Old 07-15-2004, 12:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
el n00ņo

Credits: 14,977
Thumbs down Soca remixes (my opinion...)

In my opinion, most of them are a waste of time. Most "remixes" are the same song with a different beat or barely any different from the original. Are they made just to fill up space on an album?

Can anyone give me examples of where this is NOT true and the remix is as good or hotter than the original?
Old 07-15-2004, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 2,899
I like the remixes done by Chris Allman...most are not available on cd though.
Old 07-15-2004, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 9,988
everybody take ah jump take ah jump take ah jump up now, start to wave start to wave start to wave up now, start to wine start to wine start to wine up now, cuz...

IT'S CARNIVAL...

best remix ever...
Old 07-15-2004, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva
everybody take ah jump take ah jump take ah jump up now, start to wave start to wave start to wave up now, start to wine start to wine start to wine up now, cuz...

IT'S CARNIVAL...

best remix ever...

agreed also the remix for Soca Train by Maximus
Old 07-15-2004, 01:44 PM   #5 (permalink)

I think it's ok so long as they not tryin to change the original music from say...the treason tune that goes ON THE PROMENADE. I hated that remix. But road mixes are cool sometimes. Sak Pase, ragamuffin, Mash Up n Buy Back....all of those were cool. It's Carnival also...so don't knock em all.
Old 07-15-2004, 01:54 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 418
Good remixes

AND WHAT ABOUT SQUARE ONE'S AYE AYE AYE & 25 REMIX (Till the truck reach down to Frederick Street!!)

Now allyuh cah say dem wasn't good!
Old 07-15-2004, 01:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
tramericanjr

scrunter and 3suns song was agood remix

Last edited by tramericanjr; 07-15-2004 at 02:19 PM..
Old 07-15-2004, 02:03 PM   #8 (permalink)

:devil
Originally Posted by tramericanjr
scrunter and esuns song was agood remix
Old 07-15-2004, 02:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
tramericanjr

Originally Posted by Rummy
:devil

it wasnt a good remix??????
Old 07-15-2004, 02:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
el n00ņo

Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva

IT'S CARNIVAL...

best remix ever...
Remix from what? What's the original?
Old 07-15-2004, 02:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
el n00ņo

Originally Posted by Rummy
I think it's ok so long as they not tryin to change the original music from say...the treason tune that goes ON THE PROMENADE. I hated that remix. But road mixes are cool sometimes. Sak Pase, ragamuffin, Mash Up n Buy Back....all of those were cool. It's Carnival also...so don't knock em all.
I said most, not all.
Old 07-15-2004, 02:52 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 2,707
Originally Posted by amprincess
agreed also the remix for Soca Train by Maximus

i heard a dance remix of this song.. on a dance track... it is the hottest thing i have ever heard.
Old 07-15-2004, 05:36 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 140,831
The best remixes in soca are Kevin Lyttle featuring Alison Hinds with "Turn Me On" and Kevin Lyttle and Trini Jacobs with "Sexy Ways."
Old 07-16-2004, 12:51 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 19,793
Thumbs down

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
The best remixes in soca are Kevin Lyttle featuring Alison Hinds with "Turn Me On" and Kevin Lyttle and Trini Jacobs with "Sexy Ways."
I must say I really didn't like that tmo remix...thought I would cuz ah usually love most anything alison touches...but Kevin soundin real bad on that one...like they didn't fix his effects, or the mix down wasn't too good, can't place it...but ah sorry Kevin sound like some kinda animal being put to death on that remix...he sounds betta in de originals...

my opinion my opinion my opinion my opinion

As for other remixes...I doh even really understand this whole topic because that seems to be the case in most remixes, period...not just soca....dats why it's called a remix and not a new song...
Old 07-16-2004, 12:53 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 140,831
Originally Posted by 1trini-gyal
I must say I really didn't like that tmo remix...thought I would cuz ah usually love most anything alison touches...but Kevin soundin real bad on that one...like they didn't fix his effects, or the mix down wasn't too good, can't place it...but ah sorry Kevin sound like some kinda animal being put to death on that remix...he sounds betta in de originals...

my opinion my opinion my opinion my opinion

As for other remixes...I doh even really understand this whole topic because that seems to be the case in most remixes, period...not just soca....dats why it's called a remix and not a new song...
Well, like you said, it is your opinion, however flawed it is. So I will leave it at that.