Credits: 140,730
He has won it so many times that he RETIRED from COMPETING. I believe MADDZART can do it....that POOR PEOPLE SONG shows his ABILITIY to CRAFT songs with a POLITICAL/SOCIAL theme. |
Credits: 9,874
Credits: 1,709
in TNT...
Benjai (would just have 2 refrain from the simmy yeah's and nyaah's) nice voice and can come w/ good lyrics. Sean Caruth - great voice and if used to sing an uplifting tune such as Singing Sandra's "Clean Heart" for example, could be a winning combo. won't be easy 2 win with all the established heavy hitters...but a great contribution. and i'd also throw in Maximus believe it or not. would just have 2 present himself more as a calypsoian. strong voice and strong lyrics r in his corner. salty |
Debble
Credits: 2,756
well.
edwin win calyspo crown before i agree with sean curuth lil rick even enter but only mek finals once not many more , people doan under stand ,, jus because u sing soca doan mean yuh could perform a calypso... but i think calypso men can make the transition easier all dem have to do is dumb down dem ting.. and what do we have? SOCA |
Credits: 2,885
Maximus seem like he could do it with practice, but he seems to have a good mind-set to accomplish it. Sean is under-rated, so maybe that would be an area he could look into. |
Credits: 166
Not many people know that he was well on his way to being a social commentary specialist. I remember him placing 2nd (1996) and 3rd (1994) in the Tobago Calypso Monarch competing against the likes of Axeback, Happy, Eric Powder, Calypso Prince and Lesley Ann-Ellis. If you had asked me if Shurwayne was more likely to win Calypso Monarch or Road March ten years ago I would have said Calypso Monarch. Even today I’m still shocked by his evolution into band vocalist/soca star having known his roots. Shurwayne would surprise a lot of people in the big yard. |
Credits: 147
i know many wouldn't agree with me but i think.. maga dan.. and bunji.. the reason for that.. is because their lyrics is very real.. besides the whole partying scene.. their lyrics.. are very powerful and meaningful.. it really appeals to wats going on today.. and about the yutes.. for examples
Maga dan.. Order, and Zion Bunji .. Blaze de fire..(pls listen to the lyrics) Licks..Preaching war. The next time if possible. listen to the lyrics .. cuz.. besides all the wine and jam.. jumping and waving.. the songs have a meaning behind it |
its lyrics that win claypso monarch and thats what de garlin have i aiont saying he could win but the lyrics is there |
Credits: 2,926
to me i think that papa jerry, from Grenada can win a
calypso compitition,in the opinon of many Grenadians he is the best lyricist in the nation. He competed last year and placed 4th, for him whether its soca or calypso he always had the biting lyrics. wey de jab jab posse dey i say wey dem dey |