Credits: 1,571
St. Kitts 2004-2005 thoughts
I was sitting here, listening to a CD I got from SK of 2005 soca tunes and I'm fuming with jealousy for anyone that was down there. Talk about some chunes, each major band had chunes.
Then they had some songs that I didn't hear get much radio play but they were wicked none the less. Let me go down the list: Nu Vybes : Rubber Band is just INSANE, a friggin wicked song. Shoulder 2 Shoulder is ill too, not as hype as Rubber Band but in my opinion, close enough. Pour it On, heard it on the radio a few times, got outweighed by Rubber Band and Shoulder but this song is still hype, in my opinion, it would have been a hit song if there weren't other hits songs pushing it out of the hit category. That's when u know things are hype. Put up yu Hand, same thing as Pour it On, could have been a hit, but pushed out by other bigger hits. Jeez, life ain't fair. Runkututung, same deal as the other two. It just incites crazy bouncing which is what I live for. Man, Nu Vybes killed me this year. Small Axe Band, album wise, I think Nu Vybes beat them but Small Axe had the best song for carnival: Pressure is the sickest song out of SK carnival, actually, probably gonna be one of my top three songs for 2005. That song is just ill. Place Lock Down is a nice track, I love the concept of the song, it's rugged, but something in the way the man is singing the song is annoying me. Still, all around, it's a nice song. Incredible Bass Man, nice track, get's real ill when the chorus starts to kick in but still not over some of those Nu Vybes songs Signal, I think this is one of their better songs on the album, definitely is a hit song in my eyes 100 % Crime Free Definitely was a hit and understandably so. This song got a nice message, the singer has a good flow and the beat is tight, was feeling this one from the jump, definitely not better than Pressure though. Next band to really impress me was Grand Masters Band Tek u Money worth was an ill song, I got mad love for this track and it won St. Kitts roadmarch. Concept, wicked, beat, wicked, the song on a whole, wicked. All Out, this song took a day or two to grow on me, but once it did, it became one of my favorites out of St. Kitts this year. Tough beat, nice lyrics, a real good song. Crazy Jump Up, nice track, not as hot as the other ones but it was definitely nice, far from crap, just a nice track, and it incites crazy bouncing too which is always a plus Bend Back Style, is alright, can't complain. Other bands like Ultra Sonics and Tornado had their one good hit that were real hype. Personally, I think Ultra Sonics had more songs from Nevis Carnival that should have got played but alas, such are the inequalities of life, either way, Ultra is still a hype band. Songs like Swinging Time and Marshal Arts really did it for me as far as Ultra is concerned, hit songs as far as I'm concerned. Anyone who has the chance, check any/all of these songs out. If u know about St. Kitts carnival already, what songs u think are ill and aren't, the floor is open Last edited by small_island_descent; 02-19-2005 at 04:39 AM.. |
I also give Nu Vybes the edge concerning the albums, Small Axe in front on the tune, but to me its 100% Crime Free, my favourite for 2005 so far. Also have to name No Ting No Ring by Socrates, i like that one a lot.
Nevis has also been putting out very nice tunes apart from Ultra Sonics, Boomsy Hopping by Kassanova Band or Bounce Up by Odisi, to name two |
Credits: 152
*Before you marry and you put on the the ring rin
you better check out the ting ting, cause dat is a recipe for horn horn yuh gonna get*...TUUUUNNEEEEEEEEEEE!! |
Humbled
Credits: 1,005
would love to get my hand on some of them cd's!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ
Credits: 26,681