Credits: 13,390
St.Lucia Power Soca Monarch 2009 Results
Here's the official results:
1. 368 points: Ricky T "Like A Jumbie" 2. 353 points: Islah Man "I want my money back" 3. 349 points: Super Man aka Pringles "Up up and Away" __________________ Get more guitar instrumentals at: http://www.youtube.com/user/chappahx http://www.myspace.com/chappahx |
Sweetness4life
Credits: 187,747
choopsssssss
dats all i will say...with dem majee performances mwen mem... __________________ Live life in concert with your values! Never be paralyzed! Don't wait for people to change! - Dr. Robert Brooks |
I agree. Real majee my girl
__________________ Get more guitar instrumentals at: http://www.youtube.com/user/chappahx http://www.myspace.com/chappahx |
DI GENERAL
Credits: 40,349
Ricky T eh Deserve where he is..... Pringles eh Deserve where he place
worst soca monarch in a long time |
Qualified Mixologist
Credits: 80,101
What they giving points on? RT had almost a full minute of dead air time when he was getting ready to catch his belly on fire lol. His performance was not on point i doh know what them judges was gathering points on.
__________________ Zot Ja Konnčt |
Sweetness4life
Credits: 187,747
Dat was some real majee last night...Q-pid dere begging for de waterman and de hose and nobody eh give de girl part of her presentation...real majee....
I eh know if Ricky-T wanted to do a Michael Jackson and get himself burnt with dat fire ting he was playing... Like I say every year is the same nonsense with dem judges..... __________________ Live life in concert with your values! Never be paralyzed! Don't wait for people to change! - Dr. Robert Brooks |
Credits: 10,917
de show was rell shit, but what u expect lucian soca dis year was mediocre
#8 (permalink) | ||
DI GENERAL
||
Rebelucian
Credits: 22,664
I didn't expect a good soca monarch because there are no quality songs this year...but what I saw last night was terrible..
You would think by now Ricky T would have stepped up his game after gaining some exposure overseas. That performance was terrible and he wouldn't place anywhere else in the world with that. Even though some of the other artists might not have international experience there are many other avenues to study and get pointers from other islands' performances. All they have to do is go on youtube. They need to cut down the number of performances to 10 or less. Right now it looks like anybody who is brave enough to perform a song gets a place in the soca monarch finals. Last night soca monarch just set our music back 5 years. They need to go back to the drawing board. I actually liked nintus the gospel man performance. Had good energy. Coco Farm ![]() |
DI GENERAL
I agree with that. But even though you have some shitty songs you can at least come up with some good presentation and I eh see that at all last night. Ricky T ting was BS. A whole heap of dead time... I was like what the heck is going on and da man win that? Dang!
__________________ Get more guitar instrumentals at: http://www.youtube.com/user/chappahx http://www.myspace.com/chappahx |
The Used
Credits: 64,588
The dude with the bush setup was on point. He had some folks in the crowd going ape shyt for his tune. I don't know who the lady was that started it off with the slow joint but it got on my nerves after a while. Esteban was...meh. I was diggin the Transformers joint but then the song was missing something...a lil more punch in it. I don't know who that chick was in the red that was singing "don't look for meh" but she was nice. Superman and T.J.'s performance was creative. The place was mad for their performance. The M.J. bit = AAAAAAAASS!!! Boooo!!! As for the Lucian Homie The Clown, nice tune. Isla Man = Just plain...pandemonium. People went just plain nuts for his joint. I think that joint would probably get over in TNT..maybe during Carnival Time. Put Isla Man and Bunji together on that money back track...damn. The tune TC (the dude with blue face paint) sung was hot. Real truth being spit on that one. Private 6 was promising...but missed something. Mashed the front rows up though. Ricky T's performance...*sigh*. What can be said that hasn't already been said. Great song, crowd was rabit for it....then the FIYAH!!! That there was just...omg...and...why. lol For my first time everseeing Qpid, I have to say it was real good. Nice song, ppl went nuts, and the bit before the song was nice. Too bad she ain't get her wataman...lol Great show. The blad guy that was MCing was funny as hell at times. But in truth, Isla Man really should've won it honestly. Ricky had everyone going nuts but Isla Man was just flawless in his performance. The show of unity at the end was classy. They should've gotten superman in on the action though. Anyway, not a great monarch, but a good monarch. Probably third behind SVG and TNT this year.
__________________ And all I had was the memory of what was so let's pretend it never mattered to us I hope this message finds you well Never thought I'd live to tell Just to survive we do what we can we read the maps and signs, and we make the plans by our design I write it down to get me by the worst time in my life Hawthorne Heights |
Registered Abuser
Credits: 607,075
last i saw, Ricky T was a poor performer. he makes good sings but he went from that to wining?
Rebelucian
Credits: 22,664
There were many complaints by the artists about the sound quality and the fact that the monitors were placed behind the artists to make space on the stage..as stated before, disappointing show..not expecting much from the upcoming Caribbean Soca Monarch either. Skinny Fabulous has a good chance of taking that one.