Old 04-21-2008, 05:14 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 140,998
SOCA MUSIC n MORAL DECADENCE

Soca Music and Moral Decadence

By Dr. Kwame Nantambu
March 25, 2008

As quiet as it is kept, Trinbagonians seem to be in long-term denial that there is a direct correlation between Soca music and moral decadence in TnT. As of this writing, the evidence is very clear and convincing that immorality and public sexual vulgarity have surpassed the nadir of their bottomless pit.

Indeed, there was a time "back-in-the-day" when "smut" in Calypso was respectful of and to women; this genre of popular music not only contained a serious, message-oriented story-line but any sexual behavior/activity was also implicit and left to the imagination.

Today, however, in the era of Soca music, sexuality and rudeness, albeit "smut", are in your face, raw, explicit and up close and personal. Nothing is left to the imagination, period.

From a comparative point of view, when Sparrow sang "Mae Mae", one could have visualized/imagined Sparrow picking up this respected "girl" named Mae Mae at the railway in Port-of-Spain and both of them took a taxi "straight to Claxton Bay."

The story-line allowed one's imagination to visualize both of them laying on the carpet and then Mae Mae started "catching fits". One could also imagine the nature of the sexual act in which they were engaged when in the heat of passion Mae Mae groans and moans: "yuh making meh feel so weak, stop Sparrow stop---stop dat."

At the end of their sexual escapade, Sparrow deduces that when "ah man finish, I think is foolish to play lickrish"; ergo, as the true gentleman that he is, Sparrow humbly and respectfully suggests that Mae Mae should take the remainder of the rum and give it to her "man" when she got home.

This was civilized, respectful, moralized and enjoyable "smut" in Calypso at its zenith. The lyrics did not demean, devalue nor dehumanize Mae Mae; she was treated as a lady even though she was "picked up" by Sparrow. She was not treated like a piece of meat sans human dignity and moral value/worth.

In a similar vein, when Kitchener sang "Sugar Bum Bum", the lady involved named Audrey, was treated with utmost respect and human dignity. There was a clear story-line in the Calypso in terms of the sexual act in which they were engaged. One could have imagined Kitchener's enjoyment of Audrey's "sugar" to the extent that it made him "feel ten feet tall."

The lyrics of "Sugar Bum Bum" did not demean, devalue nor dehumanize Audrey; she was also treated as a lady. In addition, the lyrics did not conjure up in the mind of male Trinbagonians that they should wine behind the bum bum of the first woman that passes by. Men kept their "rocket" in their "pocket" after listening to the tune; it was morally enjoyable.

The significant point that is being made here is that the lyrics of these two Calypsos did not precipitate any scintilla of publicly explicit, lewd, sexually immoral, vulgar, pelvic gyrating behavior by and from Trinbagonians. On the contrary, Trinbagonians basically listened to and totally enjoyed these Calypsos rather than act out their implicit, hidden sexual message. These Calypsos had a moral modem of their own.

Sadly and ironically, the same moral tone does not hold true in the case of Soca music. The fact of the matter is that Soca music and its lyrics precipitate and bring out the publicly lewd, explicit, sexually immoral, vulgar, pelvic gyrating behavior by and from Trinbagonians. Nothing is left to the imagination.

The fact of the matter is that a typical Soca song has absolutely no serious story-line but is replete with sexually inspired/driven/laden reactions. In essence, the behavioral reactions to Soca music and its lyrics represent the simulation of public sexual intercourse in front and behind by adults with clothes on.

More specifically, when one listens to Soca music today, sexual, pelvic gyration and winin' are automatic, conscious reactions. Lyrics and story-line become totally irrelevant.

Soca music today is such that instead of presenting a descent, respectful skit to render a song, the Soca artiste comes on stage armed with a "wuka man"---"every body wukin, wukin." Needless to say, every "hip" Trinbagonian, including the average young child, already knows the real sexual translation of the word "wukin." Who is fooling whom, my fellow Trinbagonians? Let's get real.

What's the message these adult Soca artistes are giving to our young, impressionable and ever attentive children?

At this crucial immoral juncture, this writer totally refuses to give any copy to the annual tasteless, disgusting, denigrating, demeaning, disgraceful and induced-vomiting but sold-out "international Soca monarch competition"--- public pornography by adults with clothes on.

The poignant question that comes to the fore is: Does Soca music represent any modicum of progress in TnT's musical repertoire? This question must be couched within the context of human behavior and values. It must also be clearly understood that music not only represents a people's module for entertainment but, most importantly, it also reflects their values and moral codes/standards of behavior in every sphere.

The fact of the matter is that the physical reaction to Soca music is nothing more than public porn performed by adults with clothes on, period. It is at this immoral juncture that moral decadence in TnT rears its ugly head.

Furthermore, this moral decadence is also omnipresent on the TV screen on Carnival days---public pornography by adults with skimpy clothes on. And, of course, in typical Trini denial syndrome, the raison d'etre for such public immoral pornographic behavior is that Trinbagonians want "to free up". Give me a break, please!

The fact of the matter is that in the heydays of Calypsos, children were advised/admonished to "go to school and learn well"; however, in today's Soca music hype, apparently, children are conditioned to go to school and learn how to wine well.

The stark reality is that children observe, admire and adore adults who publicly gyrate and wine to Soca music in $3,000 plus bikini costumes on Carnival days "as if they never christen"; then, these children return the favor and act out, duplicate and xerox this same adult, public lewd, sexual, pelvic gyrating, immoral, vulgar behavior in their school uniforms at school via cell phone pornography at $5 a frame.

"Monkey see, monkey do." What's the problem? Soca music made the adults and young school children do it, period.

However, the scary scenario is that all this Soca music-inspired/driven immoral madness and "wukin" are taking place amidst the reality that 60 per cent of newly infected HIV/AIDS cases are among Trinbagonians 15-34 years of age. "This is madness, total madness."

The truism is that on the one hand, no sane Trinbagonian would dare deny that Soca music focuses on, emphasizes and zeroes in on the use of a woman's "second brain" with all its multi-dimensional, multi-faceted and multi-circular oceanic attributes and skills while on the other hand, it not only diminishes but also relates the use of a woman's "first brain" as an exercise in moral futility to the nth degree.

In the final analysis, it seems logical to conclude that in its present lyrical format/structure, Soca music is the overt transmission belt and/or medium of exchange for the ubiquitous existence and prevalence of sexual promiscuity and moral decadence in TnT.

The responsibility now rests squarely and directly on the shoulders of all Soca artistes to turn this immoral, decadent values clock back in a moral direction---young people, albeit children, are looking, watching and imitating. Show them that you care, please.

Shem Hotep ("I go in peace").

Dr. Kwame Nantambu is a part-time lecturer at Cipriani College of Labour and Co-operative Studies and University of the West Indies.

Trinicenter.com - Dr. Kwame Nantambu - Soca Music and Moral Decadence
Old 04-22-2008, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 945
This makes an interesting read also...

‘Slow wine, push back, and bend over’ - Carnival spirit or slackness?

Saturday August 11 2007

Commentary

by ZIA

Bend over, Bend over … she don’t want it from the left side, she don’t want it from the right side, she don’t want it when she sitting down, she don’t want it from the front side … back shot … wha de gal dem want … back shot

And this blasted continuously from speakers and airwaves throughout the Carnival season, with enough airtime and street play to award it the second runner-up in the road march competition. The conduct that followed suit though, portrayed by many mas' players, were perceived from various angles.

For some, this is what Carnival is all about: letting loose, forgetting any moral inkling and “get on bad”. So with a woman’s foot atop a man’s shoulder, or her face inches from the ground as she “bend over” and “takes it” from the man, it’s all smiles and good fun for some people.

Others pretend to find it appalling. Yet, while turning up their noses, they continue to take snap shot after snap shot of the lewd behaviour.

The melody of the song is catchy and it may move you to dance; the message in the song needs no wit or philosophy degree to interpret. So while this song sings of the favourite sexual position for many men, the women find it amusing and obey.

Forget that they’re upstanding members of society, forget that in the bank the following morning the plastered smile and perfect make-up with polished manicures will be acting like they’re better than many people, forget that these women will be shooting down many sisters with dirty looks because they see themselves as “high-soci”.

During Carnival, especially while in the parade, all is forgotten and high airs are tossed aside as she “bend over” and smiles, laughs even, while a man not even dances behind her, but displays the action of mating dogs.

The argument

Of course the argument is made that this is what is seen in other Caribbean islands, and other countries. In Brazil and for Mardi Gras in New Orleans, for example, the mas' players run though the streets in nothing but thongs (men included), and sometimes nothing at all. Some people “disguise” their nudity by adorning full body paints in artistic designs – but they’re still naked. I wonder if one day those expressions of mas' and celebration will reach our little twin-island state?

A lot of revellers will tell you that because it’s Carnival – a season of unity and inclusion that dispels barriers of race, socio-economical status and the like – this behaviour is acceptable. The dismissal of civility and decorum is the order of the day, and those who turn their noses up either can’t dance, are jealous or have no business being amidst the festivities.

What about the children?

One of the most appalling sights during the parade, besides watching my fellow sisters act like common prostitutes in the streets, was the vulgarity they displayed, sometimes purposefully in front of children.

Imagine seeing a grown woman, perhaps in her mid-30s, ground herself by placing both hands on ground and pushing her derriere in a little boy’s face – no older than four. The poor child looked paralysed while the woman continued to gyrate, as the woman who accompanied the child took pictures.

Sure I assumed the woman knew this child, and sure it may have been amusing to see this grown woman “put it on” on an unsuspecting toddler who did not know what to do but just stand there.

But should this innocent four-year-old grow up to be a pervert, womaniser or worse, will these same women remember this action? Sure some may argue that it was one incident, but when pardon is given, why not another pardon later down, and another?

When we argue with our young men and even our adult men for treating women as nothing more than 10-cent night workers, we forget that having ourselves on display as just that during this time paves the way for such discrepancies.

What about our young women? The adults in this society are so quick to chastise our teenage girls about their bad decisions, mistakes and their lack of ability to make proper overtures. But when these young women see older women behaving in less than lady-like mannerisms on the road, why should they understand that this on only acceptable during Carnival and no other time in the year.

How do you explain to a young girl or an impressionable teenager that she is to conduct herself with pride and self value, that she should not invite members of the opposite sex to talk to her or treat her in any indecent way, when she’s going to see adult women bending over, their faces to the ground “taking it” from the back?

Can you say hypocrite?

Don’t get me wrong. Wining is a part of our culture. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with members of the opposite sex dancing together, even if it is a little wine. And we should, as adults, create environments where our teenagers can socialise with each other. But we can’t expect our youth to exhibit decent behaviours and proper decorum when we’re giving them vulgarity, lewdness and raunchy sexuality to emulate.

Where to draw the line?

Yes, for the first time in my life I played mas'. And I was having a good time, even though I had to keep running from some guy who wanted to wine behind of me (I don’t dance with people I don’t know), I enjoyed myself. That is until Back Shot began to play and some of the women in my section (notably the larger ones too) lost all expressions of control and “dem bruk out”.

What really grossed me out, besides seeing women's crotches everywhere I looked, was when one couple took it to the extreme. With her leg thrown over the man’s elbow, her body moving up and down repeatedly in a lewd manner over the man’s middle (which was bad enough), the man then proceeded to put his hand under the woman’s underwear. Are you laughing? Are you appalled? Or are you dismissing it as Carnival spirit? And no, I’m not lying. There were about five other mas players besides me who saw this atrocity.

Can you remember last year’s chart topping song, Quad? If you examine the basic movement for that song, it’s more or less the same as the “bend over” hit for this summer. The execution, however, creates a vast difference between the two with the quad being a fun dance for anyone (my daughter loves that dance) as opposed to the uncouth face-to-the-ground-take-it-from-the-back movements for the “back shot” song.

When children see and hear these songs, they copy the behaviour of the adults they see. Is it acceptable for a five-, 10- or even 15-year-old girl to bend over and take it from the back from some guy? So where do you really draw the line?

And remember, the people who make up the front rows in the crowds that are lining the streets the parade are the children.

Controlling the spirit

As a police officer explained, “You can’t stop the people from doing what they want to do or behaving like that.”

You really can’t tell an adult that he/she shouldn’t behave in a certain way, especially at all inclusive public events.

But perhaps the media can be more gracious in what they choose to show on the TV. There are some camera men, and I commend them, who refuse to show any lewd behaviour. They keep the camera on the faces, and if there’s a wide shot that looks like the subjects are about to get out of control, they return the focus to the faces.

There are other cameramen, however, who seem to

Last edited by JoeBoi; 04-22-2008 at 05:02 PM..
Old 04-22-2008, 01:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
lovelivelife

Credits: 277
^ Got the message with the first one but thank you for sharing
Old 04-22-2008, 01:06 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by kiwistarapple View Post
^ Got the message with the first one but thank you for sharing
Old 04-22-2008, 10:25 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 34,899
And some ppl have the nerve to talk about Dancehall ***SMH***

Maybe I-Wayne was right when he made reference to devil music
Old 04-22-2008, 10:43 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 140,998
Originally Posted by Apocalypto View Post

Old 04-22-2008, 02:32 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 160,142
I prefer the 2nd article she seems to take the complexity of the issue into consideration. The first sounds like and old geezer.

JoeBoi where the continuation :

Old 04-22-2008, 03:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
SupaCalaFragilistik

Credits: 140
I prefer the 2nd article she seems to take the complexity of the issue into consideration. The first sounds like and old geezer.

JoeBoi where the continuation :
Me too.. I think it's because the 2nd article references a particular song. The 1st article the author mentions specific songs and their lyrics, but neglected to do the same for today's lyrics/songs. So I was left wondering what song (s) is he referencing.
Old 04-22-2008, 04:15 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by MuSiQuE View Post
Me too.. I think it's because the 2nd article references a particular song. The 1st article the author mentions specific songs and their lyrics, but neglected to do the same for today's lyrics/songs. So I was left wondering what song (s) is he referencing.
To me:
Bikini like costumes have always been a part of it since I was small. Maybe if the argument was made that there were more traditional costumes that would have been better.

There was always slack behaviour on the road.

His "wukkin up" double entendre allusion does not take into consideration regional vocabulary ie. in Barbados Wukkup, wukkin up means just that and NOT sex. Maybe I'm naive but I never took that song to mean anything more than wining.

If I'm not mistaken the "wine like yuh never christen" phrase may have been taken from David Rudder considered the High Priest of calypso/soca not some smutty, talentless, noname artist.

I do agree some of the carrying on on the road for carnival may not be for kids but guess what thats why there are Kiddies Carnival Parades!

Yes I agree present day lyrics may not be as latent as days of yore but he is also comparing 2 different genres calypso of 60s etc vs soca.... thats like comparing reggae and dancehall some categories can't and shouldn't be compared.
Also with the advent of groovy soca its difficult to believe he thinks soca marginalizes females, in fact I think it celebrates them.

I think it is up to people to raise their children. Carnival is a long 5 day weekend. If you don't like the imagery don't let your kid watch the videos, carry them to kiddies carnival and at family gatherings tell ppl have broughtupcy around yuh child. If you are in public you control where you carry your child and if the environment is not one you approve of simply remove yourself.

Old 04-22-2008, 04:30 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 895
Hey, it could be worse, after all, its just about sex.

At least soca is not focused on lyrics about guns, killing people and smoking crack.
Old 04-22-2008, 05:01 PM   #11 (permalink)

sorry taj...for some reason the entire article doesn't appear online
Old 04-22-2008, 05:16 PM   #12 (permalink)
lovelivelife

Credits: 277
Originally Posted by Apocalypto View Post

Dear A poc ca lyp to! Do bring reggea music into this thread! focus on the article so that people will not bring up sum big long cocky argument about whose music is better, whose island betta yada yada. yuh nuh tired? bloodseed
Old 04-22-2008, 05:27 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by JoeBoi View Post
sorry taj...for some reason the entire article doesn't appear online
too bad

Old 04-22-2008, 05:34 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 34,899
Originally Posted by kiwistarapple View Post
Dear A poc ca lyp to! Do bring reggea music into this thread! focus on the article so that people will not bring up sum big long cocky argument about whose music is better, whose island betta yada yada. yuh nuh tired? bloodseed
but certain & certain ppl love Mi sey one genre more slack dan di other

dey luv fi talk bout how dem creative and di pickney dem don't know wha di tune bout . dam hypocrits

I mean I went to soca monarch last year and watch some guy talking bout him get cold sweat and he cummin cummin cummin I guess thats considered good wholesome family music to dem
Old 04-22-2008, 08:48 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 2,478
World was in moral decay since human beings walked this Earth. More violence was visited on this Earth "in the name of the Lord" more than soca ever will do in its short existance.