Old 04-09-2004, 11:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,474
Soca Iz D Best Music On D Planet!

DATS RIGHT! WITH ALL D FAULTS WE CAN FIND WITH SOCA I THINK SOCA IS THE BEST MUSIC ON THE PLANET.

AH DOH CARE WHAT PEOPLE SAY ESPECIALLY DEM OUTSIDERS WHO LOOK DOWN ON WE MUSIC!

MAYBE I AM BEING OVERJOY BECAUSE I WAS REALLY IMPRESSED WITH THE SOCA MONARCH SHOW BUT I THINK WE HAVE SOME ARTISTS THAT KNOW HOW TO ENTERTAIN AND CAN SING AND WE HAVE SOME REALLY GOOD MUSICIANS TOO. THEY CAN STAND WITH ANYONE IN THE WORLD.

I AM SPEAKING FOR THE MUSIC AND ENTERTAINMENT AND PERFORMANCE ITSELF. THE PROMOTION AND MARKETING IS ANOTHER STORY WHICH MAY BE HURTING THE MUSIC MORE THAN HELPING. THERE MIGHT BE ISSUES HERE WE CARIBBEAN PEOPLE HAVE TO WORK OUT.

AND WHEN WE SOCA IS COMPARED TO OTHER MORE SUCCESSFUL MUSICS IF YOU COMPARED TALENT FOR TALENT I DON'T THINK WE ARE LEFT IN THE DUST BY ANYBODY. THEY HAVE ACCESS TO THE BIG MARKETS AND HAVE BIGGER RECORD COMPANIES AND STUDIOS AND LARGER POOL OF MUSICIANS AND MUSIC EXPERTS TO WORK WITH. EVEN WITH LARGERS STUDIOS AND MORE MUSICIAN...THEY DON'T HAVE MUCH ON US. BUT THEY KILL US IN THE MARKETING AND PROMOTIONS WHICH WE DON'T OWN NOR NEITHER HAVE ACCESS TOO. PLUS THE MUSICS WHICH ARE POPULAR THE PROMOTIONS IS MORE A VISUAL THING ANYWAY.

I REALLY THINK OUR BIGGEST WEAKNESS IS OVERDOING TOO MUCH OF THE SAME THING AND FOLLOW EACH OTHER TOO MUCH INSTEAD OF BEING A LITTLE MORE CREATIVE IN DOING OUR OWN THING AND DOING IT WELL....THATS WHY SOME PEOPLE FOR THE OUTSIDE IS QUICK TO SAY OUR MUSIC IS ALL THE SAME THING.

BUT HEY, I THINK OUR MUSIC IS THE PLANET'S LAST HOPE.
Old 04-10-2004, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Champion!

Credits: 4,325
WOWWWWWWWWWWW

WOW THAT WAS STRONG,,

BREATHLESS............... WAIT WAIT GOTTA THINK

DAM YOU TOOK IT TO ANOTHER LEVEL!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 04-10-2004, 01:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Solidarity

Re: Soca Iz D Best Music On D Planet!

Originally posted by BFFan
...I THINK OUR MUSIC IS THE PLANET'S LAST HOPE.
Expound...please.
Old 04-10-2004, 01:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
afterdark

Credits: 3,120
Honestly I Could not of put it better my self...... If You think Of How Many Talent Soca Artist There are out right now comparied to and other genre of music.... Soca has it beat hands down..... plus look at the fact that you're working with a much smaller population... in the caribbean... and we as a people come out with a product so good and so different from the norm ... we really should be proud....
Old 04-10-2004, 02:24 AM   #5 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

Credits: 4,006
being a big dancehall/reggae man myself..im not suppose to agree

So ill jus say..Soca is the music of the caribbean
Old 04-10-2004, 11:49 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 137
That's a well said mouthful...... We also need to accept that there's only so much you can do with soca..... So instead of being critical of the changes it goes through, we need to be a bit more open-minded, because if you look into all the different categories of music you'll see they're also incorporating other styles into their music......I'm waiting patiently and I know it will be very soon when soca takes this nation by storm.....
Old 04-10-2004, 12:05 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 2,900
I was introduced to soca long after r&b, hip-hop, & dancehall. I must say that I love soca above all the others. Overall...the music is "happy" and keeps me in a good mood. I don't have to worry about the lyrics when I playing it at work & of course it's the best to dance to
Old 04-10-2004, 03:19 PM   #8 (permalink)

Re: Re: Soca Iz D Best Music On D Planet!

Originally posted by Solidarity
Expound...please.
OH...OH AH SHOULD HAVE SHUT MY MOUTH ...JUSS KIDDING.

MAYBE I SHOULD HAVE SAID ONE OF THE LAST HOPES.

BUT I BELIEVE SOCA CELEBRATES THE HAPPINESS AND JOY FROM THE HUMAN SPIRIT AND AS IT CONTINUES TO EVOLVE IT WILL CONTINUE TO CAPTURE THE SIGHTS AND SOUNDS OF THE WORLD THAT SURROUNDS US. BUT AT THIS STAGE IN THE MUSIC ITS MAINLY US WHO ARE CELEBRATING IT OR RATHER CELEBRATING THROUGH IT.

AND DURING OUR CELEBRATIONS IS PROBABLY THE ONLY MOMENTS IN TIME WE HAVE SOME SORT OF UNITY DESPITE THE MANY PROBLEM WE HAVE IN THE CARIBBEAN...EVEN OUR POLITICAL LEADERS LOSE THEMSELVES INTO IT JUMPING UP FOR JOUVERT AND ALL KINDA TING.

NOW IMAGINE THAT ON THE WORLD STAGE. HOPEFULLY IN OUR LIFETIME IT MAY GROW INTO A LARGER STAGE...THE AMERICAN MAINSTREAM OR EVEN THE WORLD STAGE. THEN THE WORLD WILL HAVE THAT OPPURTUNITY TO CELEBRATE THROUGH IT OR BY IT.

IN SOME WAYS I KNOW THIS MIGHT BE QUITE UNREALISTIC AND UNIMAGINABLE. BUT GIVEN THE SAD STATE OF AFFAIRS OF TODAYS WORLD...ALTHOUGH I SENSE THAT WE MIGHT ON THE VERGE OF ARISING GLOBAL MOVENT...I THINK I HAVE A GENERAL IDEA WHAT THIS MUSIC DOES FOR WE CARIBBEAN PEOPLE AND THINKING WHAT IT COULD DO FOR THE WORLD...WELL IT ALEAST OFFERS MOVEMENTS OF JOY....HOPE!
Old 04-10-2004, 03:33 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally posted by Shan1
That's a well said mouthful...... We also need to accept that there's only so much you can do with soca..... So instead of being critical of the changes it goes through, we need to be a bit more open-minded, because if you look into all the different categories of music you'll see they're also incorporating other styles into their music......I'm waiting patiently and I know it will be very soon when soca takes this nation by storm.....
I WILL KEEP MY FINGERS CROSS... AND I HOPE IT HAPPENS IN MY LIFE TIME AND WHILE I AM STILL YOUNG.
Old 04-12-2004, 06:17 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 19,794
Exclamation TIRED AH WAITIN

i AM SO FEELING YOU!!! I am really tired, though, of sitting and waiting for it to happen. I wanna know how to make it happen. You hit it right on the head with the marketing and promotions. It's killing we ting really. Yo, soca is my very first love...and every year I fall in love all over again! There is nothing that makes me feel like soca does...it is the only music that just fills up my soul...it can almost always put me in a good mood. We need to just BRING IT!!! I find we does be too lax on we own ting! How de a$$ one of the worst damn soca songs ever (Who let the dogs out) made it worldwide...a household jingle...only once it was out of our hands...what de a$$? We have voices like Destra, Lyrics like Bunji and we need some ugly Baja Boys to come and blow we ting off de map?? And we sittin down smilin kee kee kee like everyting flippin nice. Songs like Hot Hot Hot and Who let the Dogs Out will never die...they have expanded in a way that you can hear dem tunes on a children's cartoon, a mother's soap opera or even Daddy's sports games...HOUSEHOLD RECOGNITION!!! Now ask them same folks, "What is Soca?" they'll sit there lookin at you like yuh crazy. I don't know about anyone else but did is we legacy...they say piracy killin it...but I feel is we bottom killin it...all that sittin down...and waiting for it to fade away...

Cyah Happen!!!
Old 04-12-2004, 04:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Born Again

Credits: 707
Re: TIRED AH WAITIN

Originally posted by 1trini-gyal
i AM SO FEELING YOU!!! I am really tired, though, of sitting and waiting for it to happen. I wanna know how to make it happen. You hit it right on the head with the marketing and promotions. It's killing we ting really. Yo, soca is my very first love...and every year I fall in love all over again! There is nothing that makes me feel like soca does...it is the only music that just fills up my soul...it can almost always put me in a good mood. We need to just BRING IT!!! I find we does be too lax on we own ting! How de a$$ one of the worst damn soca songs ever (Who let the dogs out) made it worldwide...a household jingle...only once it was out of our hands...what de a$$? We have voices like Destra, Lyrics like Bunji and we need some ugly Baja Boys to come and blow we ting off de map?? And we sittin down smilin kee kee kee like everyting flippin nice. Songs like Hot Hot Hot and Who let the Dogs Out will never die...they have expanded in a way that you can hear dem tunes on a children's cartoon, a mother's soap opera or even Daddy's sports games...HOUSEHOLD RECOGNITION!!! Now ask them same folks, "What is Soca?" they'll sit there lookin at you like yuh crazy. I don't know about anyone else but did is we legacy...they say piracy killin it...but I feel is we bottom killin it...all that sittin down...and waiting for it to fade away...

Cyah Happen!!!
Gyal we all tryin' and bring it but like it was said ova and ova we stickin' we self when it come to promotions and marketing! I feel as anxious as you! I would love to see more ah we people out dey spreadin' de music and de joy behind de music! Doh worry dat day go come... soon i hope!
Old 04-13-2004, 01:10 PM   #12 (permalink)
What Happens In de Party

Credits: 132
ya damn right! they aint no better music then SOCA music.
Old 04-13-2004, 09:55 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 279
BFFan DATS RIGHT! WITH ALL D FAULTS WE CAN FIND WITH SOCA I THINK SOCA IS THE BEST MUSIC ON THE PLANET.

How yuh mean...........is de sweetest sound ever!!! You could be in foul ass mood.......hear some sweet ass soca........and de mood tun to good!!!

I LOVE SOCA
Old 04-14-2004, 11:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
December Baby

Credits: 521
no matter the weather

Soca Music make you feel happy no matter the weather, like for instance this week rain rain, what music playing on my cd player soca everyday.
Old 04-14-2004, 12:50 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 700
Re: no matter the weather

Originally posted by cseemungal
Soca Music make you feel happy no matter the weather, like for instance this week rain rain, what music playing on my cd player soca everyday.
...and in yuh mind, you ent in de car watching de wipers go from side to side...you really in some fete working up ah sweat with some ah yuh best limin' pardnas....and ah few choice members of de opposite sex...