...of the Bashment Menz
Credits: 129
Soca Mafia...what the .....??
What is this soca mafia nonsense truly though. I mean I bajan but I does hear de trinis talking bout it all de time..I hear names called of who in it yada yada..but what does it do really? Is it that they are djs that control the airplay tunes get? wha gwaaan!
babychick
i hear talk bout the soca mafia too , don't have a clue what the hell is that , but like peolple who know afraid , i see u ent get one reply . hope someone shed some light to what is the soca mafia if that exists.
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)
Credits: 60,870
. |
Credits: 113
Is not the Mob we are talking about, not Goodfellars, what the mafia is really a select few individuals in Trinidad actually has control of soca music. Whatever deal is struck between artisit and the mafia, your song will be a hit no matter how sh!tty it is, case in point, Madder Dan Dat from last year which has to be the biggest pile of rubbish ever to be second in a road march race. The flip side is consider Crazy with his song Colours, Red White and Black, that song should be a road march contender for 2K6 but I doubt very much anyone here has heard it yet because the mafia has not given it its blessings. Why do you think people like Baron disappear off the map? Baron is just one of the many victims of the mafia. Other examples are Geronemo, I can't Wait, Max It Up, all relatively sh!tty songs that are currently massive hits.... Connect the dots, you will figure it out.
Last edited by Julie_Mango; 02-07-2006 at 03:52 AM.. |
Mrs . (A.k.A Mrs. Dot)
Credits: 60,870
is sad news if it were true. And no I haven't heard the colors song if you have a link for it please pass it. |
Credits: 113
Credits: 5,902
That song is sounding good though. For sure.
Credits: 8,560
hello there i haven't seen u lately how are ya?
Culture First
Credits: 252
Just a few years ago Chinese Laundry who own at that time the biggest radio station in TNT was considered to be the Soca Mafia. Things have change over the years now. other station have a bigger following now..
How about B'dos where u have hot95fm. Peter Coppin,Lil Ric,Malcolm X all work there. whose music do u think u hear all the time.. |
...of the Bashment Menz
Credits: 129
I jsut wanted to make sure that's what it was...cuz i mean people real fraid lol.
But yea in Bim iz basically the same thing. It is who yuh know not what yuh sing..BUT I cant say Max it up and those songs you called are shite!! they are great party songs which is what you want no? all songs cant be extremely lyrical and all that..some gotta just be simple straightforward to the point |
Credits: 557
Dj's always get accused of playing their friends' music. And probably always will be. Malcomn is probably the damn worst but Coppin aint that much better. You could predict his soca sessions to a T. Same 5/6 songs every single time. Rick doesnt have much time, bout 3 hrs on SAtudays but he still manages to bring a good mix, may play his for 15 mins that's about it.
Aint nothing ya cud do bout it really. If the artists that dont get airplay fuss, de same dj's gine just spite them and play de songs even less so they better try and get some dj frenz and call it a day. It aint right but that's the way it is. |

is sad news if it were true. And no I haven't heard the colors song if you have a link for it please pass it.