Old 12-28-2007, 11:25 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 15,293
Cool Soca Focus Groups

This has been on meh mind for ah while....but ah was listening to Patrice Roberts Wukking Up Remix and the conversation came up........how bout getting a group of Soca heads together and let them listen and give some feedback before shitty music is released.....or maybe im asking too much.......it doh have to be a group of expert Soca heads...average folks

Last edited by Picong; 12-28-2007 at 11:28 PM..
Old 12-28-2007, 11:27 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 140,724
Originally Posted by Agent Jack Bauer View Post
This has been on meh min for ah while....but ah was listening to Patrice Roberts Wukking Up Remix and the conversation came up........how bout getting a group of Soca heads together and let them listen and give some feedback before shitty music is released.....or maybe im asking too much.......it doh have to be a group of expert Soca heads...average folks
Sounds REASONABLE.
Old 12-28-2007, 11:30 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,425
group..
Old 12-29-2007, 07:01 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 20,791
well to be real we are already in one..but an official one would be nice, as it would spark up arguements.. or a civilised debate!

if that is the case i think ppls would be recognising more talent from other islands as well as the usual crowd or so called leaders...

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 12-29-2007, 08:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 35,928
Originally Posted by Digga D View Post
well to be real we are already in one..but an official one would be nice, as it would spark up arguements.. or a civilised debate!

if that is the case i think ppls would be recognising more talent from other islands as well as the usual crowd or so called leaders...

Are you referring to Imix or the unofficial one is elsewhere?
Old 12-29-2007, 09:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 35,928
This has been on meh mind for ah while....but ah was listening to Patrice Roberts Wukking Up Remix and the conversation came up........how bout getting a group of Soca heads together and let them listen and give some feedback before shitty music is released.....or maybe im asking too much.......it doh have to be a group of expert Soca heads...average folks
I love this idea

Here are my thoughts:
  1. A definition of soca should be formulated. On a website I passed by I saw a song I grew up listening to, put under the category of soca when it truly is Calypso. I have seen the opposite too.
  2. The definition of soca should not be so rigid that it curbs creativity.
  3. Since there are various islands and soca lovers around the world it should be very inclusive
  4. People who truly love the art form with an open mind should be a part of it
  5. A website could be created to showcase all seasoned but more so on upcoming artistes and those trying to get heard. It should be a safe home for new and old artistes to showcase their new songs. Opportunities to sell songs and cds.
  6. I think the soca focus group should also focus on getting the name soca to be recognized. (Why is soca put under various categories when the word is soca!!!!!)
  7. People who are participating in the group need to leave any arrogance, jealousy, and any type of negativity at the door.
  8. We should seek out the founding fathers of this business for input
  9. Maybe give advice on studios to go to, vocalists to work with etc.
  10. ...
Old 12-29-2007, 02:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,290

Good Idea....but due to the implications, it won't work, artistes will worry about other ppl passing on their lyrics or ideas, or beats to another producer or artistes before it is copyrighted .

Not to take away from your theme...but a much better direction is to have a Soca forums with artist, producers, musicians, etc., and what we need to do to elevate the the Genre such as providing a better Soca feting environment , better planning of events, more or less better accountability on all who are involve.

And above all , the so call badminded soca fans who have no interest in seeing the Genres move ahead and support the Genre ...do all of us a favor a stay your ass home !

Last edited by socapineman; 12-29-2007 at 02:35 PM..
Old 12-29-2007, 02:48 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 140,724
I have the SOLUTION, just called it SOUTHERN CARIBBEAN music.

I just COPYRIGHT it....no INFRINGEMENT on my PROPERTY rights.....just pay me ROYALTIES.
Old 10-15-2008, 04:04 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 15,293
pay me
Old 10-15-2008, 11:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
el n00ño

Credits: 14,965
eh?
Old 10-15-2008, 11:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
♥bruk d mold wen bawn♥

Location: Bronx, NY..na far from White Plains Rd .. n 225th but still ah good 15 mins by car, 30 mins or so by MTA away ...
Credits: 194
dats ah good idea picong .. i would definitely back dat
::Embrace Diversity and Incorporate it in your every day life:: ::do Unto others as you want done to you:: :: Dont judge a book by its cover:: ::What to you is rags might be riches to another:: ::To assume makes an A S S of yourself:: :nly GOD can judge:: ::Look in d mirror n Improve yourself before starting on someone else:: ::sometimes if you dont have anything nice to say than just shut it and dont say nothing at all::
Old 10-16-2008, 01:27 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 5,042
Originally Posted by Picong View Post
Bolded is subjective.
"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.”
Old 10-16-2008, 09:25 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 11,860
I don't like the idea at all. All music should get released, the shyte just shoulded get played. No obviously what is shyte to me may not be shyte to you but that is the beauty about having a free market approach to soca. Music that one crowd likes will play in that crowd and music a crowd likes will not play. Just free up the soca market and that will happen.
Old 10-16-2008, 10:19 AM   #14 (permalink)
Cherokee

Credits: 5,619
Its a very good idea.

I have a focus group made up of buyers and listeners of music on this side. When I get a track I allow the group to give their verdict and I give feedback.

A track in particular that was released but didn't get too much play I did let the artist producer know.

Focus groups are used in major and small firms releasing products. Its a good idea as long as everyone in the group are clear on what its is about.