTLY covered a TOPIC BRIMMING with CONTROVERSY in the CARIBBEAN, especially within the RASTAFARIAN and BLACK POWER movement of its TIME.

Those who had a STANCE, PRO or CON, on this CONTROVERSIAL topic, EMBRACED it, in some FORM or FASHION. It didn't hurt the fact of it being a REFRESHINGLY RICH and NEW sound/song in the region as well.

It was the FIRST SONG of its kind, within this particular industry, where SPOKEN WORDS were UTTERED, over a refreshingly DISTINCT SOUND/BEAT, at great LENGTH.

Pay close ATTENTION to the OPENING of this SONG....from the opening GUITAR STRINGS....the BASS....the horns....the drums....shak shak...and the SYNTHESIZER, all playing a prominent role in the track.....when you LISTEN to the INSTRUMENTAL intermissions, you will CLEARLY hear the R&B/FUNK feel of this track, as if you're LISTEN to a song from the SOUNTRACK of SUPERFLY or SHAFT.

This TRACK covers EVERYTHING heard in MUSIC........it has a POP feel....it has an R&B feel....it has a reggae FEEL....it has a SOCA feel...it has a CALYPSO feel....it has a FUNK feel....it has a JAZZ feel....a ROCK feel....you NAME it, the FEEL is there.

This TRACK is simply MUSICALLY RICH....A CLASSIC....way before its TIME in this INDUSTRY.

The ARTIST practically TALK/RAP THROUGHOUT this TRACK, something NEVER EVER ATTEMPTED SUCCESSFULLY at that time in this INDUSTRY......this was GROUNDBREAKING, INNOVATIVE....truly TRAILBLAZING.

I think I've BASICALLY covered most of I wanted to share about this CLASSIC TRACK.

That being the CASE, I give you the CLASSIC "COMING HIGH" by Alston "BECKET" Cyrus...ARRANGED by the LEGENDARY, Frankie 'The MAESTRO' McIntosh.
Old 03-16-2007, 09:04 PM   #11 (permalink)

I SHALL RETURN later....I have to FIX UP dis GYEL....she has an ITCH.

Ohhhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Old 03-16-2007, 09:07 PM   #12 (permalink)

I put that up to DEMONSTRATE that when I MENTIONED the 70's in my OPENING POST, it was not done without a STRONG SENSE of KNOWING its (RAGGA SOCA) BACKGROUND in VINCYLAND during that PERIOD in TIME.

Always remember that MUSIC is ever EVOLVING....PEOPLE are always EXPERIMENTING....and when a PEOPLE or a NATION UNDERSTAND and ACCEPT this as being the CASE, it is those FORWARD THINKING PEOPLE and NATION who should be GIVEN the ACCOLADES.

Moreover, CONSISTENCY is PARAMOUNT in this EQUATION and the ARRANGERS/PRODUCERS and ARTISTS/BANDS of this NATION have DEMONSTRATED a TRUE UNDERSTANDING and DEDICATION to the VINCY RAGGA SOCA STYLINGS, irregardless of the EXPERIMENTATION, over the years, heard within the SOUND/GENRE, thus they should be SHOWERED as the TRUE TRAILBLAZERS and INNOVATORS of RAGGA SOCA.

That being SAID, I will start out with the SONG that is GIVEN most of the CREDIT for the CREATION of the RAGGA SOCA trend in St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

This song was a MONSTER hit all over the Caribbean....and I MEAN all over the CARIBBEAN.

It is the FIRST SONG of its KIND in the SOCA/CALYPSO INDUSTRY that so ADEPTLY covered a TOPIC BRIMMING with CONTROVERSY in the CARIBBEAN, especially within the RASTAFARIAN and BLACK POWER movement of its TIME.

Those who had a STANCE, PRO or CON, on this CONTROVERSIAL topic, EMBRACED it, in some FORM or FASHION. It didn't hurt the fact of it being a REFRESHINGLY RICH and NEW sound/song in the region as well.

It was the FIRST SONG of its kind, within this particular industry, where SPOKEN WORDS were UTTERED, over a refreshingly DISTINCT SOUND/BEAT, at great LENGTH.

Pay close ATTENTION to the OPENING of this SONG....from the opening GUITAR STRINGS....the BASS....the horns....the drums....shak shak...and the SYNTHESIZER, all playing a prominent role in the track.....when you LISTEN to the INSTRUMENTAL intermissions, you will CLEARLY hear the R&B/FUNK feel of this track, as if you're LISTEN to a song from the SOUNTRACK of SUPERFLY or SHAFT.

This TRACK covers EVERYTHING heard in MUSIC........it has a POP feel....it has an R&B feel....it has a reggae FEEL....it has a SOCA feel...it has a CALYPSO feel....it has a FUNK feel....it has a JAZZ feel....a ROCK feel....you NAME it, the FEEL is there.

This TRACK is simply MUSICALLY RICH....A CLASSIC....way before its TIME in this INDUSTRY.

The ARTIST practically TALK/RAP THROUGHOUT this TRACK, something NEVER EVER ATTEMPTED SUCCESSFULLY at that time in this INDUSTRY......this was GROUNDBREAKING, INNOVATIVE....truly TRAILBLAZING.

I think I've BASICALLY covered most of I wanted to share about this CLASSIC TRACK.

That being the CASE, I give you the CLASSIC "COMING HIGH" by Alston "BECKET" Cyrus...ARRANGED by the LEGENDARY, Frankie 'The MAESTRO' McIntosh.
and without marvin scandrick, all this meant nothing.
Old 03-16-2007, 09:10 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 701
From RnB of course...yuh cyah read?

Only in St. Vincent...
Old 03-16-2007, 09:12 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 701
"Ragga Soca from St. Vincent & the Grenadines.

Michael Peters, Vincentian music aficionado credits Alston 'Becket' Cyrus for developing the Ragga Soca genre, with his experimentation of Rhythm & Blues flavors in his calypso compositions of the late 1970's. Peters states that Becket's "Coming High" (circa 1977) was the Caribbean's first Ragga Soca or as Trinidad and Tobago now calls the genre,
Groove Soca(7)."
Oho....is Groovy Soca we talking 'bout?

Got it.
Old 03-16-2007, 11:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
GWEH

What would make "Coming High" Ragga Soca?