Old 01-23-2008, 05:01 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 38
Soca is The Creator...It is The Source

Hello everyone,

I'm a new member who has been following many of the heated discussions about Soca's origins for some time, and I see a lot of you searching for information and a connection to that time, so I thought I'd jump in the deep end here and tell you what I know. I don't claim to be an expert or a historian, and I don't have an agenda other than to see all my Caribbean people living in unity.

I see Soca music like all music as being of the Creator, and I believe none of us can claim ownership of it as having formed it. When we create Soca music we simply manifest that part of the Creator in us. The sooner we all abandon the idea of wanting to claim ownership of that which can't be owned, and focus on the common thread that binds us all, the sooner we'll see real unity amongst ourselves. All of us are working our way back to our Source (musically speaking), after having been separated from Her, and although we may be at different points along the road, we are still all on the same journey, marching to the same rhythm. We feel the same vibe, rhythm, connection, and love for this music that touches our soul like no other rhythm can.

I believe things are evolving today the same as they did yesterday (100 yrs ago), with technology being the main difference of course. I think our people were vibing to the same rhythms which we called different names but because there was no real-time connection to one another, we knew not what the other was doing. Musically speaking, each of the islands is like a single lightbulb on a string of lights, each with the ability to manifest light (Soca), but still in need of the Source in order to create it. We are all connected, and we didn't create Soca, It created us. We simply manifest it in many ways. All of the islands and all of our people are equally as important with their contributions, because we come from the same Source and we have the same love for our music.

Let me get off this pulpit now, but in another post I'll tell yiou what I remember about that time of enlightenment for the youth of Trinidad, when the music started to change. Peace.
Old 01-23-2008, 06:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
como el lindo clave

Credits: 5,020
why hello sun ra
Old 01-23-2008, 09:28 AM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 17,089
Well Cum-Ba-Ya to you too my friend.
Old 01-23-2008, 10:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
go ketch yuh crowd

Credits: 853
Old 01-23-2008, 10:12 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 140,972
Originally Posted by neva-C-come-C View Post
Old 01-23-2008, 10:13 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 140,972
Welcome RUSTYNAIL.

I LQQK FORWARD to your INSIGHTFUL posts.
Old 01-23-2008, 10:37 AM   #7 (permalink)
GWEH

Credits: 2,846
Originally Posted by Rustynail View Post
Musically speaking, each of the islands is like a single lightbulb on a string of lights, each with the ability to manifest light (Soca), but still in need of the Source in order to create it.
Wah 'bout Jamaica?
Old 01-23-2008, 10:57 AM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
Well Cum-Ba-Ya to you too my friend.
Yeah, I know it sounds like a CUM-BA-YA post, but really we need to get away from the separation.
Old 01-23-2008, 10:59 AM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Fiyah View Post
Wah 'bout Jamaica?
Fiyah, that includes Jamaica too and all of the other countries in the Caribbean region that embrace this music.
Old 01-23-2008, 11:04 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 20,804
welcome RN...

ps: yall deep, cant give a man ah bligh... yall 2 bad...

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 01-23-2008, 11:04 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 688
Originally Posted by Rustynail View Post
Hello everyone,

I'm a new member who has been following many of the heated discussions about Soca's origins for some time, and I see a lot of you searching for information and a connection to that time, so I thought I'd jump in the deep end here and tell you what I know. I don't claim to be an expert or a historian, and I don't have an agenda other than to see all my Caribbean people living in unity.

I see Soca music like all music as being of the Creator, and I believe none of us can claim ownership of it as having formed it. When we create Soca music we simply manifest that part of the Creator in us. The sooner we all abandon the idea of wanting to claim ownership of that which can't be owned, and focus on the common thread that binds us all, the sooner we'll see real unity amongst ourselves. All of us are working our way back to our Source (musically speaking), after having been separated from Her, and although we may be at different points along the road, we are still all on the same journey, marching to the same rhythm. We feel the same vibe, rhythm, connection, and love for this music that touches our soul like no other rhythm can.

I believe things are evolving today the same as they did yesterday (100 yrs ago), with technology being the main difference of course. I think our people were vibing to the same rhythms which we called different names but because there was no real-time connection to one another, we knew not what the other was doing. Musically speaking, each of the islands is like a single lightbulb on a string of lights, each with the ability to manifest light (Soca), but still in need of the Source in order to create it. We are all connected, and we didn't create Soca, It created us. We simply manifest it in many ways. All of the islands and all of our people are equally as important with their contributions, because we come from the same Source and we have the same love for our music.

Let me get off this pulpit now, but in another post I'll tell yiou what I remember about that time of enlightenment for the youth of Trinidad, when the music started to change. Peace.
I like this view man. Especially the points in bold. Gives a different perspective on music, particularly soca music.
Old 01-23-2008, 11:06 AM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by neva-C-come-C View Post

Thanks! ah go try dat