Credits: 1,714
speakin of harry belafonte
(thx 4 mentioning BnS in the 'does Jamaica have soca.....' thread)
what do allyuh think about him? at least musically.... i know he was not appreciated for the tunes for which he 'stole' or 'covered' and crossed over with from other calypsonians during the height of his success. was also accused of watering down calypso and portraying to be as 'white' as possible on album covers, catering to the u.s. audience, raping the calypso culture only to gain personal finances and list goes on and on and on... even calypsonian Louis Farrakhan at the time (current leader of Nation Of Islam then known as The Charmer) put out a scathing calypso about Belafonte and his 'donkey' (very funny and important calypso tune called 'Hold Em Joe'). after listening again to it lass nite i thought i'd bring up the topic and c what u guys thought about the whole issue. was it jealousy/envy on be1/2 of the calypsonians at the time or did belafonte do what he had to do in trying 2 'promote' calypso? salty |
Credits: 698
I curious to hear what de great Louis Walcott have tuh say...
but as fuh Harry...I really ent like he too much, but can't really hate on de man. He had some talent...saw ah market and proceeded tuh give de (white) people what dey want. Hate on he and de Andrews Sisters all we want, dey still help promote in some way, de genre tuh de rest ah de world. Tuh dis day li'l small white chirren duz be singing "Day-O...me say day, me say day, me say daaaaaaaaay-O...." while dey grandpappy still hummin' "Rum and Coca Cola".... |