Old 02-09-2004, 02:41 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 181
Unhappy Which soca artist is making the most money?

How much money these artist making? Who the ones making the most money? And how much?
Old 02-09-2004, 02:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Credits: 37,848
Re: Which soca artist is making the most money?

Originally posted by harizon
How much money these artist making? How the ones making the most money? And how much?
Most $$ band is Xtatik Not sure of the exact dollar amount but it is rumoured to be a minimum of $15, 000

I have heard that Rupee is between $5, 000 and $7, 000 depending on the promoter and I think Bunji is in the same vicinity price wise.

Everyone else (solo) is an average of about $3,000 per appearance. Bands average about $10, 000

These are rates for U.S. performances I suspect but doh kno fuh sure if the have different pricing scales for caribbean and europe
Old 02-09-2004, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 2,910
Actually a lot of bands are not even making $10,000. I know of at least three that will do for under $5000. But yeah..depends on the promoter especially come Carnival time when they might hold more than one event.
Old 02-09-2004, 03:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,106
HA! interesting......
Old 02-09-2004, 03:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Originally posted by Val3nie2debone
HA! interesting......
Wha so interesting?
Old 02-09-2004, 04:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
~Dare to be freeeeeee~

Credits: 16,106
Originally posted by MAD SCORPION
Wha so interesting?

when he ask the most money, he means who's gettin "paid" right? well i know of only three (3) who "making the most money" i aint gine to elaborate further.:p
Old 02-09-2004, 05:47 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 29
i want to believe solo artistes like iwer & maximus makin the most

kmc kinda up there too cause he doing a lot of poducing
then too these guys do alot of other shit with their $ to make sure they have an after soca life
althoug machel have a band he kinda up there too cause he has a studio and merchandising and endorsement contracts etc
Old 02-09-2004, 07:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
VINCY4LlFE

Kevin Lyttle makes the most money, period. I wouldn't be surprise if Rupee is next on the list.
Old 02-10-2004, 11:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hot, sweet and spicy.

Credits: 3,047
Originally posted by VINCY4LlFE
Kevin Lyttle makes the most money, period. I wouldn't be surprise if Rupee is next on the list.
Where did you get your information from Kevin gets 1,500 to 2,000 per show, that may have change now but he does not make more money than Rupee for sure. Denise gets paid more than Kevin. I know this because I have hired them for shows in the past.
Old 02-10-2004, 12:23 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 1,109
bebespice dearie, dont go there, trust me

machel definitely...he doing this since he was 9 or whatever, allyu see de bmw he does drive? de odder day i see maximus takin a bus route maxi
Old 02-10-2004, 12:24 PM   #11 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Originally posted by bebespice
Where did you get your information from Kevin gets 1,500 to 2,000 per show, that may have change now but he does not make more money than Rupee for sure. Denise gets paid more than Kevin. I know this because I have hired them for shows in the past.
Why are you even responding to that nonsense?
Old 02-10-2004, 12:35 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally posted by MAD SCORPION
Why are you even responding to that nonsense?
I almost did too but I catch myself :p
Old 02-10-2004, 12:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Originally posted by Lady Slaughter

machel definitely...he doing this since he was 9 or whatever, allyu see de bmw he does drive? de odder day i see maximus takin a bus route maxi
Am try yuh best and leave mih boy outta yuh mout please. He takin maxi because he prefers humble means than flash.
Old 02-10-2004, 12:42 PM   #14 (permalink)
Hot, sweet and spicy.

Credits: 3,047
Originally posted by Lady Slaughter

Don't go where, I didn't say anything about how much money Machel makes, all I was doing was saying that Kevin does not make such and such. At no time did I say who I thought made the most money, I don't know and really I don't care, that they money not mine.
Old 02-10-2004, 12:51 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 1,723
rite now Lord Saltfish is a broke calypsonian. he writes and performs 4 de luv of it. however, he is making a substantial amount of money by collecting de 5 cent refunds from all the carib, stag and guiness bottles pelted during his performances.

salty