passin thru
Credits: 25,714
Soca Riddim Rankings for the year so far...
These rankings are based on the 1)how sweet the instrumental sounds 2)the overall artists' deliveries on the riddim
Just my opinion.. 1) 3-Zero Riddim (Precision Productions) 2) Antilles Riddim (Precision Productions) 3) Spanish Fly Riddim (Fryktion) 4) Maserati Riddim (Juelio/NuGeneration Studios) 5) Cosmic Riddim (J-Rod Records) 6) Canejuice Riddim (Blood) 7) Magaroze Riddim (758 Studios) 8) Funny Kate Riddim (4th Dimension Productions) 9) Red Bull Riddim (Precision Producions) 10) 4D Riddim (1st Klase Productions) 11) 40ft Riddim (Madmen Productions) 12) Mosquito Riddim (Dutch Productions) 13) Sugah Dumplin Riddim (Victorious Productions) 14) Coca Cola Riddim (Rama Studios) Rankings may shuffle in upcoming weeks depending on future riddim releases and/or steam an already released riddim picks up. With that said--I dont see anything topping 3-zero for the rest of the year. ![]() *SHUFFLE UPDATE* 05/16/12 -Slo Wine Riddim drop out in the rankings. -Mosquito Riddim jumps in the rankings. Great combination of tunes. -Sugah Dumplin jumps back in the rankings. One of the purest groovy riddims to drop this year. -Coca Cola Riddim jumps back in rankings. Benjai "True Story" was just too big of a tune to fade out. -Canejuice Riddim moves up in the rankings Khiomal's "I Remember" is boss, and Lorenzo's "I come to party" gaining steam on the favorites playlist.-Funny Kate Riddim moves up in rankings. Maddzart "Wine Yo Body" gaining steam. Riddim Still boss ![]() -Cosmic Riddim & 4D Riddim added to the list, making this ting a top 14 Cosmic is the best Island Pop production this year imo (beating 40ft Riddim), with Bunji's "Cosmic Shift" being the biggest lyrical flow tune this year hands down, and Mr. Renzo's "Soca Rocket Ship" being a BIG under-rated tune. 4D is self explanatory, with Kes' "Stress Away" having the biggest music video of the year, and Swappi's "4D Gyal" being one of the biggest tunes this year.-Spanish Fly Riddim moves up in rankings. Patrice Roberts "A Little Wine" is looking to be the FRESHEST summer anthem at this point. Last edited by Kobra Klutch; 05-16-2012 at 01:38 PM.. |
Registered Member
Credits: 1,177,085
At some POINT, if and when I get the CHANCE, I will EXPLAIN WHY. PATRICE, PROBLEM CHILD, DANEEL and DRUE DELIVERIES TOP all others. Again, I will EXPLAIN this if and when I get the CHANCE. SPANISH FLY #1 RIDDIM for 2012, so far. |
passin thru
Funny Kate, like I said before, the riddim itself sounds great but the artists' overall delivery could have been better.3-zero is hard to beat. "Bottle Of Rum" & "Peoples Champion" are classics ![]() Last edited by Kobra Klutch; 05-08-2012 at 05:46 PM.. |
Credits: 9,080
People's Champion is DEF a classic!!!
Credits: 218,942
Credits: 15,771
COSMIC COSMIC COSMIC COSMIC
Most Underrated riddim of the year!!! |
| Sponsored Links | |||||||||
|||||||||
Credits: 218,942
1. 3-Zero
2. Antilles 3. 40 FT 4. Maserati 5. 4D 6. Magaroze Last edited by RedBlackNWhite; 05-16-2012 at 11:44 AM.. |
passin thru
Forgot about Cosmic & 4d Riddim--Cosmic defintely up there though, fareal
__________________ "Trinidad & Tobago--We a real vibrant life people, we a real happy people, we a real glorious people..." -Isaac Blackman: "Sweet Music" |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Credits: 70,150
Putting aside national bias most of the top ten soca riddims I have heard so far for this year are all from Trini producers or feature Trini artists being the highlights on the riddims.
The rest of the islands simply need to raise their game to avoid the Trini soca artists invasion during their various Caribbean Carnivals this summer! ![]() The days of Caribbean people being willing to accept substandard music just because of blind patriotism are over and it will be all for the better in the long term music quality wise! ![]() We now live in a global Caribbean village where folks can easily smell their own $hit when they walk back thru their door! ![]() __________________ Catch me as Soca PhD Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (91.6FM); Every Tueday 6-8pm & Friday 8-10pm GMT On www.HavitLive.co.uk (99.1FM); www.facebook.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney-Soca, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz and the Biggest, Best & Most Influential Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 05-16-2012 at 12:12 PM.. |
Credits: 103,719
so you saying the riddim is not top 10. its the fact that a trini on the riddim makes it a top IYO. Dude some of that stuff you say of here makes no sense, and to top it off you have the nerve to state that statement with "putting national bias aside?????" you not serious my man and you conclude with this another one of your back handed compliments The days of Caribbean people being willing to accept substandard music just because of blind patriotism are over and it will be all for the better in the long term music quality wise! as long as it is set to trini standard right. |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
If you don't agree then that's your prerogative as I don’t need you to agree with me. Last time I checked Soca Chat was a forum where we can all give our honest opinions on the music. I don't expect you to agree with all my opinions but my above honest opinion on the soca riddims I have heard so far for 2012 will remain the same until I hear new stuff to change my opinion. You seem to be getting a little desperate to try to pull me up on stuff I now post as if I am not entitled to my own opinion just as much as you are entitled to yours. By the way have you heard of a Trinbago artist called Prince Unique? And did you know that after Ed Watson who regularly fused cadence with soca that he was one of the first soca artists to special in fusing zouk with soca? Just thought I'd throw that one in as you seem to be getting desperate to try and pull me up on anything I post but this time I am not joking! ![]() __________________ Catch me as Soca PhD Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (91.6FM); Every Tueday 6-8pm & Friday 8-10pm GMT On www.HavitLive.co.uk (99.1FM); www.facebook.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney-Soca, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz and the Biggest, Best & Most Influential Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 05-16-2012 at 12:44 PM.. |
.......not ah shotta
Credits: 8,265
well last time i check IMIX was a forum where people call people out on just that "their honest opinion" but i did not attack your opinion, i still feel you are entitled to that LOL. i particularly highlighted what i took issue with. You conclusion lacks merit, and you can't argue that a riddim outsite of tnt is a good riddim only if a trini artist on it (can you provide me with an example of this.) futher more you have this slight of hand way of giving compliment, as if you can;t give a compliment to someone else if you don't highlight some kinda trini influence or standard. and your attempts to highlight that you are not being bias further emphasizes you lack of said ability which is shown in u pick 10 riddim from trini as the top riddims. BS anyway carry on with you top ten..... Last edited by bhalistix; 05-16-2012 at 12:59 PM.. |
Repect Our Soca Pioneers
Read what I said carefully without emotion and then you will realise that it was my honest opinion and I had every right to give mines. It seems that is ok for folks on Imix to big up non-T&T artists and producers for the quality of their work but as soon as it is T&T artists and producers being given some well deserved credit that certain characters on here get oversensitive and start feeling wounded. I was hoping you are not one of those sad characters but maybe I was wrong. Sorry to say but my opinion on this top 10 riddims assessment is matched by general reactions to songs on the riddims in Soca fetes and on Soca radio shows here in London so I have total confidence that my opinion on the top 10 riddims released so far 2012 is based in reality. Keep trying your best to pull me up though but be very careful that you don't end up being just a Lucian version of VP in the process! ![]() __________________ Catch me as Soca PhD Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (91.6FM); Every Tueday 6-8pm & Friday 8-10pm GMT On www.HavitLive.co.uk (99.1FM); www.facebook.com/socaphd email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!! Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney-Soca, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz and the Biggest, Best & Most Influential Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology! Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!! Last edited by Socapro; 05-16-2012 at 01:31 PM.. |
if anything maybe you are the one who needs to read carefully, and stop contradicting yourself. I don't need you to post you top ten because you have already said this "Putting aside national bias most of the top ten soca riddims I have heard so far for this year are all from Trini producers or feature Trini artists being the highlights on the riddims." a logical conclusion by anyone reading this would be the 10 producers you pick would be from trinidad and if by any chance you happen to choose non trinidad riddim it would be a riddim that features a trini artist - say kes on the magarose riddim. again i feel the need to say to you i could careless what ur top ten riddims are... but its asinine to make a statement like "Putting aside national bias most of the top ten soca riddims I have heard so far for this year are all from Trini producers or feature Trini artists being the highlights on the riddims." this and not have someone point out to you that u are infact being BIAS and pro trinidad, a position you are perfectly entitle to embrace. |

9Likes