Registered Member
Credits: 1,189,038
Soca Grammy Hoax????????
No nominees for touted event Soca Grammy hoax!
By Anthony 'LEXO' Alexis (Editor) email: lexo@tntmirror.com TnT Mirror News, 14 March 2005 THE historic announcement -- a move to finally place soca on the perennial high-profile Grammy Awards event -- was greeted with unbriddled excitement and joy sometime last year. Initially, a report in a Caribbean newspaper published an article saying that a special committee was set up and later decided to include soca in the 2006 Grammys. This "news" came hard on the heels of Kevin Lyttle's groundbreaking Billboard chartbuster, Turn Me On, which still continues to storm global charts. Hailing from St. Vincent, Lyttle now signed to Atlantic Records, may have fuelled the still-rising brohaha that soca would get its due accreditation at the Grammys, based on his phenomenal success on the Billboard chart. But Sunday PUNCH has learnt that while the "vibes" for including soca in the Grammys is still bubbling, it will take some time yet before the dream becomes gilt-edged reality. "There'll be no Grammy Awards for Soca in 2006," top record producer, Carl "Beaver" Henderson responded to a question posed by Editor, Anthony "Lexo" Alexis. "Soca in the Grammys is a great thing, but it's not going to happen for quite some time. We have checked it out with very big people involved with the awards ceremony and we were told that it's more rumour than fact," Beaver revealed. A source close to the situation told this newspaper: "We need a movement of soca bards, not one, two or three folks representing TnT. "As it is now, we'd have no nominees for any Grammy Awards ceremony. "When it is all said and done, maybe, just maybe, Kevin Lyttle may get 'notice' in the Grammys because of record units sold from his mega hit, Turn Me On." __________________ http://vincypowa.com/ http://vincypowaent.com/ |
Credits: 31,844
You quoting the Punch and the Mirror...???
That is like quoting The Globe and The Enquirer... |
LOL so much for all the wasted arguements in soca chat. Anyway, I won't be surprised because I think it will take a lot more than two people with two hit singles on the billboards for them to even consider being ready to have a soca category by 2006 grammys. Our soca artists need to have more consistency in the entertainment world with record deals/labels and selling more albums before I think it will ever become a reality. In the meantime, you guys should support what we already in place www.socaawards.com |
Credits: 42,497
Damn this is de second Punch Quote on here
Anybody have some back up or newly found responses from de grammy committee ![]() |
JA Soca Ambassador
Credits: 100,596
http://www.grammy.com/about.aspx#contact Call them or if you know ppl in the industry have them lobby them to place " soca ' on their agenda... I feel that its about time ppl in the " background ' start treating it as a business not another big fete. Soca on the World Wide Stage is long over-due. |
Credits: 25,056
well who would have been the nominees?
Rupee? cause he is the only one to bust out in 2004 (mainstream) Wouldnt there have to be more people on the radio and selling albums to have a catergory? It would be years off in my opinion. |
| Sponsored Links | |||||||||
|||||||||
Credits: 9,598
"I waiting fuh one ah you clowns tuh start posting articles from the National Enquirer"... |
I know alot of people that will be disappointed however they'll be up on the stage saying and the soca 2k6 nominees are ........_______________________________________Unless some record label plans on signing about 12 new soca artist in the next nine months and they'll all have to drop some platinum/hits. |
JA Soca Ambassador
I am surprise that you would say that : take a look for yourself... http://www.grammy.com/awards/grammy/47full.aspx You don't need to go ' double platinum ' to get a Grammy ! You have numerous fields : Best Spoken Words Best Comedy CD Best Folk... So don't fall into that...we don't to need to sell a million for Grammy ! But myself and numerous others would like to see Soca Music be Acknowledge on the World’s stage. |
I use to be one of the bigger advocates and I had a very clear vision about how to push our culture to the world stage. But I have seen first hand how the entire thing from KL, to soca going mainstream, carnival promotion/marketing etc thing has cause a bunch of additional drama. The entire thing got blown out of proportion and it was spreading like a wild fire out of control for all the wrong reasons. No one knows who's on first and who's on second anymore. Everyone has their own personal agenda's that they are now pushing and people are not working together. Way too many big egos in the industry. It is very ugly and sad just watching sometimes actually. So now I'm just like what is to be will be. Everything happens for a reason and nothing is going to happen before it's due time. When it finally happens however. I don't want it to be because they felt sorry/exploted us in the process or they felt like they needed to do "the right thing" but because we earn the right to be there with the best of them. ![]() Last edited by Pebbles362436; 03-15-2005 at 03:28 PM.. |
JA Soca Ambassador
I here you… we can’t lose site of a common goal. For what you have outlined to some degree it seems like we are defeated… Yes there are way too many issues to be address. A summit is needed, way to many greedy ppl in the industry. Marcus Garvey once stated…you know what, I can’t remember, but it went something like nothing is handed to you without struggle, just look at the black Americans plight in America. A quick question, why do you and so many trinis feel that if the music ‘ soca ‘ goes mainstream that is the end of soca as we know it ? Personally, I think that it’s smart to go mainstream, get the attention, the contracts, etc, if that is what it takes…then flip the script …: By the way I have another tune by the name of “Jump “in Rupees’ case. I would not consider him a sell out as long as he’s doing some of the stuff that got him there. |
the next time I see them during carnival.Last edited by Pebbles362436; 03-15-2005 at 05:18 PM.. |
Credits: 25,056
Ill post it again
i dont care for mainstream influence in we ting and pebbles brought up a good point Just look at what went on this year Grammy dont dictate nuttin for we Never have and never will plain and simple it doesnt say who is on top of the soca world |
Credits: 13,366
When the young lady made the proposal all you were hearing is only one country could have the first winner which was rubbish. At the time it was mentioned all of the countries that would have been affected, should have gotten behind it and expanded on the proposal to include all the music of the region and that would have pushed it through fast and swift. There is nothing like numbers to get what you want, but then again we are so fractured in the Caribbean, it is going to take another century for us to get anywhere, because we do not see the bigger picture. |

Anyway, I won't be surprised because I think it will take a lot more than two people with two hit singles on the billboards for them to even consider being ready to have a soca category by 2006 grammys.
Our soca artists need to have more consistency in the entertainment world with record deals/labels and selling more albums before I think it will ever become a reality.
In the meantime, you guys should support what we already in place

So now I'm just like what is to be will be. Everything happens for a reason and nothing is going to happen before it's due time. When it finally happens however. I don't want it to be because they felt sorry/exploted us in the process or they felt like they needed to do "the right thing" but because we earn the right to be there with the best of them. 
the next time I see them during carnival.