Old 08-29-2005, 01:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Culture First

Credits: 251
Are Soca arrangers charging artist to much to record music..

I spoke to a friend about this issue a few day ago. He express to me that he thought that in these days with piracy and other element hindering the progress of soca music. He thought that arrangers had their part to play also. Out of a total of 10 artist 9 of them do not make their money back when producing an album. He said that arrangers needed to be more understanding to the market and be more considerate. What do u imixers have to say about that???
Old 08-29-2005, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
afterdark

Credits: 3,120
Producer....need to still charge.... or work out some other agreement... can't putting all that work and get nothing from it....
Old 08-29-2005, 02:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Culture First

That's true but do you agree that charging $1000.00 per song in these days is to much..
Old 08-29-2005, 02:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
afterdark

Credits: 3,120
true but then yuh need to work out other agreements.... cuz yuh still need to get paid fuh yuh work.... nah true
Old 08-29-2005, 02:02 PM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 2,893
Well I guess that depends on if it is going on the producers cd or not.
Old 08-29-2005, 02:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Culture First

I'm not debating whether a person should get paid. They should be compensated for their work no doubt. I want to know if $1000.00 is to much in these times..
Old 08-29-2005, 02:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Angel!

Credits: 147
Originally Posted by BajanSheriff
I spoke to a friend about this issue a few day ago. He express to me that he thought that in these days with piracy and other element hindering the progress of soca music. He thought that arrangers had their part to play also. Out of a total of 10 artist 9 of them do not make their money back when producing an album. He said that arrangers needed to be more understanding to the market and be more considerate. What do u imixers have to say about that???
In defense of producers you are supposed to be paid for a job regardless of what happens to it afterwards...If I build a car for a person for them to use it to deliver papers and their paper route sucks...what that have to do with the work that I did on the car. It's also like when a promoter come and tell an artist that the show didn't make any money. Really and truly it doesn't matter because you performed and you should be paid for your job regardless. You think if your boss not making money off of your work that he should pay you less? Plus their are other producers that charge less. In R&B or hip hop or any other music you get paid per job not depending on how successful an artist is with your material. And realistically how could you charge depending on the market? It depends on what market. CD selling, performance? When a song hits big the artist makes way more in one show than a producer would make for the arrangement and recording. There is no way to forsee the future success or market. Think Kevin Lyttle's song "Turn Me On". Who saw that coming? Sometimes you may work things out with an artist financially but not really because the market may not be good for it and it should be expected but appreciated if it does happen. Just my opinion.
Old 08-29-2005, 02:35 PM   #8 (permalink)
Angel!

Credits: 147
I'm not debating whether a person should get paid. They should be compensated for their work no doubt. I want to know if $1000.00 is to much in these times..
I just saw this after I posted...but it still depends on certain things. to me $1000. is not too much. That producer would get people who could obviously afford that and their are other producers to check who won't charge that. But it really isn't wrong because depending on the track, that money could be made back by the artist more than 10 times and most likely an artist wouldn't pay that unless they really felt so. The rest of success depends on promoting and marketing that song and some other things that might come along with it. But a producer doesn't have to take into consideration the market but whether or not they could survive by charging that much...Eventually that producer will drop prices if they don't get work for that amount. Most likely if a producer charges that, they have some sort of track record to demand that...Good topic though...and I totally understand where you are coming from..
Old 08-29-2005, 02:37 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 5,558
If you can justify your price then I think $1000 is fair
Old 08-29-2005, 02:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Culture First

Originally Posted by Red Pole
If you can justify your price then I think $1000 is fair
You yah bulla go do some work befoe dey fire yah..lol..
Old 08-29-2005, 02:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
CTA VP of Local Affairs

Credits: 37,839
I agree 100% with Heavenly
Old 08-29-2005, 03:03 PM   #12 (permalink)

Yeah...Heavenly makes a good point.

What if the song that the artiste spent $1000 on comes out to be a huge success? Lowering the price may bring less talented people out wasting the producers time and using up time that could have been spent w/ people who are more serious about their work.
Old 08-29-2005, 03:08 PM   #13 (permalink)
Culture First

Interesting point Rummy, How much songs in resent times have turned out to be major hits? Are you also saying that Money determine the quality of work an arranger dedicates to a project.??
Old 08-29-2005, 03:27 PM   #14 (permalink)

Interesting point Rummy, How much songs in resent times have turned out to be major hits? Are you also saying that Money determine the quality of work an arranger dedicates to a project.??
Well if the producer does good work...and his work is looked at more(ie. I go to Bim guaranteed to buy Monsta Piece, Slam City & Underground cd's), then they have the right to charge a certain amount. If the producer is up and coming & has yet to really put out anything that anyone's heard of, then u would be less willing to pay the same amount that the other producers charge. Some artistes rush to the producer right around deadline time, so u can't always expect a miracle now can u? But I'd say the artiste needs to establish a good working relationship w/ the producer as well. No point in shelling out 1-2k to someone u can't even get along with and won't do his/her best work.
Old 08-29-2005, 03:49 PM   #15 (permalink)
Culture First

Ysh know u have a way wid word. I understand what ur saying though..