Credits: 4,336
Soca Hope to sell itself at Carnival
http://www.miami.com/mld/miamiherald...ts/6968550.htm
Soca hopes to sell itself at Carnival By JACQUELINE CHARLES jcharles@herald.com More photos Queen of Galactika Lesley - Ann Lawrence performs with fellow members of the Fun Generation. CARL JUSTE/HERALD STAFF It is the other Caribbean sound. The one that for nine months of the year defines the circuit, the seasonal party train that embarks in Trinidad and Tobago in February and winds down each October in Miami. And they are the Caribbean's other stars, unknowns to mainstream music fans of, say, Jamaica's Sean Paul, but household names among soca aficionados -- Machel, Rupee, Bunji, Alison. So along with the tens of thousands of carnival revelers who will descend upon Miami this weekend for nonstop dancing and Wild On-style partying, so will they: some of the biggest names in soca music. For these performers, starving artists compared with their more widely known counterparts in reggae and hip-hop, Carnival isn't just a cultural showcase. It's an excuse to seduce. The goal over the next few days is not only to satisfy their fans, but to lure a non-Caribbean audience and do for soca what crossover dance-hall stars Sean Paul and Elephant Man are doing for reggae: Make the sound palatable to a hip-hop audience. ''We're trying to bring the music to the mainstream,'' said Edghill Thomas, 24, a solo Trinidadian soca artist who goes by the name Maximus Dan and will be making his first appearance at Miami Carnival this weekend. To do so, many artists will spread themselves thin, zig-zagging across South Florida for as many as five shows in one night, for which the average artist will earn only $1,500 or less per appearance. ''I'm not hoping for much,'' said Thomas, moments before taking the stage inside the Elite Ark, a dimly-lit nightclub near Brooklyn's Carnarsie neighborhood where he and several Trinidadian soca artists put on an impromptu performance to kick off New York's West Indian Labor Day Parade. ``The intention is to go to Miami, meet a few producers, network with radio and media.'' SELLING THEMSELVES While many Caribbean Americans view Carnival as an escape from the daily rigors of life -- just as their forefathers used it to celebrate emancipation from slavery -- many soca and calypso performers see it as a marketing vehicle for an art form that has taken a back seat to its island kin, reggae. An offshoot of calypso, soca is less social commentary and more double-entendre with a happy, hypnotic beat. It's during Carnival -- and the scores of performances leading up to the fete -- that artists such as Terencia ''TC'' Coward get to hype their work, much of which can't be found at franchise record outlets, but rather at mom-and-pop Caribbean shops. ''That's what we do, we use Carnival to expose the music to more and more people,'' said Coward, a Barbadian singer who became prominent in soca with her popular pro-female anthem, Kim. But others believe it's time for artists to branch out from the circuit and not rely as much on the seasonal party to promote their talents. ''You can't preach to the converted constantly,'' said Elon ''Juice'' Lovell, a New York promoter managing Timmy, a rising soca star who in his shows does a scintillating strip-down to boxers. While soca has as much potential as reggae to appeal to American audiences, Lovell said, it hasn't been marketed correctly by either record companies or soca artists, many of whom are content with the pittance they receive. ''Soca music is the only music that operates on a 12-month cycle where artists are forced to come out with a hit every year,'' said Lovell, sitting in a Brooklyn diner after a recent soca show. ``Rhythm and blues artists have three to four years.'' The end result, he said, is that big-name record industry executives have a hard time envisioning soca outside a carnival/party scene. ''Soca artists have to get to the point where they see themselves as a commodity,'' he said. ``They have to sell themselves.'' NO 'DOGS,' PLEASE But selling yourself, even signing with a major record label doesn't always spell instant success, as internationally respected soca performer Machel Montano can confirm. Three years ago, the Trinidadian artist made headlines when he announced a six-record deal with Atlantic. But creative differences have stymied the deal. ''We wanted to do soca, they wanted to do pop,'' said Montano, who also wanted his 13-piece band Xtatik to be part of the plans. While he agrees that soca will have to evolve in order to cross over, Montano said he did not want to have to grind out a Who Let the Dogs Out, the soca song that became a Grammy winner after it was commercialized by the Baha Men. Said Montano, ``It did nothing for soca.'' |
Credits: 8,498
Nice article
____________________________________ www.ideeli.com/invite/renzepenze http://www.hautelook.com/invite/545540 http://www.shopbop.com/welcome?invitation_code=4242223MG8R http://www.beyondtherack.com/member/invite/B1206249 |
Credits: 5,243
For all those who didn't know that I was obsessed, all I have to say is:
''We're trying to bring the music to the mainstream,'' said Edghill Thomas, 24, a solo Trinidadian soca artist who goes by the name Maximus Dan and will be making his first appearance at Miami Carnival this weekend. Isn't he just great? |
Credits: 4,726
Credits: 123
Nice article! Caribbean artists do have a lot on their plate and carnival is their time to shine!!!! They give us an opportunity to take a much-needed break. And we can only support them. ![]() |
Credits: 101
Great article......
it shows us again that soca music needs to wake up,grow up and organize. we need to have professional management,marketing and promotion teams on board ,that can help promote we music to wider audiences. we need to groom we artist ;give the a look,teach them how to interview well ..this is ways to sell yourself.. put together a show ,not just running on stage and singing a tune and leaving.im not buying that anymore,maybe in my younger days but now im looking for a great performance. Sell me "The Dream".....that being a soca artist is the best ting in de world. Fireeeeeeeeee |
Credits: 156
Credits: 8,099
:) Great article. It's so true/sad about how our soca artist having to work their butts off each year for a $1,500/performance. Well I think it's about time they start networking and taking their talent/work seriously. I love my soca music/culture and I'm having a blast marketing it mainstream. So all who wanna be vex at me can stay vex then
:p
Successful people work on themselves! While the "over-night wonders" become arrogant and quickly disappear, really successful people work on their personality, their leadership skills, management skills, and every other detail of life. When a relationship or business deal goes sour, they assume they can learn from it a...nd they expect to do better next time. Successful people don’t tolerate flaws; they fix them! Last edited by Pebbles362436; 10-23-2003 at 11:02 AM.. |
Credits: 101
Pebbles,
You're 100% on point. Let dem be vex..... What part in marketing do you play in the business? We need more knowledgeable people willing to work within soca music to help it grow. It’s amazing that we have a lot of soca recording artist and how many legit record labels???? When I say legit, I mean willing to invest in an artist development.....None. What I notice every year is a ton of compilations. Who benefits from this? Whoever releases it but not the artist? They’re willing to take your song (only if its hot and they know they can sell it) but not willing to invest into you..... Sure you see a few artist on a label.....example.VP records....I don't see them putting any real money behind the soca artists. And why should dey, if we own people are pimpin de artist. We need to develope stars. The top soca acts are not stars but just great performers. Can you actually call them a star? I can’t.....and im not sorry about that, they did it to themselves.Dey pimp themselves out for too long and now they’re over exposed. We must learn from the mistakes our genre made and adopt a RELIABLE AND PROVEN BUSINESS STRATEGY. THIS STRATEGY IS WORKING FOR RAP,RNB,REGGAE,DANCE, ROCK,POP,LATIN,COUNTRY,BLUES,JAZZ,ect..... What the hell is wrong with Soca IN OTHER WORDS, SOCA (THE BUSINESS) NEEDS TO WAKE THE F.... UP!!!!! FIREEEEEEEEEEE Last edited by socafire; 10-24-2003 at 09:17 AM.. |
Socafire yeh have ah email address way meh could send yeh ah sample of one of meh tracks meh wuking on. If I had the authority I would definately geh yeh the job for Soca Ambassador.:)
I hope you guys are not pranking around. ![]() But if you have a bio, demo and on point then PM your information to me. :)
Successful people work on themselves! While the "over-night wonders" become arrogant and quickly disappear, really successful people work on their personality, their leadership skills, management skills, and every other detail of life. When a relationship or business deal goes sour, they assume they can learn from it a...nd they expect to do better next time. Successful people don’t tolerate flaws; they fix them! |
Pebbles check yeh PM and meh Imix ppl remember Rasta for 2004 b/c meh come to mek meh Trini ppl proud.
This is a workshop that may be useful for you guys then.
Impact! Marketing Retreat Announces This Year's Agenda Conference Theme: The 10 Commandments of Urban Marketing Why should you attend iMR this Year? Here's a few reasons: Gain Invaluable Insight Into the Urban Mindset Hear About Winning Strategies From the Leaders in the Industry and Identify Untapped Areas of Opportunity Learn How to Leverage the Intersection of Marketing and Urban Pop Culture Without Playing Yourself Be Proactive About Growing the Urban Market...and Your Market Share Learn From Proven Strategies How to Do More With Fewer Resources Network With the Who's Who in the Urban Marketing Game Experience Some of the Best in Presence Marketing (e.g. - iMR's Parties Are Off the Hook!) CHECK OUT THIS YEAR'S AGENDA: Wednesday, November 5 12 noon - 5:00pm Registration 7:30pm - 10:30pm Opening Reception Sponsored by Miami CVB Thursday, November 6 7:00am - 12 noon Registration 7:30am - 8:30am Leadership Begins With the Individual Breakfast with Life Coach, Valorie Burton 8:45am - 9:45am Maximize Revenue With Direct Marketing Panel Discussion 10:00am - 11:15am Strategize for Market Infiltration and Optimizing Your Exposure Panel Discussion 11:30am - 12:30pm Work Outside of the Box: The Marketing & Promotion Machine Panel Discussion 12:30pm - 2:30pm Speaker's Luncheon with Author Dennis Kimbro 3:00pm - 4:15pm Workshop: Replenish Your Marketing Tool Box 4:30pm - 5:30pm Advertising: Appraise the Quality of Your Creative Ideas Panel Discussion 7:00pm - 9:00pm Welcome Reception Sponsored by: MTV Networks 10:00pm - Until "Welcome to Vice City" Party Sponsored by: Remy Martin & Akdmks Hosted by Traci Bingham Friday, November 7 7:00am - 9:00am Small Business Breakfast Sponsored by: Mirror Imaging 8:45am - 9:45am Technology: The Irreplaceable Partner Omar Wasow, BlackPlanet.com 10:00am - 11:00am Recognize the First Move Advantage...And Learn to Overcome the Next Mover Disadvantage Panel Discussion 11:15am - 12:30pm Keynote Address: STRAUSS ZELNICK, ZelnickMedia 12:30pm - 2:30pm Working Lunch With MTV Networks Panel Discussion Moderator: Ed Gordon 3:00pm - 4:00pm Grow the Market by Capitalizing on Urban Cachet Panel Discussion 4:15pm - 5:15pm Innovate or Die: Setting Trends That Build Brand Loyalty Panel Discussion 5:30pm - 6:30pm State of the Industry: The New American Mainstream KEITH CLINKSCALES, Vanguarde Media 7:30pm - 9:30pm iMR Happy Hour Sponsored by Converse 10:00pm - Until Closing Night Party Sponsored by Enyce FOR MORE INFORMATION just let me know. Take care
Successful people work on themselves! While the "over-night wonders" become arrogant and quickly disappear, really successful people work on their personality, their leadership skills, management skills, and every other detail of life. When a relationship or business deal goes sour, they assume they can learn from it a...nd they expect to do better next time. Successful people don’t tolerate flaws; they fix them! |
Credits: 23
Does mainstream=good
If Soca comes to the states do u think it would get watered down and over time the youth in the states trying to use it in the wrong ways??
Also me being a youth that grew up listening to hip hop and now really getting into soca and favoring it i have noticed one beautiful thing about soca and that is that the artist will perform and when their done they dont need 10 security guards they just lime with their fans and are one with the their supporters not being held on a higher pedestal... just a interesting view i would like to hear wut u guys think |

Nice article! Caribbean artists do have a lot on their plate and carnival is their time to shine!!!! They give us an opportunity to take a much-needed break. And we can only support them. 
I hope you guys are not pranking around.