Old 09-28-2005, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 124
Soca Goes Hip Hop - Rupee producer Salaam Remi speaks

What are your views on the hip hop influence on soca music.

US Hip Hop producer of Nas and Fugees acclaim Salaam Remi speaks on 1xtra BBC radio about why he's working with soca artists like Rupee, Kevin Lyttle and Alison Hinds and how he feels the music will progress in the future.

Listen again to the interview online here

http://www.bbc.co.uk/1xtra/morestyles/

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/1xtra/F1866165

I think he made some real good points - what do you reckon????
Old 09-28-2005, 08:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
el n00ño

Credits: 14,978
Well what'd they say? Is there a link right to that part cuz I ain't listening to the whole day's show.
Old 09-28-2005, 08:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
el n00ño

A riddim here and there is one thing, but I don't want much more hip hop fusion. Da Goodness riddim (sq.one's jack up de world, rupee's not me) was hot but then I could prolly name another 10 that sucked. Other than bringing in a new audience, I don't think it does much good for the music.
Old 09-28-2005, 09:27 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 124
Originally Posted by n00ner
Well what'd they say? Is there a link right to that part cuz I ain't listening to the whole day's show.

Check about 45 - 50 mins in to show
Old 09-28-2005, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 6,464
Originally Posted by blackberrie
What are your views on the hip hop influence on soca music.

US Hip Hop producer of Nas and Fugees acclaim Salaam Remi speaks on 1xtra BBC radio about why he's working with soca artists like Rupee, Kevin Lyttle and Alison Hinds and how he feels the music will progress in the future.

Listen again to the interview online here

http://www.bbc.co.uk/1xtra/morestyles/

http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/1xtra/F1866165

I think he made some real good points - what do you reckon????
Us hiphop in soca
yeah dats all we need. Throw yuh guns in de air.
cant wait.
Old 09-28-2005, 11:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Steel City Man

Credits: 519
YOu sound bitter man. If it's done right, like "WE NOt Giving Up," then what's the problem?

Last edited by LastDragon55; 09-28-2005 at 11:05 PM..
Old 09-29-2005, 10:55 AM   #7 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 880
Originally Posted by saveoursoca
Us hiphop in soca
cant wait.
agreed
Old 09-29-2005, 11:27 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 2,900
Us hiphop in soca
cant wait.
Toilet paper Toilet Paper
Old 09-29-2005, 12:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Alpha Male

Credits: 10,043
Us hiphop in soca
cant wait.
thats gangster rap......hip hop is more than just that.....especialy back in the days..........but to be honest with you in my opinion when u mix soca with hip hop you kind of just end up with dancehall . go to the site and listen to it for ya self.

Last edited by ~Swagga~; 09-29-2005 at 12:29 PM..
Old 09-29-2005, 12:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
el n00ño

Originally Posted by Trinadian
thats gangster rap......hip hop is more than just that.....especialy back in the days.
We're not back in the days though. Most mainstream hip hop today is about b¡tches, money, drugs and violence. And I don't see soca teaming up with non-mainstream hip hop so that might be a problem. However, having a hip hop artists on your track or having a beat are 2 different things I suppose.
Old 09-29-2005, 12:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Alpha Male

We're not back in the days though. Most mainstream hip hop today is about b¡tches, money, drugs and violence. And I don't see soca teaming up with non-mainstream hip hop so that might be a problem. However, having a hip hop artists on your track or having a beat are 2 different things I suppose.
Nah i know what the guy is trying to do ...i already thought of this idea before (but i am broke and not a respected in the music indurty so you know how it is)........soca wont turn into gangster rap trust me .....Its like how some rock groups like Linkin park ect.. mixed hip hop with there rock style to come up with a great sound unique type of music. (and yes way before they hooked up with Jay -z)......see some rock artist started mixing hip hop with rock for a few years now and it didnt turn into gansgter rap...so why do you think soca would?

But hey soca is good the way it is.....but it wont hurt to mix it up with some international flaver for a few mainstream hits

Last edited by ~Swagga~; 09-29-2005 at 12:51 PM..
Old 09-29-2005, 12:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
el n00ño

Originally Posted by Trinadian
Nah i know what the guy is trying to do ...i already thought of this idea before (but i am broke and not a respected in the music indurty so you know how it is)........soca wont turn into gangster rap trust me .....Its like how some rock groups like Linkin park ect.. mixed hip hop with there rock style to come up with a great sound unique type of music (rap rock).......see some rock artist started mixing hip hop with rock for a few years now and it didnt turn into gansgter rap...so why do you think soca would?
I don't think it will. I just don't want soca artists associating with so-called gangsters.
Old 09-29-2005, 12:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Alpha Male

I don't think it will. I just don't want soca artists associating with so-called gangsters.
Nah its not going to be like that trust me .....it probaly will just have a more dancehall sound to it if you would want to call it that (you know like a Tok or elephant man style sound)... and hey i wouldnt want to see soca artist associating with gangster rappers also but i know if they had a chance they probaly will (you know how it is with money and exposure)
Old 09-30-2005, 10:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Steel City Man

Credits: 519
So, if the collab was with say Mos Def, or Talib Kweli...would it be a different story?
Old 09-30-2005, 10:42 AM   #15 (permalink)
el n00ño

Originally Posted by LastDragon55
So, if the collab was with say Mos Def, or Talib Kweli...would it be a different story?
Hell, just keep Paul Wall away and I'll be good!