Old 05-27-2004, 03:53 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 3,025
Soca Djs...Help me out here...

what record stores in the New York area do your frequent for Soca albums?
Old 05-27-2004, 03:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Credits: 37,839
None! If I need something tho I check JW and if dey eh have it see if ah geh lucky by Charlies.
Old 05-27-2004, 04:05 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 3,025
Originally posted by WICKED SCORPION
None! If I need something tho I check JW and if dey eh have it see if ah geh lucky by Charlies.
Why none?
Old 05-27-2004, 04:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Originally posted by ILanDFnTsY
Why none?
Most artists give me promotional copies of their material long before it's released so by time album come around I usually have the songs.
Old 05-27-2004, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Soca DJ

Credits: 275
Most artists give me promotional copies of their material long before it's released so by time album come around I usually have the songs.
Ditto that.
Old 05-27-2004, 04:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

What the artists don't give me I get directly from producers who most often urge me to share it with the DJs in my circle.
Old 05-27-2004, 04:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Whose YO DADDY..^

Credits: 6,613
I second that

Not to mention that the record stores usually dont have all of the stuff

any dj's remember "caribbean music brokers" one place you could get stuff that them other record stores aint have

I remember goin to JW looking for songs that were "hot" sometimes I end up waiting a year to get the blasted song, didnt make any sense (not sayin it was jw's fault on things like that).

Then the other thing was, "oh that was only released in Trinidad"

Usually the big boys were easy to get they almost always had their stuff available in the record stores.

but most of the time in a soca record store you never get everything you wanted.

So Ms. Fantasy if youre looking for an answer from back in the day then:

Strakers
JW
Caribbean Music Brokers (no longer around)

but as of right now it's like scorpion said.
Old 05-29-2004, 11:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Destra's Harmony

Credits: 4,004
sooo do u have a promo copy of Hysyanz - Coconuts
Old 05-29-2004, 03:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
领导失

Credits: 1,986
I'm in luck though, meh uncle is a dj ... so I does get sooooo much soca cd's... and being that.... ah know ppl who does go down trinidad...at least once a month...im good...down here....