Old 01-01-2008, 12:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Credits: 36,136
Thumbs up Soca Banton

julian182 thanks for your comparison
It inspired me to listen to more of Soca Banton's music

Ova U Head (Grenada Road March '06) Enjoyed it
This is the Band (2007 Grenada Soca Monarch) Nice

Soca Banton's The Bassman is boss.
This is why I love musicians (among many, many, many things)

I have to find a way to keep up with the various talented soca artistes/DJs worldwide. Anyway...

Digga D I saw in this thread Most Underrated songs of 2K7 you put: Banton in red.

So clear up this confusion please allyuh: besides Soca Banton is there a Soca Bantan????? Give me a history on him/them please.

BTW Soca Banton only get big up instead of other artistes because of julian182 thread: New Iwer George--Ova Yuh Head(2008)
Old 01-01-2008, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,343
I love "Ova Yuh Head"! I was playing it over and over when it came out...
Old 01-01-2008, 01:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Royal

Does anybody have "Ova Yuh Head"? Please post it, if so...
Old 01-01-2008, 01:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Originally Posted by dollbabi View Post
I love "Ova Yuh Head"! I was playing it over and over when it came out...
Love it too. Today yuh got another chance.
Old 01-01-2008, 01:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Me

Credits: 25,000
Originally Posted by dollbabi View Post
Does anybody have "Ova Yuh Head"? Please post it, if so...
Give me 5 min
Old 01-01-2008, 01:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Credits: 4,736
i thought 2k7 was gonna be a huge year for him. "Work It" is a made tune. it's due to lazy marketing.
Old 01-01-2008, 01:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Me

Here's a Soca Banton Complation:

music player
I made this music player at MyFlashFetish.com.

Last edited by julian182; 01-01-2008 at 01:38 PM..
Old 01-01-2008, 01:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Female Imixer!!!

Originally Posted by spicexperience View Post
i thought 2k7 was gonna be a huge year for him. "Work It" is a made tune. it's due to lazy marketing.
So because of that I hope imix members will continue to talk about artistes whose songs don't get play for whatever reason so we could be more familiar and support them in various ways.

Soca lovers on various forums need to big up these underrated artistes there too.

So who is the marketing company he uses???
Old 01-01-2008, 01:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Royal

Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
Love it too. Today yuh got another chance.
I playing it now!

Anyone know if there is somewhere I can buy the song?

And there was a next Grenadian tune that Last Lap by Destra had a little similarity too..."Road Block." I love that song soooooo much! Somebody please let me where i could get it. Here it is...

Old 01-01-2008, 02:24 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 2,477
I am fond of both Soca Baton and Sheldon Douglas. Grenada definitely becoming a favorite place of mine in terms my taste in music, second to Antigua.
Old 01-01-2008, 04:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Me

Originally Posted by Insane Lucian View Post
2 big tunes from him is swim and clear de smoke.

he won the crown with clear de smoke in 2005.
Isnt "clear de smoke" from Boogie B
Old 01-01-2008, 04:48 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 153,654
Originally Posted by julian182 View Post
Isnt "clear de smoke" from Boogie B
oh yeh my bad i mistake him......

i tink swim is from boogie b too?
Old 01-02-2008, 05:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
JuSt MaDdNeSs

Credits: 129
Originally Posted by Insane Lucian View Post
oh yeh my bad i mistake him......

i tink swim is from boogie b too?
Yea it is
Old 01-03-2008, 02:30 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 20,803
Originally Posted by TriniTrini View Post
julian182 thanks for your comparison
It inspired me to listen to more of Soca Banton's music

Ova U Head (Grenada Road March '06) Enjoyed it
This is the Band (2007 Grenada Soca Monarch) Nice

Soca Banton's The Bassman is boss.
This is why I love musicians (among many, many, many things)

I have to find a way to keep up with the various talented soca artistes/DJs worldwide. Anyway...

Digga D I saw in this thread Most Underrated songs of 2K7 you put: Banton in red.

So clear up this confusion please allyuh: besides Soca Banton is there a Soca Bantan????? Give me a history on him/them please.

BTW Soca Banton only get big up instead of other artistes because of julian182 thread: New Iwer George--Ova Yuh Head(2008)
okay thanks for noticing ... Soca Banton only has one name n i have seen via the net that ppls have been spelling it wrong n there's only one soca banton...

he rolls fairly close to other UK artists in which i have mentioned on here too such as Chardanai n Soca Johnny, as them too will have a few hits i'm sure for us in d UK!! but back 2 d education of Soca Banton....

jus click on HERE for a nice bio of him...

and i gonna follow suit like Julian did with a few tracks that he didnt put up in d player..

music player

www.myspace.com/diggasoca

www.soundsbestwithsoca.com/dematrixshow
Old 01-03-2008, 03:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
zen
Gajo Fresco

Credits: 1,174
Soca Banton is an extremely hard working artist that deserves his credit. Traffic is a SICk song that only got sort of eclipsed by Berbice's Traffik. The Bassman - is crazy when you hear it on a nice sound system. This is the Band - is another song that has gottin' lost. It too is a well put together song. I am always anxious to hear what the man will bring in the next year, because I know he wont dissapoint.

Again, he does not put together GARBAGE. Lyrics, melody, sound, cohesion.

Big up Soca Banton!!