JA Soca Ambassador
Credits: 7,304
Soca Fans : A Tribute To Elite Ark : Bklyn Will Never Be The Same !
Soca Fans : A Tribute To Elite Ark : Bklyn Will Never Be The Same ! 900 Sheffield Ave. Well...It is Over, the Fat Lady has Sung ! For those who was begging for this...well you win, you got your wish ! For the rest of us...well what can I say, it was fun while it last ! yeah, I too had issues with the dogs, poor management skills, bogus promoters, but once inside, it was caribbean unity on display...it was nothing but love, at least my experience .... but it was a place we could call home...now the Jews can call it home. We came out as one and jump as one besides all the adversity that we face. State your fondness memories or put up pics with crew of your adventures to The Great Elite Ark at 900 Sheffield Ave. Brooklyn, New York. Last edited by socapineman; 10-27-2007 at 02:38 PM.. |
Credits: 658
t
I only went there twice but it was on labour day weekend sat 2002 and the line up was square 1, rupee, traffic, denise belfon and others. The fete was outisde in the tent area and because it rained that weekend there was a big puddle in the crowd area. I remember having drinks and then somebody passed me a plastic jug with something in it. Later found out it was hennesy after I got introduced to the giver of said jug. The vibe was crazy and the almost grand finale for me was when I went on stage (after winning the wine off lol) to whine on Saucy. I was right behind her ready to bring out de Jammette in she when out of the blue some drunk fat man wearing nothing but two thongs on his head, shorts and black Dock martins proceeded to crawl on stage (all fours) like a dog and started sniffing after Denise Belfon's crotch. Denise Belfon, without missing a beat grabs his head and jams it in her business and starts jukking his face while singing the Jammette. There was no way I was even going to try and top that so I bowed and exited stage right. I'll never forget how that man stole my thunder but it was still a great night. If anyone has footage of that night; especially that part let me know. That was mad jokes.
Credits: 153,633
Credits: 24,370
my first machel experience talk done
Credits: 15,476
There were 1 or 2 good times in D Ark back in d day.........good riddance......people deserve better.....even if they dont kno better.
Credits: 9,985
agree, time for soca to move to manhattan in nice clubs...matta fact time for caribbean people to move to manhattan in nicer areas
make it like trinidad, charge an arm and a leg for 'uptown' fetes, and charge regular price for downtown fetes. The 'bad behavior' crew hardly is the 'uptown fete' crew...and there's gotta be larger venues in manhattan that fit a crowd of 4000.
JA Soca Ambassador
Please, lol ! For someone who claims they know so much about the Industry, that is a poor statement to make ( Manhattan ) how so ? Is already bad enough that some don't even want to pay $40 for a fete, muchless paying for parking and drinks ! |
JA Soca Ambassador
More Pics....
The Fans..... |
JA Soca Ambassador
More Pics...
*barring a HUGE reggae/soca show with multiple big acts at a stadium or a big park |
Credits: 699
the only place i can think of it BB Kings but i fraid for behavior
Credits: 15,476
They dont necessarily have to take soca to Manhattan becuz it have a few good spots in brooklyn.........its gonn be very interesting also when that new stadium is finished downtown........most of us who are certain age or of a certain mentality dont buy into paying $20-$40 to fete in d ghetto and get treated like shit..........my feting days in this country is very limited and only 2-3 promoters and i really mean 2-3 will get my money.....d rest ah dem could haul dey dutty tiefing muderkhunts.....why yuh tink Miami on a downward spiral rell quick......dey taking dey dutty tiefing ways on d road cross country......and dumb negros juss going along for d ride