Old 10-23-2005, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 101
SOCA/Calypso Definition Debate

Question:
Is there a precise definition for SOCA and Calpyso?
How can a person listening or composing music differentiate between the two?

There seems to be some overlap and I wanted to get some differing viewpoints.

Thanks,
B
"This is still new to me!"
Old 10-23-2005, 07:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
rebecca

can only help you with one definition...i THINK...and please anybody, correct me if i'm wrong here, SOCA is derived from the words Soulful and Calypso.
For anguillians, soca is the upbeat music that comes out of trinidad and other big islands (eg. rupee, destra, machel) while Calypso is the older music - Mighty Sparrow, Lord Kitchener and those boys. Hope it helps...
Old 10-23-2005, 08:36 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,909
check this thread
What is Soca(RAs Shorty)
and this one
http://islandmix.com/backchat/showth...threadid=36718
Old 10-23-2005, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,290
This topic is a common one here on IMIX...

Calypso music originates from African and Latin (french/spanish) influences. It is a reflection of the West African oral traditions maintained through slavery and colonialism, mixing African/Latin instrumentals.
CALYPSO ORIGINS

Soca music orginated from African and East Indian rhythms/influences, and it called "the Soul of Calypso." As for the word soca itself, the genre was name "so" from the calypso and "kah" for the first letter of the indian alphabet.The name was later changed to "soca" by a musical journalist. From there it has grown in what it is now...
SOCA ORIGINS

So although both genres are distinct from each other, the overlap is understandable because the latter carries with it the musical influences of the former.
Old 10-23-2005, 08:42 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 140,902
Originally Posted by currygyal

Calypso music originates from African and Latin (french/spanish) influences. It is a reflection of the West African oral traditions maintained through slavery and colonialism, mixing African/Latin instrumentals.http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/articles/the_history_of_calypso.htm

Soca music orginated from African and East Indian rhythms/influences, and it called "the Soul of Calypso." As for the word soca itself, the genre was name "so" from the calypso and "kah" for the first letter of the indian alphabet.The name was later changed to "soca" by a musical journalist. From there it has grown in what it is now...http://www.toronto-lime.com/music/profiles/shorty.htm

So although both genres are distinct from each other, the overlap is understandable because the latter carries with it the musical influences of the former.
Old 10-23-2005, 08:53 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by brothertruffle880
Question:

Thanks,
B
The DEFINITION of SOCA has EVOLVED over the YEARS.

For the TRINIS, it is COMBINATION of African and East Indian riddims.

However, for the other SOCA NATIONS, like St. Vincent and the Grenadines, it is a COMBINATION of rhythms heard in Calypso and SOUL/DISCO music.

There is NOTHING Indian about SOCA music from St. Vincent and the Grenadines.

And yes, in St. Vincent and the Grenadines, and all the OTHER SOCA NATIONS, except for Trinidad and Tobago, SOCA means SOUL of Calypso.

You take the "SO" from SOUL and the "CA" from calypso and you get "SOCA".
Old 10-23-2005, 09:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 715
Originally Posted by brothertruffle880
Question:

Thanks,
B
I once was told it was Calypso with East indian infusion, soul calypso.

I found this in a search:
Soca is a dance music which is a mix of Trinidads calypso and Indian music and rhythms, especially chutney music -- it is not, as is often said, a fusion of soul and calypso.

But I also found this:
Chutney is an uptempo song, accompanied by dholak, harmonium and dhantal, played in rhythms imported from filmi, calypso or soca.

So which came first the chicken or the egg? (The egg, by the way)
Old 10-23-2005, 09:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Salsero de pura cepa

Credits: 715

Calypso music originates from African and Latin (french/spanish) influences. It is a reflection of the West African oral traditions maintained through slavery and colonialism, mixing African/Latin instrumentals.
CALYPSO ORIGINS

Soca music orginated from African and East Indian rhythms/influences, and it called "the Soul of Calypso." As for the word soca itself, the genre was name "so" from the calypso and "kah" for the first letter of the indian alphabet.The name was later changed to "soca" by a musical journalist. From there it has grown in what it is now...
SOCA ORIGINS

cool.
Old 10-23-2005, 09:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Royal

Let just not forget that soca originated in Trinidad. Whatever other island made it after it reached them makes it unique to them. But like every form of music, it has it birthplace.

And both soca and calypso had their birth in Trinidad.

Old 10-23-2005, 09:25 PM   #10 (permalink)

Let just not forget that soca originated in Trinidad. Whatever other island made it after it reached them makes it unique to them. But like every form of music, it has it birthplace.

And both soca and calypso had their birth in Trinidad.

Calypso has its BIRTH in TRINIDAD?

Lawd, here we go again.

Ley I LEAVE that alone.

Ah TIYAD see it being DEBATED.

Anyhow, GYEL, like me done tell yuh, you keep pushing these INDIAN elements in SOCA, but if one has to listen to your DEFINITION, CLEARLY you're referring to CHUTNEY SOCA.

There is absolutely NOTHING INDIAN about the SOCA that has been, CONSISTENTLY, coming out of Trinidad and Tobago, since the SO-CALLED birth of Soca in the mid 70's.

As of TODAY, this INDIAN element in SOCA is like the DINOSAUR, EXTINCT.

So if you're EDUCATING people about SOCA music, it is WORTHLESS referring to INDIAN INFLUENCES unless you're referring to when it was so-called CREATED in mid 70's, because right after it was CREATED, INDIAN elements were not part of the DOMINANT elements in SOCA music from Trinidad.

If you have someone who RECENTLY started to LISTEN to SOCA, they would want to know where are the INDIAN elements that they keep referring to, because it is CLEARLY not in 99.9% of the soca songs out of TRINIDAD today.

Moreover, it was NEVER EVER a DOMINANT element in SOCA music from Trinidad, PERIOD.

Well, as for the other SOCA NATIONS, it NEVER EXISTED, PERIOD.

Again, it is WORTHLESS bringing that up, unless you just wanted to share how TRINI SOCA started.

That being said, ONE must make sure to LET the UNINFORMED know that this Indian element in SOCA music is PRACTICALLY dead, since the 80's, and even in the 70's, when soca was so-called created, it was not part of the MAJOR elements of that GENRE.

To continue BRINGING it to the FOREFRONT is TOTALLY misleading because it is of ZERO SIGNIFICANCE in today's SOCA music, ESPECIALLY from T&T.

Now, if you talking CHUTNEY soca feel FREE to mention the INDIAN elements.

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 10-23-2005 at 09:58 PM..
Old 10-23-2005, 09:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Royal

Originally Posted by VINCYPOWA
Calypso has its BIRTH in TRINIDAD?

Lawd, here we go again.

Ley I LEAVE that alone.

Ah TIYAD see it being DEBATED.

Anyhow, GYEL, like me done tell yuh, you keep pushing these INDIAN elements in SOCA, but if one has to listen to your DEFINITION, CLEARLY you're referring to CHUTNEY SOCA.

There is absolutely NOTHING INDIAN about the SOCA that has been, CONSISTENTLY, coming out of Trinidad and Tobago, since the SO-CALLED birth of Soca in the mid 70's.

As of TODAY, this INDIAN element in SOCA is like the DINOSAUR, EXTINCT.

So if you're EDUCATING people about SOCA music, it is WORTHLESS referring to INDIAN INFLUENCES unless you're referring to when it was so-called CREATED in mid 70's, because right after it was CREATED, INDIAN elements were not part of the DOMINANT elements in SOCA music from Trinidad.

If you have someone who just RECENTLY starting to LISTEN to SOCA, they would want to know where are the INDIAN elements that they keep referring to, because it is CLEARLY not in 99.9% of the soca songs out of TRINIDAD today.

Moreover, it was NEVER EVER a DOMINANT element in SOCA music from Trinidad, PERIOD.

Well, as for the other SOCA NATIONS, it NEVER EXISTED, PERIOD.

Again, it is WORTHLESS bringing that up, unless you just wanted to share how TRINI SOCA started.

That being said, ONE must make sure to LET the UNINFORMED know that this Indian element in SOCA music is PRACTICALLY dead, since the 80's, and even in the 70's, when soca was so-called created, it was not part of the MAJOR elements of that GENRE.

To continue BRINGING it to the FOREFRONT is TOTALLY misleading because it is of ZERO SIGNIFICANCE in today's SOCA music, ESPECIALLY from T&T.

Now, if you talking CHUTNEY soca feel FREE to mention the INDIAN elements.

I see that crack is talking again VP!!!!

Do yourself a favor and leave other people's history alone...stick to promoting Kevin Lyttle.

Old 10-23-2005, 09:56 PM   #12 (permalink)

I see that crack is talking again VP!!!!

Do yourself a favor and leave other people's history alone...stick to promoting Kevin Lyttle.

U know I SPEAK de TRUTH.
Old 10-23-2005, 09:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Royal

U know I SPEAK de TRUTH.

Yea...true shyte!!!!

Old 10-23-2005, 10:04 PM   #14 (permalink)

Yea...true shyte!!!!

The TRUTH will SET you FREE.

Fly my LIKKLE Dove...SOAR the like EAGLE.

You're now FREE.
Old 10-23-2005, 10:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Royal

The TRUTH will SET you FREE.

Fly my LIKKLE Dove...SOAR the like EAGLE.

You're now FREE.
JUST SAY NO!