#18 (permalink) | |
Credits: 185,942
You TOTALLY GOT it WRONG. Like I said, OVER and OVER, it was the BEGINNING of the EROSION of SOCA music when Superblue came out with "Get Something and Wave" and then the FOLLOWING year it was Preacher with "Jump and Wave. These two songs STARTED the TREND for the DOWNWARD SPIRAL of SOCA music, thus the NO SINGING TALENT of Machel, Iwer, and the REST of the HYPE artists took over SOCA. So for over 15 years, all you BASICALLY got were NURSERY RHYME, FLAGS, JUMP and WAVE lyrics that my 8 year old NIECES could have written....then it was more DOTISHNESS about MADNESS...and more FLAG this and RAG that. So basically these NO TALENT artists (that is if you feel WHINING and HYPING up a crowd are what one calls TALENT) practically took over the soca industry. Just like the NO TALENTED club and radio DJs BOMBARDED the FETES and AIRWAVES with the same TIRED music for over 15 years. The FANS had no CHOICE but to FALL in LINE, to such a DEGREE, they FAILED to GRASP that it was PURE GARBAGE that they have been FED. So they too became part of the PROBLEM, instead of the SOLUTION, because they're CONVINCED that this is what SOCA is all about when this was FAR from the TRUTH. When RAGS and FLAGS, JUMP and WAVE, and HYPE culture only came into EXISTENCE in the mid 90's….it REVOLUTIONED the soca industry, but in NON PROGRESSIVE way. And it is because of this FACT that a TOTAL UNKNOWN, outside of VINCYLAND, Kevin Lyttle, took the WORLD by STORM. When Kevin got SIGNED, people were like, noooo, he just came on the SCENE….who the F is Kevin Lyttle.....he did not PAY his dues. But what they were not REALIZING was, the music that they were SWEATING and WAVING their FLAGS to was/is GARBAGE. that kind of music was basically for AEROBICS....a good WORKOUT. That kind of music has no LONG LIFE SHELF. And EXECUTIVES, with any KIND of SENSE, and who UNDERSTANDS quality/good music, know that the likes of Machel, IWER and the REST cannot make music that is going to REACH a BROAD audience. So this is why Kevin Lyttle, a TOTAL UNKNOWN on the SOCA SCENE, LEAPED over all of them, with his PHENOMENAL HIT, TMO. But instead of RECOGNIZING what was WRONG with the INDUSTRY, they FOOLISHLY JUMPED on the artist who took SOCA music to a LEVEL NEVER EVER ACHIEVED by those who came before him.....yes, the KING of MAINSTREAM SOCA, Kevin Lyttle. Nevertheless, Kevin Lyttle's SUCCESS OPENED the EYES of the INDUSTRY, now you're seeing a CONCERTED effort to bring QUALITY back to SOCA music. But there are THOSE who still are CAUGHT UP in the WORKOUT and CIRCUS atmosphere of the current culture of soca music. And they still do not get it, that this type of music will not make SOCA rise beyond its CURRENT STATUS. It is this WORKOUT and CIRCUS culture that is KILLING soca music. But with TALENTED artists like a Kevin Lyttle, Bomani, Shurwayne Winchester and others, who can ACTUALLY make GOOD MUSIC, maybe we will see a REVERSAL of FORTUNE taking place in the INDUSTRY. I told you guys since 2003, SOCA MUSIC will NEVER EVER go anywhere with this JUMP and WAVE bull crap. NEVER!!! Because that is not FOUNDATION SOCA.....moreover, that type of soca music has ZERO LONGEVITY. Those are the FACTS that you HARD HEADS are UNABLE to GRASP. You want FURTHER PROOF of what I have been STATING? Look at Peter Ram, basically a dancehall artist, came with a NICE QUALITY soca song (good lyrics and melody) and is now MASHING up the PLACE….probably the BIGGEST HIT of 2006. Yet, he CANNOT sing for SHIT, but the FACT still REMAINS that his SONG is GOOD, lyrically and musically. And it goes RIGHT back to what I have been saying, you bring MUSIC that has no SHELF life and you’re not going anywhere.. By the way, there is one reason and one reason only as to why Trinidad still dominates the UNDERGROUND soca scene, and that is due to the FACT that they’re the MAJOR PLAYERS in this INDUSTRY. Thus they can DOMINATE the INDUSTRY even when they come with mediocrity because the DJS and the PROMOTERS are still going to give them a BLIGH. Until that CULTURE changes, SOCA nah go nuh whey, because too many EXCELLENT chunes get LEFT by the WAYSIDE, all because of CRAP by so-called BIG artists continuing to get play over topnotch songs from lesser known artists. Ohhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhh U DUN NUH. Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 11-30-2006 at 12:08 AM.. |
#19 (permalink) |
Unlike U and the OTHERS, I do not TAKE whatever as the GOSPEL because some BULL CRAP article on the INTERNET says it is so.
It takes more than that to CONVINCE me. I LOOK at the TOTALITY of the EVIDENCE and then take it from there. This is why my STANCE and VIEWS on ISSUES of this nature will ALWAYS be DIFFERENT from MOST of you GUYS, because many of you guys are of a BANDWAGONIST MENTALITY. It did not take this INTERVIEW by a HIGHLY REPUTABLE individual of the ART FORM for me to come to the CONCLUSION that this NONSENSE about SOCA is a COMBINATION of CALYPSO and INDIAN RIDDIMS as being a FARCE. Because if that was the CASE, this CALYPSO and INDIAN RIDDIMS CREATION would have DOMINATED the SOCA scene in the mid 70's. But it did not! It didn't EVEN REGISTER in the so-called land where the art form SUPPOSEDLY was CREATED, at that time. None of your GUYS, who PRATTLE all the time that SOCA is a COMBINATION of CALYPSO and INDIAN riddims, can name 5 top songs from say....uhm...1977....from the so-called LAND where it was CREATED, and where you can clearly hear this Calypso and Indian riddims dominating this new CREATION. It is all a FARCE to DISCREDIT anyone outside of TRINIDAD to either LAY claim to this CREATION or it being INFLUENCED by other music GENRES outside of T&T. It is that PLAIN and SIMPLE. I keep telling you guys that LORD Shorty CREATED CHUTNEY SOCA (SOLKA or SOKAH...whatever you want to call it), not the SOUL of CALYPSO. I have said it MANY TIMES over. And here a REPUTABLE MUSICIAN from the FAMOUS CHARLIE'S ROOTS band basically says SOCA is a combination of CALYPSO and DISCO. And if you LOOK at the INDUSTRY back then, he is ABSOLUTELY CORRECT. Because the MAJORITY of SOCA music, SOUND and LYRICAL wise, has ABSOLUTELY nothing to do with INDIAN RIDDIMS. The PROOF is in the PUDDEN. Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhhhh Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 11-30-2006 at 12:15 AM.. |
#20 (permalink) | |
Why do you THINK I CONFIDENTLY argue this issue, it is because I HAVE HEARD DIFFERENTLY from ELDERS within the INDUSTRY, not no article WRITTEN for the INTERNET by those who have their OWN AGENDA. You guys doh even QUESTION what is WRITTEN in these articles found on the INTERNET. You take EVERYTHING at FACE VALUE...that is why ARYO are EASILY FOOLED. I heard KING WELLINGTON and even SHORTY's OWN mother with dIFFERENT VIEWPOINTS on this issue. You think I am going to LISTEN to some SNOT NOSE and WET BEHIND the EARS IMIXERS, who can only go as far back as KMC, BUNJI GARLIN, Machel, Iwer, DESTRA, and ALISON, when it comes to the HISTORY of this INDUSTRY? Aryo MAD yes. The HISTORY of the MUSIC is there.....go back to the 70's...the EVIDENCE is CLEAR as DAY. |
#21 (permalink) |
MonsterHittz Productions
Credits: 3,671
hmmm...i learning tonight......
#22 (permalink) | |
#23 (permalink) |
Credits: 5,728
So GENIUS if you get your inspiration somewhere that mean U steal it ?
De US president is Jesus Christ... Unda Satanic Authority "Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
#24 (permalink) |
لمجرد أني جميلة
Credits: 50,847
Ok, let's get a list going of the "concoctions" about soca's origin by random others... 1. calypso and soul 2. calypso and cadence 3. calypso and disco... Wonder what claim will be next? calypso and techno?? or maybe calypso and merengue... ![]() |
#25 (permalink) |
Custom User Title
Credits: 2,313
read the other thread concerning it and come again then you'll see where i'm coming from.
Last edited by Dutty; 11-30-2006 at 02:37 AM.. |
#26 (permalink) |
Credits: 5,417
According to Ras Shorty I, the rhythm instruments of Indian music fused with Calypso created "Solka", his first song "Cloak & Dagger" released in 1963 then followed by "Indrani" followed by his megga hit album "Endless Vigrations" after that he became a Rasta, beause he didn't like the direction of what became "Soca" music.
#27 (permalink) | |
لمجرد أني جميلة
Credits: 50,847
But yuh have dese other special people wit dey random theories tryin tuh discredit oddas...i only wonder what comin next... Last edited by dollbabi; 11-30-2006 at 11:04 PM.. |
#28 (permalink) | |
So we're CLEAR now he did not CREAT "SOCA" the "SOUL of CALYPSO," which was CREATED in the 70's. Ohhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhh |
#29 (permalink) |
whatating
Credits: 3,079
Apart from what you heard or read how many of you actually were there when these things happened?
How many of you studied Music History and have an understanding of Music Theory and Interpretation? As for the guy in the interview I assume he was around during these times(being a band musician) and he obviously has the qualifications to understand and conclude his statements. Everything he said sounds like all logic to me and it isn't the first time I heard of it. So unless some of you can find legit proof shut the ass up. I know one thing though, SOCA as it is defined by some with the "Indian" influence as created by Ras Shorty sounds NOWHERE like any SOCA made in the Leeward islands (Past & Present). So maybe just maybe there was some bastardization of the genre somewhere and people just started to use the name to describe whatever new music came out. If that be the case please keep the damn name and I hope someone comes up with a new name to satisfy you all. Shit WCK was smart as hell to come up with the "Bouyan" name or else who knows some people would have probably said that is theirs as well. |
#30 (permalink) | |
Credits: 1,572
But yo, don't the leeward islands call their style of carnival music "jamband soca/jamband music ?" I rarely ever hear of bands in St. Kitts or the Burning/Red Hot Flames refer to themselves as soca bands. |