Old 08-24-2007, 01:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Smarty Skirt

Credits: 1,543
Soca Artistes and Their Image

How important is image i.e dress, behaviour etc. compared to singing ability when it comes to soca artistes? Is being able to sing/perform good enough or should we expect a little more from them?
Old 08-24-2007, 01:59 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 2,893
I think image & the way they conduct themselves is very important. That doesn't mean they have to dress in designer wear for instance...but like I watched Small Axe earlier this year and they performed in big ass black tees and baggy jeans...to top it off they look like they just roll out of bed, throw the clothes on & went to the show. I mean, be somewhat groomed ya know.

I met Nu-Vybes & wanted to take some pics & they like they wanted to play around and lounge in their chairs like they at some backyard barbeque. If someone is asking to do a profile on you for an article, some type of professional behaviour is expected. I looked at the pics one time and said fack it because they really seemed as if they didn't give a crap. All fine and good...maybe they ain think it was a big deal, but there are many others who would like the opportunity.

So yeah...if you wanna dress like u do at home, I'd hope it looks somewhat appealing (FYI dem black nightie shirts are not cool).
Old 08-24-2007, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 153,629
Originally Posted by Rummy View Post
I think image & the way they conduct themselves is very important. That doesn't mean they have to dress in designer wear for instance...but like I watched Small Axe earlier this year and they performed in big ass black tees and baggy jeans...to top it off they look like they just roll out of bed, throw the clothes on & went to the show. I mean, be somewhat groomed ya know.

I met Nu-Vybes & wanted to take some pics & they like they wanted to play around and lounge in their chairs like they at some backyard barbeque. If someone is asking to do a profile on you for an article, some type of professional behaviour is expected. I looked at the pics one time and said fack it because they really seemed as if they didn't give a crap. All fine and good...maybe they ain think it was a big deal, but there are many others who would like the opportunity.

So yeah...if you wanna dress like u do at home, I'd hope it looks somewhat appealing (FYI dem black nightie shirts are not cool).
damn dey salop eh.
Old 08-24-2007, 03:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Smarty Skirt

Credits: 1,543
Yes Rummy you do make some valid points. From an Antigua perspective I find that some of these guys don't think image is important as long as they have their music and their fan base at home. The issue now is that if they ever need to go overseas they need to be able to move to the next level. What might be acceptable at home may not be appreciated outside.
Old 08-24-2007, 06:24 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 686
Originally Posted by Rummy View Post

Why u gotta hate on the Kittitian bands for ? LOL

But yeah, I definitely see ur point.
Old 08-24-2007, 07:01 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 2,893
Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post

Well obviously I took an interest to go see them, so it's not as bad as it seems. But they def stood out. When I went to see RHF...they were all presentable and carry themselves well. Same applies to folks like Machel, Shurwayne,Bunji, Fyah, Claudette, Destra (people will hate on her appearance at times, but she's still pretty pleasant when people want to meet her) etc. But there are bands like the ones I mentioned where they simply act like they don't care.

Last edited by Rummy; 08-24-2007 at 09:04 PM..
Old 08-24-2007, 08:51 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 153,629
Originally Posted by small_island_descent View Post

oh dais how allyuh does act and dress

Old 08-24-2007, 10:09 PM   #8 (permalink)

machel always looks well put together.

but i don't think enough of them have a vested interest in their appearance