islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By VINCYPOWA

Old 01-14-2012, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered Member

Credits: 576,024
SOCA MONARCH COMPETITION HAS BEEN DA DEAD OF SOCA MUSiC

TAWK YuH TAWK
Old 01-14-2012, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 28,496
Not in Barbados. I personally do not like competition in this for because it hinder creativity and creates controversy. But luckily most soca songs in Bimtown are not written or produced for competition but for the party with competition being an after thought.

Personally I would do away with pretty much all the competitions except ones like "People Monarch" and Road March.
Old 02-19-2012, 02:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered Member

This is the comment from a highly credible source

ok, ok, ok!!!! Time to put our hands up and say; enough!!! Culture in the caribbean has hit rock bottom. Can someone tell me the criterion for judging the soca monarch show in trinidad? What the hell is happening to you people in charge of culture in the caribbean? You call that a cultural event? Or were we acting out a talking match in a movie? All the soca monarch shows in the caribbean are total crap!! No class, no real singing, no musical skills, arrangements stinks, no proper judging, it is time we rethink this whole affair. I am really disappointed and vex at the same time.
Colors and cocotrini like this.
Old 02-19-2012, 03:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered Member

Another post from the same CREDIBLE SOURCE

They needed Stephen Spielberg to judge last night, for it really was movie oriented, not a song competition. The man with the most frills, gadgets props and acting skills won last night; So wah kind ah competition is that? You have no chance if yo poor and had no connections.
Colors and cocotrini like this.
Old 02-19-2012, 10:20 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 48,985
ohhhhhhhhh give it a rest.

nah deuw deux la jhet mamow.... jwei avec mwen

Old 02-19-2012, 12:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered Member

Originally Posted by bhalistix View Post
ohhhhhhhhh give it a rest.
Give the TRUTH a REST?