Credits: 333
Soca chat = popularity contest
crabs in a barrel , only thing missing is scalding hot water and some butter. This is a pitiful display of bootlicking and ballwashing.
Credits: 2,477
Its not easily and can be quite disturbing but I guess its what we have for now. Maybe some day down the road this forum will have much more constructive criticism and not be filled with base-less opiniated agendas. |
An Ivy of Class
Credits: 577
Female Imixer!!!
Credits: 36,178
Since I joined I've seen a lot of my island better talk etc.
I am not into that I want to learn what the other islands are doing e.g. who accomplish what, who singing what, learn new things so I could have an interesting discussion with other island people and others. I want to big up those who should get big up. A lil joke is good otherwise this place go be reaaal boring Thanks to Imix I learned about the caves in Barbados (I pray no more fatalities occur like the recent cave in) and other interesting topics. Keep em coming. I also buss out laughing when some Imixers got 'shit up' for some of their views |
Credits: 2,477
Credits: 140,976
Yes, you're no LONGER COMFORTABLE being here because the DAYS of PRAISING and LEARNING about TRINI SOCA is HISTORY. Now it is ISLANDMIX time, not TRINI MIX time. So yes, I will have to say that the ISLANDMIX title is NOW BEARING FRUIT unlike the DAYS when it was ALL about TRINI SOCA this and TRINI soca that...of course, wid ah LIKKLE mentioned of one and two outsider songs. If that is the what you want to GO BACK to, SORRY, it NAH go TEK PLACE. So yuh BETTER STOP REMINISCING about the PAST and get with the PRESENCE. |
Even I had to TEACH the TRINIS things that they DID NOT KNOW about, like TRINI MUSIC and ARTISTS. So the REAL LEARNING actually TOOK PLACE after I came ABOARD and RESCUE this SOCA FORUM from its ELITIST status. The ELITIST CLIQUE could not take the TRANSFORMATION that was taking PLACE so they ABANDON SHIP. SOCA CHAT is BETTER for it. Ohhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhh Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 08-31-2007 at 07:08 PM.. |
Credits: 5,067
"Self-Realization is the knowing in all parts of body, mind, and soul that you are now in possession of the kingdom of God; that you do not have to pray that it come to you; that God’s omnipresence is your omnipresence; and that all that you need to do is improve your knowing.” |
An Ivy of Class
Credits: 577
I am here BASICALLY to PUT The SPOTLIGHT on VINCYLAND, VINCY ARTISTS and PRODUCERS. I came here in SEPT of 2003, and I can ASSURE U, there was HARDLY....FRANKLY ABSOLUTELY NOTHING POSITIVE was being DISCUSSED about VINCYLAND, VINCY ARTISTS nor PRODUCERS. In MANY INSTANCES, these PEOPLE SIMPLY did not KNOW much about VINCY music because the DIALOGUE was PRACTICALLY DOMINATED by you KNOW what. What was QUITE SURPRISING to me, when I FIRST came here, so-called VINCIES were BOOSTING UP TRINIDAD artists and even some from other ISLANDS instead of their OWN. LQQKING back, I find that to be SHOCKING, especially when there is such a RICH HISTORY of VINCY ACHIEVEMENT in this INDUSTRY. I CONCLUDED that these so-called VINCIES could not have been VINCIES from VINCYLAND, but YANKEES whose PARENTS were VINCENTIANS or they were too INTIMIDATED by the OVERWHELMING PRESENCE of TRINIS in SOCA CHAT thus they decided to go with the FLOW because of FEAR of some sort of BACKLASH. Mannnn, there were times when I WANTED to CUSS them OFF ( ![]() ), but I say NAH.....those are my PEOPLE, even if they're not BORN VINCENTIANS or even if they LACK the KNOWLEDGE of VINCY MUSIC....they will EVENTUALLY come HOME aka EMBRACE their OWN, CONFIDENTLYSo I then TOOK it UPON myself (even when I got CRITICIZED from some of these VINCIES, because of some sort of INFERIORITY fear that they were UNABLE to come to TERMS with, at the time) to SPREAD the KNOWLEDGE/NEWS about VINCY MUSIC, PRODUCERS and ARTISTS. I am always UP for a good DEBATE, but know that you HARDLY can put the WOOL over my EYES, because it is not VINCY MUSIC alone I am KNOWLEDGEABLE about. And believe it or not, there are THINGS that I do not KNOW about the HISTORY of VINCY MUSIC, but I KNOW QUITE ENOUGH to FEEL EXTREMELY CONFIDENT to TAWK the TAWK and BACK it UP too. So yes, to FINALLY ADDRESS your STATEMENT ( ![]() ), I have absolutely no PROBLEM with ALL the SOCA NATIONS PROMOTING their OWN, especially those from the SMALLER ISLANDS, because we KNOW how much their MUSIC is UNDEREXPOSED.When someone can come and say this music is crap and that SONG is SHIT, I will have a PROBLEM with that, especially when they give off a sense of being SERIOUS, especially when they have LISTENED to the SONG, KEENLY. Moreover, if they had BOOST UP songs from their island that I know are not on PAR with the ones that they're giving a NEGATIVE response to, I might have a problem with that too. But not to where I START off with PERSONAL ATTACKS. I rather debate the person so I can see why they hold the position that they do, but once they're put in a CORNER, like a CAGED ANIMAL, the PERSONAL ATTACKS start. ![]() Still, I tried to ADDRESS those INDIVIDUALS in a PASSIONATE and RESPECTFUL way. But in most INSTANCES, they maintained their LOST COOL and the RESORTING of PERSONAL ATTACKS, which then took away from what could have been an INSIGHTFUL, CONSTRUCTIVE and PASSIONATE debate. Sometimes I have to LAUGH when this TAKES place, because I FIND it HILARIOUS and ODD. Yuh SEE meeeee, my YUTE?? Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 08-31-2007 at 09:26 PM.. |
EXAMPLES....EXAMPLES, because all you're DOING is YAP YAP YAP and not saying ANYTHING of WORTH to SUPPORT your BELIEF. |
Credits: 1,054
i think it helps not to take anything too seriously.
peace, ajax |
I ABSOLUTELY AGREE with U.
These PEOPLE (just speaking in GENERAL) LITERALLY takes THINGS to HEART. For INSTANCE, if they CHALLENGE me on an ISSUE and I RESPOND, in MANY INSTANCES, by PROVIDING STRONG EVIDENCE to SUPPORT my POSITION, mannn these PEOPLE will LOSE their COOL and start with the PERSONAL ATTACKS. TRULY WEAK HEARTED and FRAGILITY on their PART! Yuh SEEE meee?? By the way, any FEEDBACK yet? |
Royal
Credits: 24,344
![]() ![]() Another OLD COOK who wants THINGS to be LIKE it USED to be, ALL about TRINIDAD. SORRY, the CHICKENS have COME HOME to ROOST...and if you refuse to TASTE the NEW HOME COOKED MEAL, doh BLAME the NEW COOKS for your REFUSAL to SAMPLE the NEW DISHES. Ohhhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhhhhhh |