islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Seawall
  • 1 Post By TriniTrini

Old 02-18-2012, 11:30 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 39,969
Soca from the Mother Continent

Some African soca from my collection. Most of the selections originate in Ghana, Sierra Leone and Liberia. Of course, calypso and highlife share a long history.

Sweet highlife soca mix by Pozo Hayes From Ghana.

-

Not straight ahead soca, but a tune that reflects the various dance styles that were popular in NY during the late 1970's. The soca link becomes clear as the chune progresses.

"Every onlooker is either a coward or a traitor." — Frantz Fanon

'It was 'Maestro' who wrote "Endless Vibration" for 'Shorty'. He used to write all those songs for 'Shorty' and he also wrote for 'Sparrow'. "Sa Sa Ya" and all those songs were written by 'Maestro'. Plenty people wrote for 'Sparrow'." — Winsford 'Joker' Devine

Old 02-18-2012, 11:37 AM   #2 (permalink)

Pan African mix from Ghana. Pauline Oduro has been based in Ghana for the last few decades and has worked with Kitch and other calypsonians.

From a great CD of Sierra Leone music called Timeless Classics.

Enabling disabled. Couldnt enable my mp3 of the song either.
From Sierra Leone, a mix of Congolese, soca and highlife.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8LOJlR3_nG0

I'll post more when i get some issues worked out. Also, most of the older soca fans should be aware of African soca classics by bunny Mack and Wagadudu.

'It was 'Maestro' who wrote "Endless Vibration" for 'Shorty'. He used to write all those songs for 'Shorty' and he also wrote for 'Sparrow'. "Sa Sa Ya" and all those songs were written by 'Maestro'. Plenty people wrote for 'Sparrow'." — Winsford 'Joker' Devine

Last edited by Seawall; 02-18-2012 at 11:49 AM..
Old 02-18-2012, 03:45 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 19,627
seawell, check de stuff coming from uganda. check bobi wine, ragga dee, qute kay(?) and toniks.
Old 02-18-2012, 05:09 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by winn dixie View Post
seawell, check de stuff coming from uganda. check bobi wine, ragga dee, qute kay(?) and toniks.
Thanks, i'll have to look them up. I do have a few CDs from Uganda (In my quest to collect music from every nation on the continent), but it's Congolese influenced rumba.
TriniTrini likes this.

Old 02-18-2012, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 4,278
thought the title said something else lol
Old 02-22-2012, 06:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Unique woman

Credits: 126,440
If you truly love soca give the songs a listen.

And better yet if you like calypso too.
MANISHWATERS likes this.

When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou)

Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.

Old 02-22-2012, 07:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Unique woman

Could you share these please?

Old 02-22-2012, 08:11 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
Could you share these please?
dont kno how to tranfer stuff from youtube to thread on imix.

if you want to give uh listen, do this:uganda music on youtube soca
Old 02-22-2012, 09:35 AM   #9 (permalink)

Here's one....

One more. Seems like a ragga, soca, and hip hop mix. I know of the Bongo Flava movement that's been going on in East Africa for at least a decade, but i wasn't aware of soca influenced tracks by the youths.

Here's Tanzania's lady JayDee.
This is more East African rumba.

More zoukish beat

Old 02-23-2012, 06:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
Unique woman

I wanted you to share it because I want to hear it and I think others should hear it right in this thread. But I should go to youtube also to start a journey to hearing song after song after song.

Leh meh give you a little tutorial

When you are on you tube on the page of a video you wish to share

1) Click Share
2) Click Embed
3) Copy Everything which popped up
4) Paste in a thread on islandmix.
Note: if you click quote for a post with a video you will see what was pasted for the video.

Hope this helps.

Thanks Seawall for the videos you posted yesterday!

Old 02-23-2012, 07:17 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 58,717

reallly its not hard the EMBED CODE is underneath the video a couple clicks away man... eh eh

Digga D - Unity Krew (UK)

www.twitter.com/diggasoca
www.largeradio.com/ every sundays 4pm to 6pm US (8-11pm UK)
http://calaloo.podOmatic.com
www.ustream.tv/channel/diggasoca
www.myspace.com/diggasoca

Old 02-23-2012, 05:00 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
reallly its not hard the EMBED CODE is underneath the video a couple clicks away man... eh eh
are vex because i dont how to do dat? tanks fuh de knowledge, appreciate it.

life is bout learning dude. i am greatly dat u are contributing to dat learning.

keep it up. dis was a teaching moment for us. i learned sumtin from you today. again tanks fuh de info. and remember, if dont kno how to do sumtin, dont hide your ignorance - let others kno dat you dont kno. and let de learning process begin. tanks uh ton

little fusion of soca and reggae from uganda

Last edited by winn dixie; 02-26-2012 at 09:32 AM..
Old 02-29-2012, 08:49 AM   #13 (permalink)

From my vinyl collection: African Connexion was a British based African group that fused Afro pop, disco, and Caribbean influences.

Old 02-29-2012, 08:57 AM   #14 (permalink)

Ghana's Lady Talata. The French lyrics may be aimed at the Ivorian or Togolese market.

Hilton Fyle from Sierra Leone.

Old 03-10-2012, 10:08 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 3,918
Thanks for sharing...

I'm a man of the past,living in the present, but walking in the future.
A cow born in a pig pen is still a cow. ...Rastafari...

"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.”

Last edited by Ushawishi; 03-10-2012 at 10:24 PM..