Old 01-26-2007, 01:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 574
Question soca monarch/road march?

do the soca stars make a road march/monarch worthy tune or is it the radio stations that make it a hit??

i feel these days its how much times a tune get airplay that makes it big rather than the tune jus being big in its own right this is why i dont listen to the radio what you all feel??
Old 01-26-2007, 01:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,260
I can agree with that. It's the same thing here, how much times you hear a song on the radio and HATE it? Then u find yourself singing the damn song you hate, it's because they (radio stations) have shoved it down our throats.

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 01-26-2007, 02:14 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 574
Originally Posted by chinky eyes View Post
I can agree with that. It's the same thing here, how much times you hear a song on the radio and HATE it? Then u find yourself singing the damn song you hate, it's because they (radio stations) have shoved it down our throats.
i really hate how it works esp road march how many times it is played makes it win dont make sense
Old 01-26-2007, 02:23 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 20,787
Originally Posted by chinky eyes View Post
Well i guess ah new way should b recognised in judging it, if thats tha case.. cos we are free to our own votes.. and they should b counted!!

For Example several Imixers were going on about Jumbie since Miami Carnival as he sampled da track in AC4, so i was abit eggar 2 hear wot he had done, but imix played on it so much when i first heard it on t;lime it was ah mess and i heard it through my set of speakers in better quality i still felt it was lacking something!!!

I guess Best "Hyped" Song wins?????

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow

Last edited by Digga D; 01-26-2007 at 03:07 PM..
Old 01-26-2007, 02:32 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 2,293
Originally Posted by vincy16 View Post
Well i guess ah new way should b recognised in judging it, if thats tha case.. cos we are free to our own votes.. and they should counted!!

For Example several Imixers were going on about Jumbie since Miami Carnival as he sampled da track in AC4, so i was abit eggar 2 hear wot he had done, but imix played on it so much when i first heard it on t;lime it was ah mess and i heard it through my set of speakers in better quality i still felt it was lacking something!!!

I guess Best "Hyped" Song wins?????

I agree....the radio stations have alot of infulence....Jumbie was a hit before it was actually released..
Old 01-26-2007, 03:08 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 20,787
Originally Posted by mandolin rain View Post
I agree....the radio stations have alot of infulence....Jumbie was a hit before it was actually released..
yuh know.. dats wot killed it this year i think!! too much hype!!

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 01-27-2007, 04:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Musician/Superhero

Credits: 1,085
NO. not to much HYPE.

"Too much hype" would suggest that the tunes being HYPED were good and were just over-played...

In this instance the majority of songs getting played around the clock are at best ALRIGHT... certainly not GREAT.

And the GOOD or GREAT tunes are fading into oblivion daily.. even some of the tunes that were good and were playing before the fetes started are now fading away to make room...

Sad - but people fetting same way...
Old 01-27-2007, 04:35 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 14,958
I think regardless of HYPE there will always be the PEOPLE's choice. Once the tune good and people have access to it online, it will get recognition. TPolitics do fack everyting up, but there are artists who dont give a shit bout competitions and care about what the people want to hear. I like Destra's stance on this issue from what I have read from her.
Old 01-27-2007, 04:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Credits: 4,988
KILLED WHAT.
Old 01-27-2007, 04:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Musician/Superhero

Originally Posted by Phœnix 7.6(N) View Post
I think regardless of HYPE there will always be the PEOPLE's choice. Once the tune good and people have access to it online, it will get recognition. TPolitics do fack everyting up, but there are artists who dont give a shit bout competitions and care about what the people want to hear. I like Destra's stance on this issue from what I have read from her.
AHHH.. but the PEOPLE are CHOOSING from the few tunes they HEAR enough on the RADIO to remember!

SO much for CHOICE!
Old 01-27-2007, 04:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Originally Posted by masquerade2k View Post
do the soca stars make a road march/monarch worthy tune or is it the radio stations that make it a hit??

i feel these days its how much times a tune get airplay that makes it big rather than the tune jus being big in its own right this is why i dont listen to the radio what you all feel??
Its called agressive marketing and show me a genre of music that dont do de same thing.
Old 01-27-2007, 04:49 PM   #12 (permalink)
Musician/Superhero

Originally Posted by Predator01 View Post
Its called agressive marketing and show me a genre of music that dont do de same thing.
Even with the intense marketing that goes on with major labels in the US and Europe, there are always NEW artists being broken, upcoming artists being nurtured and establihed superstars whose career being maintained.

Can we say the same for Soca?
Old 01-27-2007, 04:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Originally Posted by MuzikkMan View Post
Even with the intense marketing that goes on with major labels in the US and Europe, there are always NEW artists being broken, upcoming artists being nurtured and establihed superstars whose career being maintained.

Can we say the same for Soca?
Fireball- new olutunji- new rita jones- new then there are those who have been in it for a long time and finally broke out like miss alysha, nadia batson, young marcel,our industry isnt perfect but back to de issue at hand agressive marketing is what have real so called big hip hop and r&b tunes known/sold,so lets not act all shocked.
Old 01-27-2007, 05:00 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 14,958
Originally Posted by MuzikkMan View Post
AHHH.. but the PEOPLE are CHOOSING from the few tunes they HEAR enough on the RADIO to remember!

SO much for CHOICE!
True, but for me I havent lisened to bashment or red online for the past 2 weeks or so (except for licensing broadcast) and i have checked the only other 2 popular modes which are t-lime and junglejuice in order to be objective and not get brainwashed by the radio stations. i am tired of hearing the same rotation on both stations and listening to "it must work" leading into commercials on bashment.
Old 01-27-2007, 08:52 PM   #15 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,260
Originally Posted by Phœnix 7.6(N) View Post
True, but for me I havent lisened to bashment or red online for the past 2 weeks or so (except for licensing broadcast) and i have checked the only other 2 popular modes which are t-lime and junglejuice in order to be objective and not get brainwashed by the radio stations. i am tired of hearing the same rotation on both stations and listening to "it must work" leading into commercials on bashment.

You have to remember Iwer own Trinibashment, so they must push de BOSS man ting.

-Meh Granny say so.