Old 03-13-2007, 01:47 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,976
St. VINCENT and the GRENADINES MUSIC AWARDS

Skarpyon grabs 3 music awards

Skarpyon
Staff Reporter 09.FEB.07
Vincentian performer ‘Skarpyon’ stung the competition and ran off with three awards last Saturday night at the Fair of the Year at the Chamber of Commerce car park.

Skarpyon won the Song of the Year award and Collaboration of the Year award for his song ‘Leave Me Alone’ with Soca Artiste Jamesy P at the Hairoun Beer/Magic Gate sponsored event. He also took the Best Ragga Soca title with his song ‘Lights Down Low’.
The event’s producers had to battle the rain for most of the night but with every opportunity the show continued.

Reigning Soca Monarch Fireman Hooper took two of the trophies for Artiste of the Year and Entertainer of the Year. And the much coveted Man of the Year award went to Digicel Rising Star Kyron Baptiste.

Other winners on the night included Band of the Year HS Phaktor, Night Spot of the year Chappy’s, New Artiste of the Year – Rus-T, Female Artiste – Sexy Sugars, Social Commentary – Poosah and Best Reggae artiste – Abuza.

Saturday’s event also saw performances by Justice, Splendid, Rus-T and Yaphatoo.

LIGHTS DOWN LOW by SKARPYON.
Old 03-13-2007, 02:04 AM   #2 (permalink)

Skarpyon won the Song of the Year award and Collaboration of the Year award for his song ‘Leave Me Alone’ with Soca Artiste Jamesy P at the Hairoun Beer/Magic Gate sponsored event.

History was made when LEAVE ME ALONE BECAME the FIRST RAGGA SOCA chune of this STYLING to WIN ROADMARCH, EVER....in the HISTORY of CARNIVAL ROADMARCH songs in the CARIBBEAN.

So yes, VINCYLAND set the TREND, again.

Ohhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Old 03-13-2007, 07:58 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 153,684
bomani eh win nun
Old 03-13-2007, 09:27 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by lucian maddness View Post
bomani eh win nun
NAH!

The RIGHT PEOPLE won the AWARDS.

IN VINCYLAND, we doh go by NAME RECOGNITION...we BASICALLY make our DECISION BASED on the SONG....unless of course when the AWARD DIRECTLY DEALS with the INDIVIDUAL.

Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhh
Old 03-14-2007, 05:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)

Credits: 60,870
NAH!

The RIGHT PEOPLE won the AWARDS.

IN VINCYLAND, we doh go by NAME RECOGNITION...we BASICALLY make our DECISION BASED on the SONG....unless of course when the AWARD DIRECTLY DEALS with the INDIVIDUAL.

Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhh
Wait you sayin Bomani ent do too hot last year. I mean considering bruk up jaw in all he was a trooper so I must give him the credit. What is your take?
Old 03-15-2007, 12:30 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 120
I wanna ask allyuh where you can go to listen to the newest vincy soca that comes out?
Old 03-15-2007, 12:57 AM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
Wait you sayin Bomani ent do too hot last year. I mean considering bruk up jaw in all he was a trooper so I must give him the credit. What is your take?
I am SAYING that SKARPYON DESERVE the AWARDS he GOT.

If BOMANI was up for any of those AWARDS, he got BEATEN by the BETTER artist.

But I am sure that BOMANI will REBOUND in 2007.
Old 03-15-2007, 12:58 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by DatTriniSigma View Post
I wanna ask allyuh where you can go to listen to the newest vincy soca that comes out?
If you're LQQKING for SOCA for 2007.....VINCY MAS is in JUNE-JULY, so you will have to WAIT.
Old 03-15-2007, 01:00 AM   #9 (permalink)

If you're LQQKING for SOCA for 2007.....VINCY MAS is in JUNE-JULY, so you will have to WAIT.
Okay how bout vincy tunes in general?
Old 03-15-2007, 01:01 AM   #10 (permalink)

Okay how bout vincy tunes in general?
You can CHECK out TORONTOLIME.COM
Old 03-15-2007, 01:04 AM   #11 (permalink)

You can CHECK out TORONTOLIME.COM
Yea ... I check that site but to be honest they don't give you 20% of music that comes out of any island..... be it Trini B'dos Grenada or Vincy
Old 03-15-2007, 01:07 AM   #12 (permalink)

Yea ... I check that site but to be honest they don't give you 20% of music that comes out of any island..... be it Trini B'dos Grenada or Vincy
There are not too many SITES on the INTERNET where you can go and LISTEN to VINCY MUSIC.
Old 03-15-2007, 12:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
Vincy & Bajan

Credits: 1,826
Big Up Skarpyon! Dat man has serious talent!