Old 01-08-2009, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Soca Psycho

Credits: 4,737
Soca Songs that brings you back in time.

What soca songs that if you heard it in a fete, on the radio or even over the internet brings you back in time to happier days, or it brings you back to the very moment of when you 1st heard the song. Kinda like when old folks talk about classic R&B or even Soul music.

Here are a list of songs that when I hear them I feel young again....

Ok, although I wasn't born in St. Vincent my roots lies within it. And even though in my generation I was one of the early children in my family to be born here in the states. I was never away in my child hood from my Vincy roots specially the vincy soca music. Although I have alot of favorites to go with here are a few vincy songs that when I hear them now I can remember what and what happen when I heard these songs the 1st time. Starting with Alston “Becket” Cyrus.

Beckett- Teaser, "St Vincent I love you", To Much Iron, Small Pin, Gal a rush Me - Are just a few of his many hits that that when I listen to them or hear them. Takes me back to good times with my family. When my family was all together before time drew us apart the music that this man created is what I remember most. I won't say it kept us together but I've always here stories from my father and Uncles on how they grew up with Beckett when they was young...and blah, blah...blah and all this long winded stories which had has us laughing our heads off.

Next on the list is Winston Soso...Another classic vincy soca artist I grew up listening too. With classics like "How Some Men Love They Women", Ah Feel To Party Tonight,"Keep you I on the meat" with I've been trying years...and I mean years to find that damn song, and my all time fav... "I DOH MIND". Used to compete in my house to what soca music is played in rotation. "I DOH MIND" connects the most because I remember seeing my mother and Step-Father dancing to that song at there wedding back in the 80s. Plus it felt like the whole of St Vincent was there from family to friends. Nuff people flew up from SVG to party that day.

Now this next artist/group is not something that you would add to a fav in terms of a classic...well only in SVG. But Touch's "Kangaroo" is on my list. Why this song of all songs well it has history for me. Touch has many...many classics in SVG but the reason why I pick that song because "Kangaroo" came out the year I 1st when to vincy carnival. You see the previous times I went down was during the winter around X-mas. That year "Kangaroo" came out and it was that year Carnival was popping and my mother and step-father took me to almost all the events that was going down. From the battle of the band, the soca monarch, the beauty pageant, plus carnival day to watch the parade. Most of all that year was the 1st time I got to go on a ferry ride to the island of Mustique. Man I wish I could go back there right now.

Moving on there is Burning Flames. I'm not gonna sit here and tell you all the favs but I'm going give you just two. "Workey Workey" and "Sweet Island Girl"... Island Girl is on of my All time fav Burning flames songs. Sure they have alot...maybe to much to mention but Island Girl when I was young was the few song that i would dance to at the time when I was shy to dance in front of crowds.

Second Imji - Golo - Another song that brings me back in time. The 1st time i heard that song. It was on a video tape of the Soca Awards that year. The minute I heard that song on that tape I fell in love. Thank goodness for the internet because after years of not finding it despite my uncles, father and my step father not having it in there soca classic collection I found it via Kazaa...

Baron's - Feelin' It, Somebody and Don't Rock It So.... Baron is other soca classic artist that I grew up with. With to many hits to say these are my fav, but "Somebody" is my all time big it. This song also brings back happy times with family when we was all together distant relatives or not.

Other the honorable mentions of songs that take me back are:
Arrow- Long time, and Feeling hot
Byron Lee And The Dragonaires - Tiney Winey
Krosfyah Feat. Edwin Yearwood - Pump me up
Square One Feat. Andy Armstrong - Turn it around
Colin Lucas - Dollar Wine
Speady - Hold Ya Bam Bam
United Sisters - Whoa Donkey
Atlantik - All Aboard
Flyin' Cloud - Raise Yuh Hand
Zululighting - Hold Up Yuh Foot & Jump
Crazy - Nani Wine
Ajamu - Feeling To Party
David Rudder - The Hammer, High Mas
Duke - Thunder
Alison Hinds - Iron Bazodee

I'm gonna stop here I have tons more but I think I started with a good thing. But I'll return with more songs and the stories behind them.
Old 01-08-2009, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Gadget Freak

Credits: 4,936
I have too many to mention but Rudder and Tambu are always gonna be special for me.

A couple of days ago I heard Prince Unique's "Wine Yuh Waist" on 94.1FM and I was like

Trinidad used to be much nicer back then....
Old 01-08-2009, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Half Man - Half Beast

Credits: 27,273
Anything by baron particularly this one, it's crazy but I remember when everyone me my mom (family and friends) use to have fun and go clubbing like one big happy crowd age didn't make a difference old and young going to the same club and partying together. I was like 15-16yrs old then.

Baron - Somebody -

The best inheritance parents can give their children is
a few minutes of their time each day.
Old 01-08-2009, 07:14 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 4,424
Da Bhann - Close 2 U

CD Baby: DA BHANN: Phu Cha Ris Tik
Old 01-12-2009, 12:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Soca Psycho

Credits: 4,737
Well here is a few more songs:

Swallow - Wine On Something
Lord Kitchener - Sugar Bum Bum
Dalpin - Jouvert
Ron Pompey - Banana Police (I think I have the VHS video tape of the carnival the year this song came out )
Winston Soso - In the pan yard
Invader - Walk and wine
Tommy T - Tabanka (We any song by this guy always brings back memories of meeting him when I was younger)
Old 01-12-2009, 11:17 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 1,187

there are too many to mention... but The Mighty Sparrow has always remained in my memory bank!

With songs such as Lying Excuses, Magarita, Jean and Dinah, Doh give it up, all dem Tobago girls, Bag o' sugar, 10 to 1 is murder, Mr Walker, Congo Man.... to name a few!
Old 01-15-2009, 04:47 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 579
Don't forget Shorty, especially "Endless Vibrations" and "Sweet Music".
Old 01-15-2009, 05:06 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 140,722
Yeah buoyyy, I didn't see this THREAD until now. Ah go WUK on ah LIST.
Old 01-15-2009, 05:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Red Man

Credits: 3,130
Mighty Shadow

Soca start here for me

Old 01-16-2009, 08:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

Credits: 4,002
Originally Posted by bklynpsycho View Post
Other the honorable mentions of songs that take me back are:
Arrow- Long time, and Feeling hot
Byron Lee And The Dragonaires - Tiney Winey
Krosfyah Feat. Edwin Yearwood - Pump me up
Square One Feat. Andy Armstrong - Turn it around
Colin Lucas - Dollar Wine
Speady - Hold Ya Bam Bam
United Sisters - Whoa Donkey
Atlantik - All Aboard
Flyin' Cloud - Raise Yuh Hand
Zululighting - Hold Up Yuh Foot & Jump
Crazy - Nani Wine
Ajamu - Feeling To Party
David Rudder - The Hammer, High Mas
Duke - Thunder
Alison Hinds - Iron Bazodee

I'm gonna stop here I have tons more but I think I started with a good thing. But I'll return with more songs and the stories behind them.
Sounds like you woulda enjoy Soca 101 Vol 3.